nothing in the debug log

Moderators: rtenklooster, Voyager, BertB, Stuntteam

Post Reply
Message
Author
AndrewZ
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 21:52

nothing in the debug log

#1 Post by AndrewZ » 03 Jan 2017, 22:17

Hello everyone
My plan was to catch weather information from my old outdoor La Crosse TX-2U sensor, but for some reasons I see nothing in the debug log. I expected to see either something decoded or at least some raw debug data, but I see nothing [from the sensor].

Code: Select all

20;00;Nodo RadioFrequencyLink - RFLink Gateway V1.1 - R45;
10;version;
20;01;VER=1.1;REV=45;BUILD=09;
10;status;
20;02;STATUS;setRF433=ON;setNodoNRF=OFF;setMilight=OFF;setLivingColors=OFF;setAnsluta=OFF;setGPIO=OFF;setBLE=OFF;setMysensors=OFF;
10;rfdebug=on;
20;03;RFDEBUG=ON;
At the same time I'm pretty sure that the hardware I have is working.
I used the same Arduino, same receiver (YXR15), same pins and even cables with a sketch called TX6U-Monitor I found somewhere. With that sketch I was able to catch some data from the sensor. The actual values received were wrong though. The only change I made for RFLink was the power line - I moved this wire from 5V to Pin 16.
Looking for ideas/suggestions.
Thanks!

User avatar
Stuntteam
Site Beheer
Posts: 789
Joined: 27 Jan 2016, 16:46

Re: nothing in the debug log

#2 Post by Stuntteam » 04 Jan 2017, 00:08

Move it back to 5 volts..
-=# RFLink Gateway Development Team #=-
Introduction: http://www.nemcon.nl/blog2/
Generic Support forum: http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewforum.php?f=8

AndrewZ
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 21:52

Re: nothing in the debug log

#3 Post by AndrewZ » 04 Jan 2017, 09:58

taking power from 5V pin does not help

User avatar
Stuntteam
Site Beheer
Posts: 789
Joined: 27 Jan 2016, 16:46

Re: nothing in the debug log

#4 Post by Stuntteam » 04 Jan 2017, 12:14

Isn't that sketch for an Arduino Uno?
It also would use interrupts..(and thus the interrupt pin)

Maybe you can tell a bit more on your pinout.. Are you using a Mega?
-=# RFLink Gateway Development Team #=-
Introduction: http://www.nemcon.nl/blog2/
Generic Support forum: http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewforum.php?f=8

AndrewZ
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 21:52

Re: nothing in the debug log

#5 Post by AndrewZ » 04 Jan 2017, 12:31

This is the sketch I used for testing: https://github.com/andreacioni/TX6U-Monitor

I've tested both pins here - 2,0 (default) and 19,4 (to be in sync with RFLink):

Code: Select all

TX6U t(2,0); //Arduino UNO pin 2 -> interrupt 0
I'm using Mega 2560, receiver data pin connected to pin 19, all according to the instructions.

User avatar
Stuntteam
Site Beheer
Posts: 789
Joined: 27 Jan 2016, 16:46

Re: nothing in the debug log

#6 Post by Stuntteam » 05 Jan 2017, 00:43

I could not find a datasheet of the YXR15.
Is it 433 or 315mhz?
Does it have 4 pins on one side with one pin labelled CE? If so, is this pin attached to VCC either directly or on the YXR15 PCB?
-=# RFLink Gateway Development Team #=-
Introduction: http://www.nemcon.nl/blog2/
Generic Support forum: http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewforum.php?f=8

AndrewZ
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 21:52

Re: nothing in the debug log

#7 Post by AndrewZ » 05 Jan 2017, 10:50

It is 433MHz.
It has 4+2 pins, CE pin has no external connection, but on PCB it is connected to Vcc over 10k resistor.
Thank you for looking into my issue.
Attachments
YXR15 radio
YXR15 radio
YXR15.jpg (87.48 KiB) Viewed 9123 times

User avatar
Stuntteam
Site Beheer
Posts: 789
Joined: 27 Jan 2016, 16:46

Re: nothing in the debug log

#8 Post by Stuntteam » 05 Jan 2017, 11:30

Ok, CE usually means "Chip Enable" you should be able to control the module with it, a datasheet should explain how.
So I figure this is the correct wiring:
pin 1 VDD = MEGA VCC 5 volts
pin 2 DATA = pin 19
pin 3 GND = ground
pin 4 CE = unused (internally connected to vcc)
pin 5 GND = ground
pin 6 TX = Antenna, connect a ~16.8 cm wire (or an actual 433 mhz antenna but wire works fine)

Once wired and rflink firmware is flashed there is in most cases some kind of activity in debug mode.
I believe the TX6U is supported.
Even when data/packets are not recognized, the debug data showing pulses should appear.

If there is no data in debug mode for a longer period of time your module might not be supported.
Some modules are designed for 3.3 volts and the 0/1 treshold (difference in voltage to indicate high/low signals) is too low for the mega to see even when they can be powered with 5 volts.

A side effect of the cheaper RF modules is that they pump up the signal when nothing is received and as a result start to believe that random noise is part of s signal.
RFlink filters most of this out. Possible the tx monitor is not and was therefor giving incorrect data.
Maybe you should try a different RF module.
-=# RFLink Gateway Development Team #=-
Introduction: http://www.nemcon.nl/blog2/
Generic Support forum: http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewforum.php?f=8

AndrewZ
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 21:52

Re: nothing in the debug log

#9 Post by AndrewZ » 05 Jan 2017, 12:11

Sounds logical, but situation is still weird because TX6U Monitor keeps providing some sustaining output:

Code: Select all

Message recognized from LaCrosse TX6U device!
ID: 32
Temperature: 6.91 °C

Message recognized from LaCrosse TX6U device!
ID: 32
Temperature: 6.58 °C

Message recognized from LaCrosse TX6U device!
ID: 32
Temperature: 6.19 °C
It is not +6 outside, that's why I said data is incorrect, but the data shown is not random and probably real temperature is reflected with some offset.
I will try with another RF module as soon as I get one. Thank you for your comments.

AndrewZ
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 21:52

Re: nothing in the debug log

#10 Post by AndrewZ » 17 Jan 2017, 16:40

Changed receiver to RXB6 and everything works as it should.

Code: Select all

20;24;LaCrosse;ID=0400;TEMP=000e;
In order to get real temperature I probably need to convert hex to decimal then divide by 10 - right?
0e (hex) == 14 (dec), La Crosse display shows 1.4 outside.

Thanks!!

User avatar
Stuntteam
Site Beheer
Posts: 789
Joined: 27 Jan 2016, 16:46

Re: nothing in the debug log

#11 Post by Stuntteam » 17 Jan 2017, 19:26

This is probably caused by a pullup.. there will be something for that in the next release

Indeed values are transmitted in hexadecimal and multiplied by 10
-=# RFLink Gateway Development Team #=-
Introduction: http://www.nemcon.nl/blog2/
Generic Support forum: http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewforum.php?f=8

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests