K-Type / MAX6675 build in

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Message
Author
nettworker
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 07 Feb 2017, 18:12

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#31 Post by nettworker » 12 Feb 2017, 16:04

Problem solved. Seems it was an internally Problem with different Builds ( R120, R147 ) an th evalues in Eprom.
After Reset the module, the R120 with the _P120_Thermocouple.ino works on the ESP. Now i am waiting for my Max6675 Modul and then K Type Needles from China.

mattes1007
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Feb 2017, 20:03

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#32 Post by mattes1007 » 15 Feb 2017, 20:18

Hi,
I have tested the plugin with my MAX31855K ​​breakout boards. Unfortunately, the interface only displays incorrect temperatures:

Image

Code: Select all

MainConfigHardwareDevices Tools

log
334685: WD: Uptime 5 ConnectFailures 28 FreeMem 28288
336546: P120: C: 2152.75 - F: 3906.95
336552: HTTP: connection failed
346814: P120: C: 2048.00 - F: 3718.40
346819: HTTP: connection failed
357164: P120: C: 2263.75 - F: 4106.75
357170: HTTP: connection failed
364686: WD: Uptime 6 ConnectFailures 31 FreeMem 28272
367295: P120: C: 2234.50 - F: 4054.10
367300: HTTP: connection failed
Powered by www.esp8266.nu
If no probe is connected, it shows 0 C / 32 F

I've tried it with 3 different MAX31855k and various TYP-K thermocouples. Always these values ​​....
Do I need to change something at the code?

mattes

mr_sensor
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 15:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#33 Post by mr_sensor » 08 Mar 2017, 17:33

I just started to explore ESPEasy and it has a lot of possibilities. My second project is wiring up the MAX6677 to an esp8266 12f. I followed the samples and all the posts here on the board and ended up with an log file showing me:

Code: Select all

5105189 : WD : Uptime 85 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 28352
5109843 : P120 : C : nan - F : nan
5114847 : P120 : C : nan - F : nan
5119852 : P120 : C : nan - F : nan
5124857 : P120 : C : nan - F : nan
5129862 : P120 : C : nan - F : nan
So that is not what I expected to see :)

What could be the problem here? Broken board? Lack of power? I have it running on two batteries, since I want to have it portable for outdoor use.

I wired it up exactly as shown in the sketch:

Code: Select all

// MISO   Master Input    GPIO12
// SCK    Clock Output    GPIO14 
// CS     Chip Select     GPIO15 (CS 15  is configured in the web interface)
Gnd to Gnd
and Vcc to Vcc 
Any advice?

Thanks. Wiechert

mr_sensor
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 15:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#34 Post by mr_sensor » 09 Mar 2017, 14:06

Any thoughts on this? Will give it a try connecting it to usb power.

W.

BertB
Normal user
Posts: 1049
Joined: 25 Apr 2015, 14:39

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#35 Post by BertB » 09 Mar 2017, 17:46

Sorry, I can't help you. I don't have that MAX.
However, did you check the enable SPI in the hardware tab?

mr_sensor
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 15:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#36 Post by mr_sensor » 09 Mar 2017, 19:21

No I did not do that. Did not know that I was supposed to do that. So I will have a look. Might be the solution.

mr_sensor
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 15:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#37 Post by mr_sensor » 09 Mar 2017, 20:24

If I have a look at the hardware tab I do not see any SPI mentioned. So what do you mean. Gpio12 and Gpio14 ? or pin mode?

BertB
Normal user
Posts: 1049
Joined: 25 Apr 2015, 14:39

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#38 Post by BertB » 10 Mar 2017, 07:12

What firmware version do you use?

mr_sensor
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 15:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#39 Post by mr_sensor » 10 Mar 2017, 08:15

Hourly Build 2017/01/17 If that's the version (in the ReleaseNotes.ino it says R120 )? Could the problem also be that I have a regular esp 12f but arduino has NodeMcu 1.0 12e module? as a board ?

BertB
Normal user
Posts: 1049
Joined: 25 Apr 2015, 14:39

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#40 Post by BertB » 10 Mar 2017, 09:09

No that is not the problem since you can upload and run the firmware.
I think in 120, SPI is not supported. You could try to use the release candidate 147-RC8

mr_sensor
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 15:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#41 Post by mr_sensor » 10 Mar 2017, 09:41

Ok. Can not find that on Github only the master/ dev branche where is it located? :roll: Sorry I found it while sending this message :) This is the one? http://www.letscontrolit.com/downloads/ ... 47_RC8.zip

BertB
Normal user
Posts: 1049
Joined: 25 Apr 2015, 14:39

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#42 Post by BertB » 10 Mar 2017, 09:53

yep

mr_sensor
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 15:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#43 Post by mr_sensor » 10 Mar 2017, 10:00

So I can still use this _P120_Thermocouple.ino sketch?

mr_sensor
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 15:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#44 Post by mr_sensor » 10 Mar 2017, 10:45

Ok the hardware tab is now showing the SPI part. Give it a try later-on :) Thanks.

Code: Select all

Init SPI:	 (Note : Chip Select (CS) config must be done in the plugin)

mr_sensor
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 15:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#45 Post by mr_sensor » 10 Mar 2017, 12:07

Must still over-see something I guess. Now I get this:

Code: Select all

34710 : P120 : C : 0.00 - F : 32.00
39714 : P120 : C : nan - F : nan

BertB
Normal user
Posts: 1049
Joined: 25 Apr 2015, 14:39

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#46 Post by BertB » 10 Mar 2017, 12:41

Which sensor do you have?
Can you measure between t- wire and ground? Is there a connection?
Is the thermocouple not connectoed to other stuff?
I guess you have to do some more research.

mr_sensor
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 15:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#47 Post by mr_sensor » 10 Mar 2017, 13:52

Now I got it working. I tried an other MAX6675 module and that worked. So the other module might have been broken. :) Nice!

Next part is connecting an display.

W.

nettworker
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 07 Feb 2017, 18:12

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#48 Post by nettworker » 12 Mar 2017, 10:11

Keep us updated :)
I am working on a standalone Version for mobil use.....

QcVictor
Normal user
Posts: 46
Joined: 23 Feb 2016, 00:47

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#49 Post by QcVictor » 11 Oct 2017, 21:47

HI Guys
Does he work with ESP Easy Mega ?

Code: Select all

Edit: Yes he works  :D , In the first post I can see reported 2 temperature in the plugin P039 only one is displayed How get the second value ?

dcjona
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: 13 Dec 2017, 14:05

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#50 Post by dcjona » 09 Jan 2018, 13:43

hello everybody, thanks for the information on this topic.
I try to use the sensor but on esp easy the temperature doesn't change, always 30.5°C .. any info about the refresh ?

nakittaja
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Jan 2019, 20:34

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#51 Post by nakittaja » 24 Jan 2019, 21:42

Hi. I have nodemcu and a MAX6675. Problem is that i only get 0C/32F readings in ESPeasy mega - same as the whose sensor board was disconnected.

What settings do i have to change in Espeasy mega? Enable SPI interface - already did that.
Checked pins thrice, VCC is in 3.3V output...i dont have a clue what is wrong.

Any advice? i already ordered a second sensor board..maybe i got a lemon from china.

stafil
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Apr 2017, 12:17
Location: Slovakia

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#52 Post by stafil » 03 Apr 2019, 21:45

Hi, what SPI clock or speed is set for max6675 in SPI.begin() ?

thx

remko2000
Normal user
Posts: 68
Joined: 28 Dec 2017, 15:56

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#53 Post by remko2000 » 09 Oct 2019, 19:35

maybe a stupid question but I have a max31865 with a P100. Does this plugin also works with this breakout?

Max Meyer
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Mar 2021, 16:54

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#54 Post by Max Meyer » 13 May 2021, 11:57

Hi,
I know this thread is quite old but I try to control my solar system with the espeasy. Is it possible, that the output temperature of this module is in Fahrenheit?
In the screenshot of the module there are 2 temperatures °C and °F , in the actual module I got only 1 value line.
Did anyone already try the MAX31855? If I connect the same PT1000 from the Max6675 to the 31855 the shown temperature value is getting lower as the sensor temperature rises and the values are completely different (Sensor is about 50°C value of module shows 9°)

Kind regards
Max

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8739
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: K-Type / MAX6675 build in

#55 Post by TD-er » 13 May 2021, 12:02

You can also convert the Celcius value using a formula, which is also shown on the system variables page (not present in 1M or testing builds)

Code: Select all

{D}C to {D}F: %c_c2f%(20.4)
°C to °F: 68.72

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 23 guests