ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Message
Author
riker1
Normal user
Posts: 344
Joined: 26 Dec 2017, 18:02

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#21 Post by riker1 » 19 Jan 2018, 11:55

Shardan wrote: 21 May 2017, 17:51 The Reset pin is not necessary at all.

I had some problems with flashing the ESP-01 in all versions now and then.
So i do another procedure to flash:

Prepare the ESP-01 for flashing without power !!
(GPIO0 = low, GPIO2 = High).

Power up the module and start the flashing process.

When flashing and the memory clearing (R1xx) or memory formatting (2.0.0dev) is done, power off,
remove the GPIO connections - done.

Regards
Shardan
Hi
do you have EN CHUP inserted?
RX to TX
or inverted?

you are flashing via?

thanks T

Shardan
Normal user
Posts: 1156
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 23:27
Location: Bielefeld / Germany

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#22 Post by Shardan » 19 Jan 2018, 15:16

riker1 wrote: 19 Jan 2018, 11:55
Shardan wrote: 21 May 2017, 17:51 The Reset pin is not necessary at all.

I had some problems with flashing the ESP-01 in all versions now and then.
So i do another procedure to flash:

Prepare the ESP-01 for flashing without power !!
(GPIO0 = low, GPIO2 = High).

Power up the module and start the flashing process.

When flashing and the memory clearing (R1xx) or memory formatting (2.0.0dev) is done, power off,
remove the GPIO connections - done.

Regards
Shardan
Hi
do you have EN CHUP inserted?
RX to TX
or inverted?

you are flashing via?

thanks T
CH_EN must allways be pulled up, otherwise the chip simply does nothing.
That's why it is called "Chip Enable".

Rx to Tx and vice versa SHOULD be right.
Anyways some of our chinese friends have their very own opinion about what they
should name their pins: I've two progger that ahve swapped TX/RX pins...
No Problem - just try, it does not hurt anything.

For flashing i usually use the tool delivered with ESPEasy, if a flash rom chip needs DOUT settings i use
the official ESP8266 flashtool.
Regards
Shardan

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#23 Post by grovkillen » 19 Jan 2018, 15:39

Shardan wrote: 19 Jan 2018, 15:16 For flashing i usually use the tool delivered with ESPEasy, if a flash rom chip needs DOUT settings i use
the official ESP8266 flashtool.
My ESP Easy Flasher allow you to override the bin file flash mode with the "force DOUT" checkbox. :P
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Sprokkie
Normal user
Posts: 17
Joined: 14 Jan 2018, 21:39

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#24 Post by Sprokkie » 01 Feb 2018, 21:39

4Mb flash chip didn't did the trick :(

now wait until someone finds the right solution for the puya flaschip

Magoo
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 Feb 2018, 05:29

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#25 Post by Magoo » 06 Feb 2018, 05:36

I've spent a lot of time messing about with this too..

One thing I can add to the conversation is that I am able to successfully flash simple sketches from the Arduino IDE, and they work fine.

Flashing the ESPeasy EasyUploader, however, is NOT successful, although it does come up with the initial wifi WAP prior to the normal reboot into ESP_01.

It certainly looks like an ESPEasy software issue to me.

Cheers,
Dave

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#26 Post by TD-er » 06 Feb 2018, 12:17

Magoo wrote: 06 Feb 2018, 05:36 [...]
It certainly looks like an ESPEasy software issue to me.
In fact it is an issue with SPIFFS in the ESP8266 core library.
SPIFFS is the flash filesystem used in ESPeasy. The config is stored in there.

Sprokkie
Normal user
Posts: 17
Joined: 14 Jan 2018, 21:39

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#27 Post by Sprokkie » 10 Feb 2018, 17:44

ok now the problem is known, wil it be solved or do you i have to do some work myself ?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#28 Post by TD-er » 10 Feb 2018, 21:38

Sprokkie wrote: 10 Feb 2018, 17:44 ok now the problem is known, wil it be solved or do you i have to do some work myself ?
I have been messing with creating a proper build of the core library including the patch.
But apparently it is not that simple in Windows.
So @datux offered to create a proper build we could link against for future builds.
If that's available, we will create binaries for the PUYA-like flash chips which can change single bits from 0 to 1, without the need to erase.

Sprokkie
Normal user
Posts: 17
Joined: 14 Jan 2018, 21:39

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#29 Post by Sprokkie » 10 Feb 2018, 23:27

ok thats clear, i just need some patientce :)

Micha_he
Normal user
Posts: 369
Joined: 07 Feb 2018, 19:14
Location: Helmstedt, Germany

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#30 Post by Micha_he » 14 Feb 2018, 20:49

I've tested the firmware "ESP_Easy_v2.0-20180214_dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024.bin" on my ESP-01 with PUYA-flash.

It works ;-)

But when I modify my "ESPEasy.ino" (set FEATURE_ADC_VCC to true) and compile the "dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024"-version, then the web-interface can't write the config.dat !?

When I also modify the "Esp.cpp" (path ...\Users\...\.platformio\packages\framework-arduinoespressif8266\cores\esp8266\) as it's written in the PUYA-patch.diff, then the ESP-01 doesn't boot anymore !?

Maybe it's better to wait for complete solution. Or what is my mistake ??

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#31 Post by grovkillen » 14 Feb 2018, 22:49

Micha_he wrote: 14 Feb 2018, 20:49 I've tested the firmware "ESP_Easy_v2.0-20180214_dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024.bin" on my ESP-01 with PUYA-flash.

It works ;-)

But when I modify my "ESPEasy.ino" (set FEATURE_ADC_VCC to true) and compile the "dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024"-version, then the web-interface can't write the config.dat !?

When I also modify the "Esp.cpp" (path ...\Users\...\.platformio\packages\framework-arduinoespressif8266\cores\esp8266\) as it's written in the PUYA-patch.diff, then the ESP-01 doesn't boot anymore !?

Maybe it's better to wait for complete solution. Or what is my mistake ??
You cannot access the advanced page either. It's a very early fix that @psy0rz completed just minutes before Travis started crunching. :geek:
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#32 Post by TD-er » 15 Feb 2018, 01:08

And I was wondering why we have the VCC disabled in the first place.
Lots of people are trying to rebuild with VCC defined.

User avatar
budman1758
Normal user
Posts: 301
Joined: 15 Apr 2017, 05:13
Location: Riverside CA USA

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#33 Post by budman1758 » 15 Feb 2018, 06:02

TD-er wrote: 15 Feb 2018, 01:08 And I was wondering why we have the VCC disabled in the first place.
Lots of people are trying to rebuild with VCC defined.
When the VCC feature is enabled it connects internally to the ADC pin on the ESP if I'm not mistaken. If this is true does that make it unusable for external ADC functions?
This may explain why its not enabled by default?
Or am I all wet? (VERY possible) :shock:
"The glass is twice as big as it needs to be".

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#34 Post by grovkillen » 15 Feb 2018, 06:04

At least we should provide a pre-build file for if so we know it's official.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Micha_he
Normal user
Posts: 369
Joined: 07 Feb 2018, 19:14
Location: Helmstedt, Germany

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#35 Post by Micha_he » 18 Feb 2018, 15:25

Any news, how I can compile a working V2.0 image, with Vcc-Support, for a PUYA-flash-ESP01 ?

Here under PlatformIO (framework-arduinoespressif8266 V2.2.0) seems the patch results in a no working image...

Edit: Correction... Framework is most probably V2.3.0, but the platform.txt contains a versionstring "2.2.0" (in Github also).

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#36 Post by TD-er » 19 Feb 2018, 10:09

What is not working?
Building for Puya flash devices is a bit hard.
I only tested it for my own NodeMCU and that one reported a voltage which is probably too low (or else I may have other issues with power on my testbed).
Also adding a vcc option for every build will lead to a lot more release builds.

Micha_he
Normal user
Posts: 369
Joined: 07 Feb 2018, 19:14
Location: Helmstedt, Germany

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#37 Post by Micha_he » 19 Feb 2018, 11:38

Look at my post #30...

Prebuild PUYA works, but own build with Vcc-support enabled (with and without patched Esp.cpp like psy0rz's patchfile) shows the known config.dat write-error.
I'll do some test today evening or tomorrow and announce the results here...
Until today I thought, that it was the (wrong) version of the framework in PlatformIO. But apparently PlatformIO used is right Version 2.3.0 (with a different version-string).

I didn't find my problem :(

Edit: Maybe it's the problem, that I always create DOUT-images for my PUYA-Tests???

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#38 Post by TD-er » 19 Feb 2018, 12:25

With Puya chips, you need a patched version of the Arduino ESP8266 core 2.3.0 library.
It is quite hard to really make sure you've actually built the right version and are actually using these files.
That's why @psyz0r took some time to create an automated build for it.
We could add the vcc option to the Puya build also, because it is so hard to actually make a version that can be used with these flash chips.

Micha_he
Normal user
Posts: 369
Joined: 07 Feb 2018, 19:14
Location: Helmstedt, Germany

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#39 Post by Micha_he » 19 Feb 2018, 13:06

TD-er wrote: 19 Feb 2018, 12:25 With Puya chips, you need a patched version of the Arduino ESP8266 core 2.3.0 library.
You mean, more than include the 'puya.patch' in the 'Esp.cpp' from the used '..\.platformio\packages\framework-arduinoespressif8266\cores\esp8266\'-folder ?
Then you're right, nothing beginners like me...

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#40 Post by TD-er » 19 Feb 2018, 14:08

I have added the build option to the platform.ini.
So when this file gets merged, it will either break the builds, or the next release should have an extra Puya version with Vcc supported.

Micha_he
Normal user
Posts: 369
Joined: 07 Feb 2018, 19:14
Location: Helmstedt, Germany

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#41 Post by Micha_he » 19 Feb 2018, 14:34

Thanks TD-er, but that doesn't explain the problem in my environment :|

abhinavg
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Mar 2018, 08:26

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#42 Post by abhinavg » 28 Mar 2018, 08:33

akellai wrote: 13 Apr 2017, 14:40 resoldered (see the picture). My soldering skills are not the greatest - sorry for the ugly picture. Unsoldered the resistor (red circle in the top right) and cut the conductor (left circle)
Can confirm the reset is now working as expected
I have got exact module as in this picture. Can flash firmware and sketch with flash mode as DOUT. But it runs just after flashing the sketch. After power off and on cycle it stopped working. NO REST is working so I guess I have to apply your fix to my ESP.

Could you please share the full image of your hack, as this image is just a part of whole picture?

Thanks

aquariushu
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Apr 2018, 00:20

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#43 Post by aquariushu » 03 Apr 2018, 02:02

abhinavg wrote: 28 Mar 2018, 08:33
akellai wrote: 13 Apr 2017, 14:40 resoldered (see the picture). My soldering skills are not the greatest - sorry for the ugly picture. Unsoldered the resistor (red circle in the top right) and cut the conductor (left circle)
Can confirm the reset is now working as expected
I have got exact module as in this picture. Can flash firmware and sketch with flash mode as DOUT. But it runs just after flashing the sketch. After power off and on cycle it stopped working. NO REST is working so I guess I have to apply your fix to my ESP.

Could you please share the full image of your hack, as this image is just a part of whole picture?

Thanks
abhinavg, my modules are slightly different from akellai's picture shown, but I have the same issue: RESET function is not working.
Image


I found the following: there is an additional 6k resistor in reset line (I don't know why is neccesary) between EXT_RSTB and RST pin of 8pins connector.
After I remove and put a jumper back its place, RESET function is working well again.

Image
Orange line shows the connected points for RST.

I plan to use this ESP-01 for my thermostat project with battery, programmed by Arduino IDE, so I need deepsleep function. After several hours programming I realised the reset problem.
Modules ordered from EBay (seller is h-quality_electronic). I've already sent a message to the seller because he described a different version from what I received.

I've attached a picture about my ESP in original state (resistor which should be remove is marked with red circle).

I hope this information could help.
Regards,
aquariushu

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#44 Post by TD-er » 03 Apr 2018, 20:15

I guess that should be documented on the Wiki.
This may cost people a lot of time finding it.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#45 Post by grovkillen » 03 Apr 2018, 20:44

ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
budman1758
Normal user
Posts: 301
Joined: 15 Apr 2017, 05:13
Location: Riverside CA USA

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#46 Post by budman1758 » 03 Apr 2018, 21:21

Looks pretty clear and concise to me. :geek:
"The glass is twice as big as it needs to be".

Sprokkie
Normal user
Posts: 17
Joined: 14 Jan 2018, 21:39

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#47 Post by Sprokkie » 07 May 2018, 16:03

any news about a puya solution ?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#48 Post by TD-er » 07 May 2018, 19:16

Sprokkie wrote: 07 May 2018, 16:03 any news about a puya solution ?
Is there a new problem with the PUYA chips that does not work on the nightly builds made for Puya chips?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#49 Post by grovkillen » 07 May 2018, 22:10

Sorry, haven't updated the wiki. Will do that in a bit.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Sprokkie
Normal user
Posts: 17
Joined: 14 Jan 2018, 21:39

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#50 Post by Sprokkie » 25 May 2018, 16:37

i found the new firmware V2.00
connected the esp01 the right way and it flashed :)



thx guys

Sprokkie
Normal user
Posts: 17
Joined: 14 Jan 2018, 21:39

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#51 Post by Sprokkie » 01 Jun 2018, 11:53

hi,

i cannot get it working with domoticz.
flashed the firmware, see the configpages of the esp-01.
use the same settingas with some other esp module's and i cannot get the output switching,
got the correct idx and the gpio-0.

any thoughts ?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#52 Post by grovkillen » 01 Jun 2018, 12:46

You need to connect the switch to ground since GPIO-0 needs to be set to high for boot.

https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... figuration

Or how do you connect it currently?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Sprokkie
Normal user
Posts: 17
Joined: 14 Jan 2018, 21:39

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#53 Post by Sprokkie » 01 Jun 2018, 14:02

connected it wit jumper wires on a bread board.
the CH_PCD connected with +
it boots because i see the lets controlit easy esp webpage.

it looks like it doesnt understand the command from domoticz : http://172.16.200.230/control?cmd=GPIO,0,1

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

#54 Post by grovkillen » 01 Jun 2018, 16:36

Yes but how do you connect the switch? Will it (when closed) pull the value on GPIO0 down to ground?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests