Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Moderators: Voyager, BertB, rtenklooster, Stuntteam, grovkillen, TD-er

Message
Author
User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#151 Post by grovkillen » 29 Jun 2018, 09:52

ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 474
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#152 Post by papperone » 29 Jun 2018, 11:08

Thanks! will follow this page then :)
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

miah
Normal user
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Jun 2018, 13:24

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#153 Post by miah » 29 Jun 2018, 11:22

papperone wrote:
29 Jun 2018, 08:23
miah wrote:
26 Jun 2018, 13:40
I have a Wemos D1 Mini running "ESP_Easy_mega-20180618_test_ESP8266_4096.bin" - very happy as it is working well, with a TM1637 4-Digit Display,
Could a new "Display Output:" mode be added so as the clock mode can chose between a 12hr Clock or the existing 24hr Clock ? blinking is good.

MIAH
good point, I will add it and post PR later today but I need clarification how the 12h clock works (I'm 24h user :D)
- midnight or noon should show as 00:00 or 12:00?
Hi, i just checked out wiki https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/12-hour_clock and midnight is 12:00 & Midday is 12:00

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#154 Post by grovkillen » 29 Jun 2018, 11:48

miah wrote:
29 Jun 2018, 11:22
papperone wrote:
29 Jun 2018, 08:23
miah wrote:
26 Jun 2018, 13:40
I have a Wemos D1 Mini running "ESP_Easy_mega-20180618_test_ESP8266_4096.bin" - very happy as it is working well, with a TM1637 4-Digit Display,
Could a new "Display Output:" mode be added so as the clock mode can chose between a 12hr Clock or the existing 24hr Clock ? blinking is good.

MIAH
good point, I will add it and post PR later today but I need clarification how the 12h clock works (I'm 24h user :D)
- midnight or noon should show as 00:00 or 12:00?
Hi, i just checked out wiki https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/12-hour_clock and midnight is 12:00 & Midday is 12:00
Yes, only difference is that 00:00 marks START of day. Which is used to differ the times when showing buss, train, airplane departures etc
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 474
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#155 Post by papperone » 29 Jun 2018, 18:24

grovkillen wrote:
29 Jun 2018, 11:48
miah wrote:
29 Jun 2018, 11:22
papperone wrote:
29 Jun 2018, 08:23


good point, I will add it and post PR later today but I need clarification how the 12h clock works (I'm 24h user :D)
- midnight or noon should show as 00:00 or 12:00?
Hi, i just checked out wiki https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/12-hour_clock and midnight is 12:00 & Midday is 12:00
Yes, only difference is that 00:00 marks START of day. Which is used to differ the times when showing buss, train, airplane departures etc
well according to Wiki you linked in 12h mode 00:00 will never be shown.... right?
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#156 Post by grovkillen » 29 Jun 2018, 19:26

Yep, I didn't write that right. But yes 12:00 am is midnight.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 474
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#157 Post by papperone » 01 Jul 2018, 15:31

I do apologize but I had no time to test my pluing in the last days as I'm finish to setup all for my vacation as I will leave tomorrow morning 5am...
I will continue to work on it on my return in 3 weeks so please be patient! :)
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

alex77k12
Normal user
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Apr 2017, 19:13

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#158 Post by alex77k12 » 01 Jul 2018, 20:42

Happy vacation papperone

boolie
Normal user
Posts: 16
Joined: 23 May 2018, 21:35

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#159 Post by boolie » 27 Jul 2018, 23:15

Which builds are the new commands available in, @papperone? I'm running 20180718-TEST; it doesn't recognise '7dtext' as valid... do I need to pick up a nightly dev build?

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 474
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#160 Post by papperone » 01 Aug 2018, 10:28

Sorry I just come back and I thought I explained I had no time to submit the new plugin as I prefer to run some more tests before releasing it.
Still it won't be supporting multiple display (I have to check what changes are needed to handle this last feature...)
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

velja
Normal user
Posts: 26
Joined: 08 Feb 2017, 08:07

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#161 Post by velja » 01 Aug 2018, 11:24

What a pity! I wait with my two displays to monitor IN/OUT temperature!. I hope you make it soon!

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 474
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#162 Post by papperone » 12 Aug 2018, 10:28

sorry about delays but while I was finishing the testing some other user commited in GitHub a change request of my plugin with huge nuber of changes aiming to optimization...
long story short as I had already heavily changed the cosde to implement all new functions now I'm puzzled how to proceed :cry:
- I can choose to revert back to my version of the code, throwing out all optimization submited (no idea about what was done as the othe user change lots of the original code)
- I can start again all coding of new features on the actual version of the code but first I need to understand the changes, test if it's all working as it was wil all the supported hardware

No matter what way I will go it will take lots more unplanned time which I have not much recently due to job related tasks...
I do apologize but not all depending on me!
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

ronald
Normal user
Posts: 28
Joined: 05 Jun 2017, 14:15

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#163 Post by ronald » 12 Aug 2018, 11:49

Too bad, all this hassle. It works great the way it is now. Why did someone just change that much of your code?
In your place I should revert back to my original code. If the other user wants to change it, let him develop his own version.
Thank you for all the effort you put into it.

TD-er
Normal user
Posts: 1154
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#164 Post by TD-er » 12 Aug 2018, 12:41

@papperone, was it me that made changes?
I don't remember changing things to your plugin.
Maybe I can help explaining what has changed recently and to what purpose?

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 474
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#165 Post by papperone » 12 Aug 2018, 12:58

TD-er wrote:
12 Aug 2018, 12:41
@papperone, was it me that made changes?
I don't remember changing things to your plugin.
Maybe I can help explaining what has changed recently and to what purpose?
no TD-er, it was an user I've never heard of "GHolli" in --> https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/pull/1631

what shoudl I do ? as I wrote the number of changes in the plucing are a lot and to go to all of them it will take me a while and I've already a local version of plugin with new features based on my old versione...
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

ronald
Normal user
Posts: 28
Joined: 05 Jun 2017, 14:15

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#166 Post by ronald » 12 Aug 2018, 17:21

I say: continue with your local version. You started it and it worked great. Why wait for some unknown user that teared your code apart?

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#167 Post by grovkillen » 12 Aug 2018, 20:17

papperone wrote:
12 Aug 2018, 12:58
TD-er wrote:
12 Aug 2018, 12:41
@papperone, was it me that made changes?
I don't remember changing things to your plugin.
Maybe I can help explaining what has changed recently and to what purpose?
no TD-er, it was an user I've never heard of "GHolli" in --> https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/pull/1631

what shoudl I do ? as I wrote the number of changes in the plucing are a lot and to go to all of them it will take me a while and I've already a local version of plugin with new features based on my old versione...
Still, it's only a PR, not merged. So if your update of the code is working good we'll just reject that PR and merge your change. Good job :)
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Normal user
Posts: 1154
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#168 Post by TD-er » 12 Aug 2018, 21:42

Indeed, it is not merged, so we can continue with your code and maybe later apply the mentioned optimizations when still applicable.

(placing char arrays or strings in flash is always a nice to have optimization)

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 474
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#169 Post by papperone » 13 Aug 2018, 00:33

ok , understood!

I'll try to complete testing asap and make my PR :)
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

mrshark
Normal user
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Aug 2016, 15:03

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#170 Post by mrshark » 14 Aug 2018, 14:14

hi
1st: thanks for your work :)

2nd: i've some of the "dots+colon" tm1637 modules, and using ESP_Easy_mega-20180809_dev_ESP8266_4096.bin on a nodemcu model, 1st gpio D3, 2nd gpio D4, tried both the dots and colon combo option, but none of the dots or colon is ever ON, just the numbers (right now showing time)... not in blink, nor in no blink setting...

3rd: sending this command "7dn,09.07" in manual mode just displays "9", why?

4th: are, or will ever be, these modules supported? https://it.aliexpress.com/item/74HC595- ... 25544.html
some info about them: http://vlad-gheorghe.blogspot.com/2018/ ... hc164.html

mrshark
Normal user
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Aug 2016, 15:03

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#171 Post by mrshark » 14 Aug 2018, 14:48

an other request, for help :)
i'd like to have time for 30 seconds, then show temperature for 3 seconds, then go back to time... but it doesn't seem to be possible to switch from a behaviour to an other with commands, but only via settings... i've thought something like, don't know if it's ok, any hint is appreciated:

Code: Select all

On System#Boot do
  timerSet,1,5
endon

On Rules#Timer=1 do
 SendToHTTP 127.0.0.1,80,/control?cmd=7dt,[DS18b20#Temperature]
 timerSet,2,3
endon

On Rules#Timer=2 do  //When Timer2 expires, do
 SendToHTTP 127.0.0.1,80,/control?cmd=HERE-I-NEED-A-WAY-TO-DISPLAY-TIME-WITH-BLINK
 timerSet,1,30      //Set Timer1 for the next event in 30 seconds
endon

miah
Normal user
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Jun 2018, 13:24

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#172 Post by miah » 10 Sep 2018, 12:25

Could a new "Display Output:" mode be added so as the clock mode can chose between a 12hr Clock or the existing 24hr Clock

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#173 Post by grovkillen » 10 Sep 2018, 16:01

miah wrote:
10 Sep 2018, 12:25
Could a new "Display Output:" mode be added so as the clock mode can chose between a 12hr Clock or the existing 24hr Clock
Could you add that as a feature request on GitHub?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

MAC66666
Normal user
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Oct 2018, 13:52

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#174 Post by MAC66666 » 14 Oct 2018, 16:03

Hmm, With the MAX7219 everything works fine, but with the TM1637 4-digits, it doesn't work. I tried several diferent Displays, none of them works. No LED ist on :( What can I do?

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#175 Post by grovkillen » 14 Oct 2018, 16:09

MAC66666 wrote:
14 Oct 2018, 16:03
Hmm, With the MAX7219 everything works fine, but with the TM1637 4-digits, it doesn't work. I tried several diferent Displays, none of them works. No LED ist on :( What can I do?
Have you followed the wiki?

https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... nt_display
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

MAC66666
Normal user
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Oct 2018, 13:52

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#176 Post by MAC66666 » 14 Oct 2018, 17:01

Yes, some of my TM1637 are exactly the same model that is shown on the pics in the wiki. tried to use the same gpios (and others) tried with 3.3 V and 5V, tried ESPEasy builds from 20000 to 20102, tried the special compiled version earlier in this thread here (somewhen in 2017), tried several esp8266 devices (wemos D1 mini and clones, NodeMCU) nothing worked for me. No reaction on the display. :(

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#177 Post by grovkillen » 14 Oct 2018, 17:35

Could you provide screenshots and pictures?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

MAC66666
Normal user
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Oct 2018, 13:52

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#178 Post by MAC66666 » 14 Oct 2018, 18:39

Not at the moment, because of my banning problem, you know.

but there is nothing special to see i think. Wiring and config is exactly as in the wiki, I tried to switch the two GPOs, too and many other things, like changing the GPIOs to others, 3.3V and 4V and so on.

I know, it is hard to help me with that ;)

MAC66666
Normal user
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Oct 2018, 13:52

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#179 Post by MAC66666 » 15 Oct 2018, 00:02

OK, I made a new firmware and set PLUGIN_73_DEBUG to true, maybe this helps? In the log it loops "7DGT: Comm ACK=FALSE" and "/DGT: WriteByte"... Like there is no connection. Used a fresh Wemos D1 mini and GPIO 0 and 2 as in the example (wiki)... And sorry for my bad english ;-)

MAC66666
Normal user
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Oct 2018, 13:52

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#180 Post by MAC66666 » 15 Oct 2018, 21:28

Checked my hardware with https://wifi-iot.com/ and it works. So it's a problem in the plugin I think...

MAC66666
Normal user
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Oct 2018, 13:52

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#181 Post by MAC66666 » 15 Oct 2018, 23:08

OK, it works with 2.0 build 20000 stable, compiled it myself from github (never done this before yesterday, I am a little bit proud of this :D )

So I think someone else could look how to get it to work on 20102...

Would be great if this works on an ESP32, too ;)

Edit: do you think it is possible to share the clk gpio for multiple TM1637 or something like that? I am a little bit low on GPIOs...

velja
Normal user
Posts: 26
Joined: 08 Feb 2017, 08:07

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#182 Post by velja » 16 Oct 2018, 12:40

What's happen with multiple LED display update?

MAC66666
Normal user
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Oct 2018, 13:52

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#183 Post by MAC66666 » 16 Oct 2018, 17:52

oh damn only one is supported? I need three :(

sFischle
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 Oct 2018, 23:09

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#184 Post by sFischle » 22 Oct 2018, 23:11

Hi,
I can confirm that tere seems to be an issue in the actual (nightly) releases.

I have a TM16037.

With ESPEasy_mega-20180815 the display is working fine.
With ESPEasy_mega-20181008 it does not work.

For now I can stoy on the old one but would be great to get it "back" in the latest releases.

adapbel
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Oct 2018, 11:39

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#185 Post by adapbel » 27 Oct 2018, 00:02

sFischle wrote:
22 Oct 2018, 23:11
Hi,
I can confirm that tere seems to be an issue in the actual (nightly) releases.

I have a TM16037.

With ESPEasy_mega-20180815 the display is working fine.
With ESPEasy_mega-20181008 it does not work.

For now I can stoy on the old one but would be great to get it "back" in the latest releases.
Rotate CLK and DIN pin

For me - work fine. Just tested it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests