ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

Moderators: Voyager, BertB, rtenklooster, Stuntteam, grovkillen, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
JohnJ
Normal user
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Oct 2018, 23:52

ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#1 Post by JohnJ » 22 Oct 2018, 00:01

I tried to flash ESP_Easy_mega-20181017_normal_ESP8266_1024 on a Sonoff S26. I already did so sucesfully on a S20 earlier, and want to keep the firmare of the devices devices as much the same as possible.
Although the flashing looked to go well, no Wifi AP appeared. I also tried ESP_Easy_mega-20181017_normal_ESP8285_1024, although the device in the S26 is marked as a 8266.
Eventually I settled for the R120 version of ESPeasy. This gave me an access point, and I was able to configure the S26. But I like the Mega interface better, and like to share saved configuration files.
Has anyone else tried to flash the mega version on a S26. I do not understand why this failed, because as far as I could see, the S20 and S26 are technically the same, the S26 is only in a smaller case.

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#2 Post by grovkillen » 22 Oct 2018, 06:34

I got four S26 doomed to be re-flashed with ESP Easy. A friend already got his flashed and in use since a week back so it shouldn't be too much hassle to get them working. I will add a wiki once I have updated mine.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Normal user
Posts: 1154
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#3 Post by TD-er » 22 Oct 2018, 10:40

Make sure you get the button pressed very stable.
I haven't tried the S26 myself, but I assume the button is connected to GPIO 0 like all others.
A few of my Sonoff's have issues getting flashed, which seems to be related to a very flimsy button.
When I hold them really stable pressed, I can get them to be flashed.

JohnJ
Normal user
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Oct 2018, 23:52

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#4 Post by JohnJ » 22 Oct 2018, 22:27

TD-er, thanks for your reply.

The problem I have is not with flashing the mega version of ESP easy. It flashes fine, but does not appear to be working. No AP is visible.

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#5 Post by grovkillen » 23 Oct 2018, 06:07

Have your tried my flasher?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

bgitmans
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Oct 2018, 23:10

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#6 Post by bgitmans » 23 Oct 2018, 23:14

I have a similar problem: flashing seems to work fine, using your flasher or the flasher by espresssif. However when restarting the sonoff it ends up in a boot loop showing in a serial terminal PID:0 Version:0 and then a message incorrect PID or version!

Hope this helps solving this problem

TD-er
Normal user
Posts: 1154
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#7 Post by TD-er » 24 Oct 2018, 12:28

Can you get a close-up of the ESP and flash chip?
Or write down the text on these chips.

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#8 Post by grovkillen » 24 Oct 2018, 20:15

There it is... PUYA...
Attachments
IMG_20181024_201408.jpg
IMG_20181024_201408.jpg (1.45 MiB) Viewed 385 times
IMG_20181024_195905.jpg
IMG_20181024_195905.jpg (1.21 MiB) Viewed 385 times
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#9 Post by grovkillen » 24 Oct 2018, 20:17

Closer look
Attachments
IMG_20181024_201408~2.jpg
IMG_20181024_201408~2.jpg (258.29 KiB) Viewed 384 times
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Normal user
Posts: 1154
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#10 Post by TD-er » 24 Oct 2018, 20:24

So you'll need the PUYA builds, I guess?
We really should take care of patching all builds with Uzi18's patch, so it is no longer important to have a separate PUYA build.

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#11 Post by grovkillen » 24 Oct 2018, 20:31

Yes for sure. More companies will follow...
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Heiend
Normal user
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 Sep 2018, 16:33

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#12 Post by Heiend » 26 Oct 2018, 15:41

I have received 2 Sonoff S26 with a PUYA too. I ordered some Winbond 4M Flash chips (to enable Web-Update :-] ) and I will try to solder them on the S26 board. I have no much experience with soldering, but if I would finish that successfully, I will report the result. Wish me good luck! :-)

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2238
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#13 Post by grovkillen » 26 Oct 2018, 16:31

Heiend wrote:
26 Oct 2018, 15:41
I have received 2 Sonoff S26 with a PUYA too. I ordered some Winbond 4M Flash chips (to enable Web-Update :-] ) and I will try to solder them on the S26 board. I have no much experience with soldering, but if I would finish that successfully, I will report the result. Wish me good luck! :-)
It's a fairly tricky unit to do a memory upgrade of. Good luck though! 8-)
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

JohnJ
Normal user
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Oct 2018, 23:52

Re: ESP Easy on Sonoff S26

#14 Post by JohnJ » 30 Oct 2018, 23:43

I've been busy with other things the last few days, and checking back on this forum, I saw the discussion led to an answer. I opened my S26 again, and indeed, a PUYA chip!!!!.
Next weekend, I'll resolder the wires, and flash it with the PUYA version.
Thanks everybody.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests