More than on DS18b20 on a string.

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
asm7100
Normal user
Posts: 96
Joined: 13 Sep 2015, 21:45
Location: Denmark

More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#1 Post by asm7100 » 23 Sep 2015, 20:58

Hi again :-)

Is it possibly to have more than one DS18B20 on a string.?
5xESP-01 - 3xESP-12 - 2xESP-12E 3xRPIb+ - 1xBPIm1 - 3xACTi DOME - 7xACTi Indoor cam. Lot off cisco equ.

chrille
Normal user
Posts: 88
Joined: 26 Aug 2015, 15:11
Location: Horsens, Denmark

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#2 Post by chrille » 24 Sep 2015, 12:26

asm7100 wrote:Is it possibly to have more than one DS18B20 on a string.?
By looking at the code it seems only one device is currently supported. For multiple devices to be supported, the software should support scanning of the 1-wire bus, and the UI needs to be updated to provide a specific idx/name for each device. However, this would be very useful for people with existing 1-wire busses, that often includes several devices

- Jan
Jan Chrillesen, Denmark

Martinus

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#3 Post by Martinus » 25 Sep 2015, 14:00

asm7100 wrote:Hi again :-)

Is it possibly to have more than one DS18B20 on a string.?
Currently not supported. You can connect more than one DS18b20 to ESP Easy but each one should get it's own GPIO pin.
Next version will overcome this limitation. Within the task settings, you will be able to select the individual device on the bus.

maluko
Normal user
Posts: 112
Joined: 02 Sep 2015, 00:49

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#4 Post by maluko » 25 Sep 2015, 18:05

// R22 25-09-2015
// Using Spiffs filesystem support for configuration settings
// All configuration settings are now stored into the ESP filesystem.
// Task string fields are now dynamically loaded from spiffs when needed. Saving RAM...
// Optimize RAM usage by changing device structure array and handling of device strings
// Added option to load and save ESP configuration settings from/to file
// Cleanup all fields when a task is cleared or device is changed
// Moved keys and passwords to a separate file
// Added option to change valuenames (mainly MQTT purpose)
// MQTT publish & subscribe settings can be changed using a template
// Moved some advanced settings to tools/system/advanced button
// Dallas plugin now supports multiple devices on the same bus

Now supported on R22 version

asm7100
Normal user
Posts: 96
Joined: 13 Sep 2015, 21:45
Location: Denmark

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#5 Post by asm7100 » 25 Sep 2015, 19:46

Nice, keep up the good work :-)
5xESP-01 - 3xESP-12 - 2xESP-12E 3xRPIb+ - 1xBPIm1 - 3xACTi DOME - 7xACTi Indoor cam. Lot off cisco equ.

BerndJ
Normal user
Posts: 86
Joined: 28 Sep 2015, 06:57

diced Values

#6 Post by BerndJ » 06 Oct 2015, 16:15

Hi,

I thing we had a problem regarding the values of the different sensors and the sending to their corresponding parameters. It´s look like a ESP with

dementia.

Attached are one file of the output. At first 3 Sensors are online, i put one away and hoped that these sensor got none value.

These problem i also find at one PCF8591. Fixed values on 4 Ports and hopping values received.

Hope u got a solution.

best wishes from the elbe.

BerndJ
Attachments
serial 18B20 mismatch.png
serial 18B20 mismatch.png (96.58 KiB) Viewed 14339 times

BerndJ
Normal user
Posts: 86
Joined: 28 Sep 2015, 06:57

Enlighning

#7 Post by BerndJ » 07 Oct 2015, 15:28

Hi,

last night same problems.

I found only two devices on the 1-Wire Bus. cable problems at one sensor are the problem.

the ESP device sends 3 values!!, one are doubled.

After solving the cable problem we had problems regarding the third one. The 3 was on position 2 and old position 2 i could see on position 3.

I think we had to pair the IDx and the device nr with the ROM ID and to store these paired values in the settings.

Also should bee added a routine to send value 0 if one stored ROM ID could´nt find.

BerndJ

Martinus

Re: Enlighning

#8 Post by Martinus » 07 Oct 2015, 19:17

BerndJ wrote:...I think we had to pair the IDx and the device nr with the ROM ID and to store these paired values in the settings.
BerndJ
It already works like that. IDX and the 8 byte ROM Address are stored in the task settings. So there must be something else wrong with the logics...

Up until now, we had to focus on a lot of other things, but now we have time to do some more testing with multiple DS18b20 on a single wire.
BerndJ wrote:...Also should bee added a routine to send value 0 if one stored ROM ID could´nt find.
I agree. This is also true for other plugins. When we started, focus was on 'getting things to work' and not on "what to do if it suddenly fails".
We will spend some time on making the code more resilient to errors.

andreo
New user
Posts: 8
Joined: 22 Sep 2015, 23:56

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#9 Post by andreo » 15 Nov 2015, 21:54

Hello,

I have a question about the use of more than 1 ds18b20 sensor on a string, in the setup overview i see my 2 connected devices, device number 1 and 2.
How can i use the second sensor variable in Domoticz?, only the choosen device number is transmitted.
My ESP is running on version 40.

Martinus

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#10 Post by Martinus » 21 Nov 2015, 15:14

andreo wrote:Hello,

I have a question about the use of more than 1 ds18b20 sensor on a string, in the setup overview i see my 2 connected devices, device number 1 and 2.
How can i use the second sensor variable in Domoticz?, only the choosen device number is transmitted.
My ESP is running on version 40.
Use a second task for the second sensor, select the second dallas and the idx for that sensor in Domoticz

Backbone
Normal user
Posts: 106
Joined: 06 Oct 2015, 22:12

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#11 Post by Backbone » 21 Nov 2015, 17:52

ds18.JPG
ds18.JPG (100.27 KiB) Viewed 11591 times
Testing:
4 on a string, cable length 1 m, Pull up 4k7 on each DS18B20

Paco

kr0815
Normal user
Posts: 136
Joined: 18 Nov 2015, 18:24

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#12 Post by kr0815 » 21 Nov 2015, 19:59

You shouldn´t have a pull-up on each sensor, only one in the whole System.
It still works for you, but your total pull-up is now about 1.2 KOhm

Backbone
Normal user
Posts: 106
Joined: 06 Oct 2015, 22:12

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#13 Post by Backbone » 21 Nov 2015, 20:56

I know about the Pull up is now much lower.
This was just a quick test and the DS18b20 units I had for test where all already equipped with a resistor.

Paco

andreo
New user
Posts: 8
Joined: 22 Sep 2015, 23:56

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#14 Post by andreo » 23 Nov 2015, 01:09

andreo wrote:Hello,

I have a question about the use of more than 1 ds18b20 sensor on a string, in the setup overview i see my 2 connected devices, device number 1 and 2.
How can i use the second sensor variable in Domoticz?, only the choosen device number is transmitted.
My ESP is running on version 40.
Thanx for explanation, works fine for me. :D

DeNB3rt
Normal user
Posts: 120
Joined: 15 Dec 2015, 14:07

Re: More than on DS18b20 on a string.

#15 Post by DeNB3rt » 27 Nov 2019, 23:39

working like a charm!
Located in Belgium, Bruges. Working on a full DIY domoticz setup with ESPEasy.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests