Programmatic Configuration (over HTTP/Serial)?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

jlmcgehee21
New user

Programmatic Configuration (over HTTP/Serial)?

#1 Post by jlmcgehee21 » 05 Aug 2018, 15:42

I'm new to the ESP Easy, and could not find any documentation on how (if possible) to set a device configuration programmatically. My use case is to build something like 10-15 devices for my home automation system (Home Assistant) and then be able to deploy identical configurations to all of them (with the exception of `Name`, etc).

I want to maintain a file in my home automation git repository with all the device names and IP addresses and write a script which automatically generates configuration files and pushes them to all devices.

I noticed that the `config.dat` file is some sort of non-string binary format, so I can't easily edit this file and deploy it to multiple devices. The device `JSON` output looks reasonable to work with, but I don't suspect that I can edit this and upload it to a new device.

Sooo... Before I start digging into the source code, any options for what I'm trying to do? If not, can anyone point the way to a reasonable implementation in the source code? I'm a professional web and firmware developer, and have a lot of experience working with platformio, so I'm comfortable building a customization of some sort, but am hoping for out of the box support for what I'm trying to do.

PS: I understand the security implications of this being possible, but there are secure ways to do this, such as cryptographic signing of the configuration file (which would allow a device to verify that a configuration is "friendly").

grovkillen
Core team member

Re: Programmatic Configuration (over HTTP/Serial)?

#2 Post by grovkillen » 05 Aug 2018, 17:01