Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
obstbauer
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 25 May 2023, 15:46

Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#1 Post by obstbauer » 10 Nov 2023, 22:56

Hello,
what is the reason that the web interface of some of my ESP 8266 devices look like the picture below and not like the normal design?
I know this simple web interface from connecting the first time via access point, afte connecting with my wifi the normal design is shown but now I have the simple design for running and connected devices too ?
Is the design a reason of browser settings or a general problem?
Thanks!
Regards
Thomas
Attachments
simple design.JPG
simple design.JPG (74.62 KiB) Viewed 4353 times

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#2 Post by TD-er » 10 Nov 2023, 23:06

It seems like when a build was made without pygit2 installed as Python library, you do end up with a CDN url without a Git tag in the URL.
And it looks like jsdelivr is suddenly no longer accepting those URLs.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#3 Post by TD-er » 10 Nov 2023, 23:12

I made a quick fix, but you probably need to make a new build for it to work again (assuming you made your own build)

https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/pull/4874

obstbauer
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 25 May 2023, 15:46

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#4 Post by obstbauer » 12 Nov 2023, 22:05

Hello,
thank you for the answers! I am new so I don't understand everything.

What does that mean for me? What should I change?

"It seems like when a build was made without pygit2 installed as Python library, you do end up with a CDN url without a Git tag in the URL.
And it looks like jsdelivr is suddenly no longer accepting those URLs."

I have another device running with version ESP_Easy_mega_20230507_normal_ESP8266_4M1M May 7 2023 and there everything is ok.

A new build means that I have to flash the ESPs again with a new ESP_Easy version?
This would be bad because the ESPs are hard to reach in their locations. I use ESP-01

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3522
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#5 Post by Ath » 12 Nov 2023, 22:29

obstbauer wrote: 12 Nov 2023, 22:05 A new build means that I have to flash the ESPs again with a new ESP_Easy version?
This would be bad because the ESPs are hard to reach in their locations. I use ESP-01
That's correct. ESP01 and other 1MB Flash units are really hard to keep supported, as we are constantly running out of the .bin size, so 4MB units like the NodeMCU and Wemos D1 mini clones are much easier to use. They also have more GPIO pins available.

For new installations it's better to base your plans on ESP32 devices, for replacing the small ESP01 there are close 'competitors' in size like the ESP32-C3 mini devices (f.e. these, or these). These units usually have 4MB flash, and can be updated via OTA (Over The Air = via the browser).

Edit: There is even an ESP32-C3 that's pin compatible with the ESP01 -> https://aliexpress.com/item/1005003538055090.html 8-)
Last edited by Ath on 12 Nov 2023, 22:58, edited 1 time in total.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#6 Post by TD-er » 12 Nov 2023, 22:40

When you need to open up those devices with an ESP01, please take the time to solder on a new 4M flash chip as it makes life so much easier.

obstbauer
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 25 May 2023, 15:46

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#7 Post by obstbauer » 13 Nov 2023, 14:57

ok... bad...
I work now with s2 minis
maybe I change my ESP01 with them


For my understanding:
What happened that it worked before with the normal web interface and now it doesn't wortk anymore?

As I mentioned if I connect the first time via AP I always have the simple look and after connecting with my wifi the normal web interface appears?

It is really necessary to flash it again?
Because my sensor reading is still fine and this is all I need.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#8 Post by TD-er » 13 Nov 2023, 15:15

We do rely on some external service to host static files like the CSS and JavaScript files.
And all of a sudden those links are no longer working.

N.B. there is also some LillyGo module with an ESP32-C3 with the exact same form factor as the old ESP01.
See: https://templates.blakadder.com/T-01C3.html

User avatar
chromo23
Normal user
Posts: 827
Joined: 10 Sep 2020, 16:02
Location: germany

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#9 Post by chromo23 » 13 Nov 2023, 15:32

obstbauer wrote: 13 Nov 2023, 14:57 It is really necessary to flash it again?
No...

Use "file upload" under "/tools"
and upload the files of the attachment one by one..

Note: you need around 9kb of free space for that.. but that is usually the case
Attachments
espeasy_files.zip
(7.53 KiB) Downloaded 68 times
Last edited by chromo23 on 14 Nov 2023, 23:06, edited 1 time in total.

obstbauer
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 25 May 2023, 15:46

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#10 Post by obstbauer » 13 Nov 2023, 22:04

you mean

"File browser Show files on internal flash file system"

and then upload the *.js files?

Thank you for the help!

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#11 Post by TD-er » 13 Nov 2023, 22:04

On an 1M flash unit this 9k can be challenging...

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#12 Post by TD-er » 13 Nov 2023, 22:06

By the way, I think you can also gzip them and then upload them as .js.gz

User avatar
chromo23
Normal user
Posts: 827
Joined: 10 Sep 2020, 16:02
Location: germany

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#13 Post by chromo23 » 13 Nov 2023, 22:19

This won´t work: "update_sensor_values_device_page.js.gz"
It is to lengthy :)

obstbauer
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 25 May 2023, 15:46

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#14 Post by obstbauer » 13 Nov 2023, 22:29

is it right what I wrote ?


TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#16 Post by TD-er » 13 Nov 2023, 22:41

Ah yes, have to check the source code as I have made a replacement name for it when serving embedded JS...

Edit:
Rename it to upd_values_device_page.js
or upd_values_device_page.js.gz if you GZipped it..

obstbauer
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 25 May 2023, 15:46

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#17 Post by obstbauer » 13 Nov 2023, 22:58

ok I uploaded all files but it doesn't work

should I delete the "update_sensor_values_device_page.js" file ?
and upload the renamed file again ?

obstbauer
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 25 May 2023, 15:46

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#18 Post by obstbauer » 13 Nov 2023, 23:02

I uploaded "upd_values_device_page.js" but it doesn't work
Attachments
js.JPG
js.JPG (44.36 KiB) Viewed 4249 times


obstbauer
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 25 May 2023, 15:46

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#20 Post by obstbauer » 13 Nov 2023, 23:34

yes it worked :)
Thank you!

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reason why some devices show simple web interface?

#21 Post by TD-er » 13 Nov 2023, 23:37

Keep in mind that whenever you have issues saving settings, you may want to remove one or more files as SPIFFS filesystem needs some free space to work on.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests