Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Moderators: BertB, rtenklooster, Voyager, Stuntteam, Martinus

Message
Author
velja
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 08 Feb 2017, 08:07

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#161 Post by velja » 01 Aug 2018, 11:24

What a pity! I wait with my two displays to monitor IN/OUT temperature!. I hope you make it soon!

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 459
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#162 Post by papperone » 12 Aug 2018, 10:28

sorry about delays but while I was finishing the testing some other user commited in GitHub a change request of my plugin with huge nuber of changes aiming to optimization...
long story short as I had already heavily changed the cosde to implement all new functions now I'm puzzled how to proceed :cry:
- I can choose to revert back to my version of the code, throwing out all optimization submited (no idea about what was done as the othe user change lots of the original code)
- I can start again all coding of new features on the actual version of the code but first I need to understand the changes, test if it's all working as it was wil all the supported hardware

No matter what way I will go it will take lots more unplanned time which I have not much recently due to job related tasks...
I do apologize but not all depending on me!
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/

ronald
Normal user
Posts: 28
Joined: 05 Jun 2017, 14:15

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#163 Post by ronald » 12 Aug 2018, 11:49

Too bad, all this hassle. It works great the way it is now. Why did someone just change that much of your code?
In your place I should revert back to my original code. If the other user wants to change it, let him develop his own version.
Thank you for all the effort you put into it.

TD-er
Normal user
Posts: 940
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#164 Post by TD-er » 12 Aug 2018, 12:41

@papperone, was it me that made changes?
I don't remember changing things to your plugin.
Maybe I can help explaining what has changed recently and to what purpose?

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 459
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#165 Post by papperone » 12 Aug 2018, 12:58

TD-er wrote:
12 Aug 2018, 12:41
@papperone, was it me that made changes?
I don't remember changing things to your plugin.
Maybe I can help explaining what has changed recently and to what purpose?
no TD-er, it was an user I've never heard of "GHolli" in --> https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/pull/1631

what shoudl I do ? as I wrote the number of changes in the plucing are a lot and to go to all of them it will take me a while and I've already a local version of plugin with new features based on my old versione...
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/

ronald
Normal user
Posts: 28
Joined: 05 Jun 2017, 14:15

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#166 Post by ronald » 12 Aug 2018, 17:21

I say: continue with your local version. You started it and it worked great. Why wait for some unknown user that teared your code apart?

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 1675
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#167 Post by grovkillen » 12 Aug 2018, 20:17

papperone wrote:
12 Aug 2018, 12:58
TD-er wrote:
12 Aug 2018, 12:41
@papperone, was it me that made changes?
I don't remember changing things to your plugin.
Maybe I can help explaining what has changed recently and to what purpose?
no TD-er, it was an user I've never heard of "GHolli" in --> https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/pull/1631

what shoudl I do ? as I wrote the number of changes in the plucing are a lot and to go to all of them it will take me a while and I've already a local version of plugin with new features based on my old versione...
Still, it's only a PR, not merged. So if your update of the code is working good we'll just reject that PR and merge your change. Good job :)
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
:idea: Sponsor ESP Easy :idea:

TD-er
Normal user
Posts: 940
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#168 Post by TD-er » 12 Aug 2018, 21:42

Indeed, it is not merged, so we can continue with your code and maybe later apply the mentioned optimizations when still applicable.

(placing char arrays or strings in flash is always a nice to have optimization)

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 459
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#169 Post by papperone » 13 Aug 2018, 00:33

ok , understood!

I'll try to complete testing asap and make my PR :)
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/

mrshark
Normal user
Posts: 5
Joined: 29 Aug 2016, 15:03

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

#170 Post by mrshark » 14 Aug 2018, 14:14

hi
1st: thanks for your work :)

2nd: i've some of the "dots+colon" tm1637 modules, and using ESP_Easy_mega-20180809_dev_ESP8266_4096.bin on a nodemcu model, 1st gpio D3, 2nd gpio D4, tried both the dots and colon combo option, but none of the dots or colon is ever ON, just the numbers (right now showing time)... not in blink, nor in no blink setting...

3rd: sending this command "7dn,09.07" in manual mode just displays "9", why?

4th: are, or will ever be, these modules supported? https://it.aliexpress.com/item/74HC595- ... 25544.html
some info about them: http://vlad-gheorghe.blogspot.com/2018/ ... hc164.html

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest