ESPEasy reboots when accessed from different LAN

Moderators: Voyager, BertB, rtenklooster, Stuntteam, Martinus, grovkillen, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
chunter1
Normal user
Posts: 61
Joined: 22 Jan 2016, 22:40

ESPEasy reboots when accessed from different LAN

#1 Post by chunter1 » 13 Sep 2018, 11:15

When i connect to my ESP8266 from the same LAN, it works fine.
When i connect to my ESP8266 from a different LAN, it immediately reboots.

The "Client IP block level" is set to "Allow All".
Github Version "mega-20180910"

What could be the case?

TD-er
Normal user
Posts: 1052
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESPEasy reboots when accessed from different LAN

#2 Post by TD-er » 13 Sep 2018, 19:50

Does this also happen when using an older version, like from June? (other core version)

chunter1
Normal user
Posts: 61
Joined: 22 Jan 2016, 22:40

Re: ESPEasy reboots when accessed from different LAN

#3 Post by chunter1 » 14 Sep 2018, 20:00

I think it has to do with the circumstance, that I updated the firmware from a very old version.
The other modules don‘t show that issue.
I did a factory reset but no change.
Also the factory reset does not erase the IP settings.
What else could I try?

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 1900
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESPEasy reboots when accessed from different LAN

#4 Post by grovkillen » 14 Sep 2018, 20:13

The standard procedures is to flash a blank bin prior to a fresh flash. Latest release includes three blank files.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

chunter1
Normal user
Posts: 61
Joined: 22 Jan 2016, 22:40

Re: ESPEasy reboots when accessed from different LAN

#5 Post by chunter1 » 14 Sep 2018, 20:50

Thank you.
I will try the blank bins.

chunter1
Normal user
Posts: 61
Joined: 22 Jan 2016, 22:40

Re: ESPEasy reboots when accessed from different LAN

#6 Post by chunter1 » 17 Sep 2018, 14:26

grovkillen wrote:
14 Sep 2018, 20:13
The standard procedures is to flash a blank bin prior to a fresh flash. Latest release includes three blank files.
Is there a way to achieve a clean install OTA?
I got several modules distributed in difficult to reach locations.

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 1900
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESPEasy reboots when accessed from different LAN

#7 Post by grovkillen » 17 Sep 2018, 19:52

Sorry, currently no. I totally understand your situation and we'll try to think of some way of doing it but I cannot promise anything now.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Normal user
Posts: 1052
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESPEasy reboots when accessed from different LAN

#8 Post by TD-er » 18 Sep 2018, 18:44

I plan to add a function to start writing 0xff to every address right after the sketch itself.
This will destroy all settings. However, I have not yet tried it, so not sure if it will be able to succeed to do so.
We might run into all kind of issues like background updates that partially restore the active settings, or watchdog reboots.
So we will have just try to do it and see what happens. But it is a great idea. I addedit to the github issues: https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/issues/1764

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests