[SOLVED] NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

Moderators: rtenklooster, Voyager, BertB, Stuntteam

Forum rules
You have entered the experimental forum, beware!!!
Post Reply
Message
Author
easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

[SOLVED] NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#1 Post by easy-mrmomba » 24 Mar 2021, 17:04

+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
|Summary: It seems that I made a mistake while flashing? The version I used may also have a bug.|
+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+


Hello Togehter,

i am a new Member in this Forum and i am relative new to ESP-Easy.
I've used in the past some wemos d1 with esp easy. I also switched from tasmota for sensor-task to esp easy - because in my opinion, esp easy is a great "os" for building sensors!

Okay, after some experiments, I have the need for some more GPIOs. Happy to see, there is an ESP32 Port. I flashed it to my ESP-32S configured it - and it's work fine....

until i add a device!
the ESP32s gets very slow, sometimes there where no response - the website is unreachable etc.
Have someone tested the esp-32s?
Maybe - i used the wrong image?
Last edited by easy-mrmomba on 07 Apr 2021, 15:17, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 704
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#2 Post by Ath » 24 Mar 2021, 17:14

Hi, welcome to the forum :)

A few questions:
- What exact board have you used?
- What device is connected and how is it configured (a screenshot of the Device settings will help)

NB: No reason to post this in the Experimental section of the forum, this is a regular ESPEasy Software or Hardware question, I'd say
/Ton

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 4526
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#3 Post by TD-er » 24 Mar 2021, 19:46

Also which GPIO pins are configured to use the plugin you added and is it actually connected to those pins?

easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#4 Post by easy-mrmomba » 25 Mar 2021, 08:53

Hey toghether
- What exact board have you used?
I use this Dev-Board: http://www.hit-karlsruhe.de/hit-info/in ... d_PINS.pdf
with this version: ESPEasy_ESP32_mega-20210114
- What device is connected and how is it configured (a screenshot of the Device settings will help)
The Problem have exist, still with a Switch and after a little IDLE-Time.
No reason to post this in the Experimental section of the forum,
Okay :-)
I have think about, that the ESP32 Image is experimental and i have to post here :-) - maybe someone can move it in the right direction?

------------------
but - blame on me: I have realized, that there exist a new version. I will test the new version of stability.

First Test:
Create a Switch:
CLICK on ADD
select an device
choose switch
hang up ....

At the same Time in Putty:

Code: Select all

2519898 : Info   :  Webserver args: 0: 'index' length: 1 1: 'page' length: 1 2: 'TDNUM' length: 1 3: 'edit' length: 1 4: 'page' length: 1
2520072 : Info   : SaveToFile: free stack: 7064
2520101 : Info   : FILE : Saved /config.dat
2520102 : Info   : SaveToFile: free stack after: 7064
2520103 : Info   : SaveToFile: free stack: 7048
2520507 : Info   : FILE : Saved /config.dat
2520507 : Info   : SaveToFile: free stack after: 7048
2520518 : Info   : SaveToFile: free stack: 6680
2520527 : Info   : FILE : Saved /security.dat
2520527 : Info   : SaveToFile: free stack after: 6680
2520528 : Info   : WIFI : Starting mDNS...
252052
Maybe i will explain my motivation in the background later - if interessting.
i will use espeasy for an caravan - to make him a little intelligent.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 4526
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#5 Post by TD-er » 25 Mar 2021, 09:16

What I do see in the few log lines you posted is that it tries to start mDNS.
I know that one has been causing issues in the past, so maybe I should make that configurable at least so one may turn it on when needed and it is off by default.

easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#6 Post by easy-mrmomba » 25 Mar 2021, 14:36

Yes, the Output shows no error :-(

I didn't know, why mDNS where in use - because i where connected to my lokal wlan.

is espeasy compiled for the esp32s?
maybe this is the problem ? because its a singlecore?

Interessting thing - after i clean the complete rom and reflashed it, bring it in the correct wlan und create a new Switch i have the same behavior as bevor.

------
Create a Switch:
CLICK on ADD
select an device
choose switch
hang up ....

I have wait 30 Minutes - because i was outside in se sun - and after i come back, the terminal shows me following errors :-)

Code: Select all

ets Jun  8 2016 00:22:57

rst:0xc (SW_CPU_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DOUT, clock div:1
load:0x3fff0018,len:4
load:0x3fff001c,len:1044
load:0x40078000,len:8896
load:0x40080400,len:5816
entry 0x400806ac
▒U30 : Info   :

INIT : Booting version:  (ESP32 SDK v3.2.3-14-gd3e562907)
31 : Info   : INIT : Free RAM:290340
32 : Info   : INIT : Cold Boot - Restart Reason: CPU0: Software reset CPU CPU1: Software reset CPU
33 : Info   : FS   : Mounting...
72 : Info   : CRC  : SecuritySettings CRC   ...OK
144 : Info   : INIT : Free RAM:284348
145 : Info   : INIT : I2C
145 : Info   : INIT : SPI not enabledGuru Meditation Error: Core  1 panic'ed (IllegalInstruction). Exception was unhandled.
Memory dump at 0x40105de0: aaaaaaaa ffffffaf ffffffff
Core 1 register dump:
PC      : 0x40105de4  PS      : 0x00060730  A0      : 0x80130578  A1      : 0x3ffb1c30
A2      : 0x3ffc3c3c  A3      : 0x3ffb1e0c  A4      : 0x00000000  A5      : 0x0000020e
A6      : 0x00000000  A7      : 0xfe740002  A8      : 0x80105dc8  A9      : 0x3ffb1c10
A10     : 0xffd10260  A11     : 0x00000000  A12     : 0x3ffc4f98  A13     : 0x3ffc4f98
A14     : 0x00ff0000  A15     : 0xff000000  SAR     : 0x0000001a  EXCCAUSE: 0x00000000
EXCVADDR: 0x00000000  LBEG    : 0x4000c349  LEND    : 0x4000c36b  LCOUNT  : 0xffffffff

Backtrace: 0x40105de4:0x3ffb1c30 0x40130575:0x3ffb1cf0 0x40130d8f:0x3ffb1d40 0x40103805:0x3ffb1e90 0x4010b55e:0x3ffb1ec0 0x40179ca6:0x3ffb1fb0 0x4008a21d:0x3ffb1fd0

Rebooting...

----

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 4526
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#7 Post by TD-er » 25 Mar 2021, 14:57

Ah a single core, nope that's not tested.
Problem why I initially skipped your "ESP-32S" remark is that there are other modules out there also using that "S" extension which is not the same as the single-core ESP32 from Espressif.

On the other hand, I really doubt yours is a single core version as it starts to showing issues when you add a task.

So maybe you can perform a factory reset and then have a look at the sysinfo page?
There is some extra info on the ESP32 like the detected nr. of cores, family etc.

easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#8 Post by easy-mrmomba » 25 Mar 2021, 16:42

Wow suprise - it's a dualcore?

that i will not belive :D but... okay

then i don#t know, why i have this problemsß
maybe ... an bug?

I have no idea what now i can do.


Edit: it seems i am a victim from my unorganized working.. i accidently reflashed the januar-version.
Now. i ill flash the ESP_Easy_mega_20210223_display_ESP32_4M316k.bin ... will test again

Edit2:
the newer image will not boot up... i will keep up. but tomorrow.
Attachments
screencapture-192-168-4-1-sysinfo-2021-03-25-16_37_42.png
screencapture-192-168-4-1-sysinfo-2021-03-25-16_37_42.png (220.45 KiB) Viewed 988 times
Last edited by easy-mrmomba on 25 Mar 2021, 16:53, edited 1 time in total.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 4526
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#9 Post by TD-er » 25 Mar 2021, 16:50

Yep, that's what I thought it would be.

I already tried to make a test build for the ESP32-S2 (which is a single core and a number of other differences) and that one I could not get to work (yet).
So therefore I was quite sure it wasn't an S2 and those old ESP32 single cores I have never seen other than being mentioned in datasheets.

So back to the issue of terrible slowdown when adding a switch task.

Can you -just as a test- add some task that will not interact with hardware, like a system info task?
Just to see what will happen then.

N.B. I can also make a test build for you based on the latest code base as I fixed an issue today regarding the WiFi reconnect.
But that bug was not yet present in the latest builds of 2020, so you can also try those.

easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#10 Post by easy-mrmomba » 29 Mar 2021, 21:37

Hey,

sorry for my late Answere - there was a weekend ... and children-time :-)
I will test it.

First: I have a problem to flash and "boot" this version: ESP_Easy_mega_20210223_display_ESP32_4M316k.bin
It will not boot - just an error.

As a Second step, i will flash the older version - and - will test what you mean :-)
Can you -just as a test- add some task that will not interact with hardware, like a system info task?
I am not Fulltime "online" - sorry for this.
I can also make a test build for you based on the latest code base as I fixed an issue today regarding the WiFi reconnect.
Oh. thank you for your suggestion!
but I think a "test-build" would waste your time ...

... maybe I can do such a build myself?

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 704
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#11 Post by Ath » 29 Mar 2021, 22:15

easy-mrmomba wrote: 29 Mar 2021, 21:37 First: I have a problem to flash and "boot" this version: ESP_Easy_mega_20210223_display_ESP32_4M316k.bin
It will not boot - just an error.
For the initial flash, using the Espressif flashtool, you need the -factory.bin file, that includes the required boot and partition stuff. After it is running, you can use the OTA updates via the Tools/Firmware update hutton using the .bin file you mention.
/Ton

easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#12 Post by easy-mrmomba » 05 Apr 2021, 14:42

For the initial flash, using the Espressif flashtool, you need the -factory.bin file, that includes the required boot and partition stuff. After it is running, you can use the OTA updates via the Tools/Firmware update hutton using the .bin file you mention.
Oh okay - thank you for this hint.
Maybe, this can be the cause why i have this problems?
It can be that i use a realy old boot-what-ever-format-partition.

But Yep - this was my latest fault, i didn't used a factory image :-D
now ich know for what i have to use it. I have googlet what it means, but havn't found it

Now i have flashed the newest version:
espeasy_newest.png
espeasy_newest.png (115.49 KiB) Viewed 562 times
I create a task: Generic - System Info and will check if it will work until this evening.
NTP is set and rules-function, without rules are active
After that, ich will create a new, secound task.
Using an rotary-switch.
In the past i have reproduceable hangup by this.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 704
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#13 Post by Ath » 05 Apr 2021, 15:38

The ESPEasy .bin files with 'factory' in their name are single-upload files for the ESP32 boards. They include the bootloader, partition table, and the ESPEasy sketch. This image has to be uploaded to the device once, at address 0, with no other files included in that upload.
After that, you can upload a .bin file without 'factory' in the name, via the "Firmware upload" button on the Tools tab.

Your Info pages looks like I would expect, except I'd access the UI via the 'normal' IP address, assigned when connecting it to your Wi-Fi Accesspoint, or set up a fixed IP-address on the Config page (with correct settings for Gateway, Subnetmask and DNS).
/Ton

easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#14 Post by easy-mrmomba » 05 Apr 2021, 21:43

Yes, i use the ESP32S for now with an ipaddress from my LAN.
AND...
I haven't no glitch and hangup.
The ESP is actually working.
Now i will create another task and will wait whats happens.

easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#15 Post by easy-mrmomba » 05 Apr 2021, 22:19

Ok - Added a Task for a DS18b20 ...
I try to set GPIO6 aus the TX press submit... and than that happens.

Code: Select all

rst:0x10 (RTCWDT_RTC_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DOUT, clock div:1
load:0x3fff0018,len:4
load:0x3fff001c,len:1044
load:0x40078000,len:8896
load:0x40080400,len:5816
entry 0x400806ac
Fatal exception (28): LoadProhibited
epc1=0x40006843, epc2=0x00000000, epc3=0x00000000, excvaddr=0xffffffff, depc=0x00000000
Change to GPIO7 - okay :-)
can save without a hangup.
---- but - didnt find the Sensor...

...
Change to GPIO8 - ... problems like GPIO6.
WTF?

...
Change to GPIO0 (Zero)
Works.
Last edited by easy-mrmomba on 05 Apr 2021, 22:27, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 704
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#16 Post by Ath » 05 Apr 2021, 22:22

Could it be that you bought a cheap clone that's not working correctly, or maybe it's just a broken sensor.
Can you try another DS18b20, preferably obtained from another source?
/Ton

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 4526
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#17 Post by TD-er » 05 Apr 2021, 22:28

You should not (!!!!!) use GPIO 6.
See: Documentation - Special notes on GPIO 6 - 11

That one is connected to the flash.

easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#18 Post by easy-mrmomba » 05 Apr 2021, 22:28

Oh i have edit my older Post:

Change to GPIO7 - okay :-)
can save without a hangup.
---- but - didnt find the Sensor...

...
Change to GPIO8 - ... problems like GPIO6.
WTF?

...
Change to GPIO0 (Zero)
Works.


Sensor has working under ESP8266 with ESP-Easy to.

I dont know if this a "cheap" clone. i pay around 9€ in the past

You should not (!!!!!) use GPIO 6.
See: https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... O.html#id2

That one is connected to the flash.
Ah okay, i have forgotten it ...
And there was no Hint :-D
Okay, that was my fault.
Sorry for this :-(
Last edited by easy-mrmomba on 05 Apr 2021, 22:30, edited 1 time in total.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 4526
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#19 Post by TD-er » 05 Apr 2021, 22:29

See my post, do not use GPIO 6 - 11

easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#20 Post by easy-mrmomba » 05 Apr 2021, 22:41

Yup, some posts just overlapped.
I had published my post after you had sent it, but probably started writing before that - i think :-) .

Interesting thing about the flash.
Whether an external memory fits there?
But... no matter for me at this time :-)

Thy for help.
I dont know if there is a bug in the earlier version or if i was the bug or if it will a little both of them

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 4526
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#21 Post by TD-er » 05 Apr 2021, 23:18

The ESP32 doesn't have flash inside the ESP chip itself.
Thus the flash is "external" compared to the chip.
If you have a board which has a metalic cover over the ESP module, then the flash is still in that module, but it is connected to the GPIO-pins mentioned in the documentation page I linked.

easy-mrmomba
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Mar 2021, 16:53
Location: germany

Re: NodeMCU ESP-32S v1.1 - very slow after adding "Devices"

#22 Post by easy-mrmomba » 06 Apr 2021, 11:30

Okay.

Status for now:
No Problem actually. It-seems it's runnig, quick, fast and stable.
The test goes on.
:-)

Thx for help and support!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest