Arduino Easy 2560

Moderators: rtenklooster, Voyager, BertB, Stuntteam

Forum rules
You have entered the experimental forum, beware!!!
Message
Author
Martinus

Arduino Easy 2560

#1 Post by Martinus » 02 Nov 2016, 17:08

Running the ESP with Arduino software for a while and you would almost forget the origin of Arduino IDE.

The ESP Easy firmware might run on an actual Arduino Mega 2560 with the LAN ethernet shield (!)

Yes, an old DIY gadget like this:
ArduinoMegaEthernet.jpg
ArduinoMegaEthernet.jpg (20.6 KiB) Viewed 69644 times
Because i do hate to throw away old stuff that gave lot's of fun in the past, i tried to port ESP Easy to the Arduino Mega 2560. Just a small challenge to see where it would end.

I'd expected the need to rename stuff like "Wifi" to "Ethernet", but also found out that some important webserver classes are missing on Arduino. So it required some more tweaking.

But in the end, it compiled and needed some more tweaks to get the webgui going with this very low memory device.

So here we have it:
ArduinoEasy1.png
ArduinoEasy1.png (9.88 KiB) Viewed 69644 times

Much more limited compared with ESP Easy, but a functional Easy Arduino with a Domoticz controller and happy communicating with other ESP Easy neighbors...
ArduinoEasy2.png
ArduinoEasy2.png (17.19 KiB) Viewed 69644 times
Isn't that fun?

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 497
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#2 Post by papperone » 02 Nov 2016, 20:22

Looks interesting experiment!
I should have one or two of those 2560 with ETH shield if you need some help testing am available :D
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

timsson
Normal user
Posts: 77
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 22:00

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#3 Post by timsson » 07 Nov 2016, 23:01

Ohhhh, i have also two old 2560 with ethernet shield...
And i like the concept and gui from the espeasy very much!
Please, can you share the experimental files?
...maybe i can switch 2 or 3 gpio for relays only..... :lol:
regards Tom

Martinus

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#4 Post by Martinus » 12 Nov 2016, 16:30

Guess it needs some more work and i'm rather busy with the ESP Easy Mega.

In the mean time, two Arduino 2560's have been running for a week doing 100.000+ pulsecount reports to Domoticz, so it looks like a feasible project.
Although current version has only 4 plugins (switch/analog/pulse/dummy)...

anarro
Normal user
Posts: 14
Joined: 01 Aug 2016, 08:32

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#5 Post by anarro » 18 Nov 2016, 12:17

Hi,

I have five Arduino Mega to test.... and some Arduino Ethernet...

Martinus

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#6 Post by Martinus » 20 Nov 2016, 16:27


timsson
Normal user
Posts: 77
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 22:00

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#7 Post by timsson » 20 Nov 2016, 17:51

Martinus wrote:Sneak preview available on:
http://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/index.php/ArduinoEasy
:D :D :D !



only a question - i know, nano has only 32k flash, but it is possible run a minimal config(only i/o pin) on nano?
nano.jpg
nano.jpg (6.26 KiB) Viewed 69389 times

ILoveIOT
Normal user
Posts: 44
Joined: 01 Nov 2015, 10:54

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#8 Post by ILoveIOT » 24 Nov 2016, 15:43

Very very nice,...nice work Martinus !!!!

timsson
Normal user
Posts: 77
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 22:00

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#9 Post by timsson » 30 Nov 2016, 14:14

... but many questions :)
- how can i add openhab/mqtt support????
- i2c scan lists a lot of devices - why?
- devices - if i add more then one - the name is changing?
and how can i add/remove i/o pins...
device.JPG
device.JPG (41.17 KiB) Viewed 69213 times
But i think, it will be great - THX!

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#10 Post by frank » 04 Dec 2016, 12:35

i have orderd an 2560 and network shield to test and work with this option. Muchmore IO so it is verry interesting

DeNB3rt
Normal user
Posts: 120
Joined: 15 Dec 2015, 14:07

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#11 Post by DeNB3rt » 06 Dec 2016, 16:22

nice :twisted:
Located in Belgium, Bruges. Working on a full DIY domoticz setup with ESPEasy.

wutu
Normal user
Posts: 35
Joined: 05 Feb 2016, 07:33

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#12 Post by wutu » 06 Dec 2016, 18:47

Martinus, amazing job. Please add Protocol 5. 8-)

Martinus

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#13 Post by Martinus » 08 Dec 2016, 13:29

timsson wrote:only a question - i know, nano has only 32k flash, but it is possible run a minimal config(only i/o pin) on nano?
The Arduino Nano with the ENC28J60 module may be able to work as a simple sensor device. But the bare network routines already take most of the flash program size. So it will be SEVERELY limited. I almost completely stripped the Arduino Easy code and it compiles within 30k now. But expect nothing compared to what we know from ESP Easy. I only managed to get a basic webform for config and a sensor connection to Domoticz, reading an analog port:
NanoEasy.png
NanoEasy.png (4.93 KiB) Viewed 67163 times

timsson
Normal user
Posts: 77
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 22:00

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#14 Post by timsson » 08 Dec 2016, 16:20

ohh, it's sounds nonetheless good... i use mqtt with openhab - can i change from Domoticz to openhab by myself?
(maybe _C02.ino <-> _C05.ino?)
Can i test your files?

P.S. the megashield runs a long time without connection problems :D
I use only gpio2 + gpio3 and A1....
_20161208_161717~01~01.jpg
_20161208_161717~01~01.jpg (23.35 KiB) Viewed 67157 times

Martinus

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#15 Post by Martinus » 08 Dec 2016, 16:45

timsson wrote:... but many questions :)
- how can i add openhab/mqtt support????
- i2c scan lists a lot of devices - why?
- devices - if i add more then one - the name is changing?
and how can i add/remove i/o pins...

device.JPG
But i think, it will be great - THX!
R147 is available with MQTT support and I2C bug fixed. Still very experimental as RAM is very challenging on Arduino Mega. Only tested with MQTTfx tool as i do not have openHAB or any MQTT stuff running here...
http://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/index ... ak_preview

timsson
Normal user
Posts: 77
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 22:00

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#16 Post by timsson » 08 Dec 2016, 20:07

sluggy -> but first impression: super :!:


little problems:
- if i plug out the ethernet connection, the broker is not reconnecting?
(but the gui/http connection goes up)
mqtt.JPG
mqtt.JPG (23.56 KiB) Viewed 67147 times
- a rule with publish don't work...
rules.JPG
rules.JPG (11.09 KiB) Viewed 67146 times

anarro
Normal user
Posts: 14
Joined: 01 Aug 2016, 08:32

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#17 Post by anarro » 08 Dec 2016, 21:17

Martinus wrote:
timsson wrote:... but many questions :)
- how can i add openhab/mqtt support????
- i2c scan lists a lot of devices - why?
- devices - if i add more then one - the name is changing?
and how can i add/remove i/o pins...

device.JPG
But i think, it will be great - THX!
R147 is available with MQTT support and I2C bug fixed. Still very experimental as RAM is very challenging on Arduino Mega. Only tested with MQTTfx tool as i do not have openHAB or any MQTT stuff running here...
http://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/index ... ak_preview
Hi Martinus, I downloaded this version and I'm going to try it, thanks

Antoni.

ILoveIOT
Normal user
Posts: 44
Joined: 01 Nov 2015, 10:54

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#18 Post by ILoveIOT » 08 Dec 2016, 22:49

Use the storage off the SD card not a option ? get more space to work with.

https://startingelectronics.org/tutoria ... eb-server/

In all mine Mega's with shield I got a 8GB sd card, should be enough storage :mrgreen:

Martinus

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#19 Post by Martinus » 10 Dec 2016, 16:18

timsson wrote:ohh, it's sounds nonetheless good... i use mqtt with openhab - can i change from Domoticz to openhab by myself?
(maybe _C02.ino <-> _C05.ino?)
Can i test your files?
Things are not so easy with the Nano, due to code size and RAM limitations. There are no plugins as that approach will not fit. We have to use #defines and make selections at compile time. I will start a new thread here for the Nano. Source will be available soon.

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#20 Post by frank » 20 Dec 2016, 14:12

i have got my 2560 and networkshield. The software is uploaded with the rf link software. But when i put it in my network it doesnot get an ip adres the lights ar blinking but no respons. Is there a way to test it so i can find out what is wrong?

mrlukasz
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Dec 2016, 11:34

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#21 Post by mrlukasz » 24 Dec 2016, 11:35

I loaded software everything ok but how I am supposed now with it to connect. He isn't allotting the IP address to me. unless somehow differently is an address standing? I am calling for help!!

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#22 Post by frank » 25 Dec 2016, 12:12

ªU
PID:0
Version:0
INIT : Incorrect PID or version!
SD�S«¹Ñ�failed
ªU
PID:0
Version:0
INIT : Incorrect PID or version!

this is what i get when looking to a serial log

jerrebxl
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Dec 2016, 15:11

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#23 Post by jerrebxl » 26 Dec 2016, 15:16

frank wrote:ªU
PID:0
Version:0
INIT : Incorrect PID or version!
I've got exactly the same.. I tried adding an sdcard; but that didn't help. Some info (or source code) would be helpful ;)
EDIT: I got it working after formatting the sdcard to FAT. Although it connected to my MQTT broker; I didn't succeed to create a push button call (e.g. at which topic does it send to?). It's not untuitive how to configure and how pins are mapped as they are called D1 etc. Most likely it's because I have no espeasy experience... so I think I will stick to my self written MQTT arduino sketches for now... hopefully this project will mature soon.
Last edited by jerrebxl on 09 Jan 2017, 20:34, edited 1 time in total.

mrlukasz
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Dec 2016, 11:34

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#24 Post by mrlukasz » 26 Dec 2016, 18:56

Somebody will help me how I am supposed to start it on arduino I am calling for help best step by step PLEASE HELP ME

hamster
Normal user
Posts: 62
Joined: 27 Sep 2015, 21:01
Location: UK

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#25 Post by hamster » 31 Dec 2016, 14:42

I was having issues but after adding a micro sd card to the Ethernet shield its now working.. looks good !

mars-eyes
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Jan 2017, 16:00

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#26 Post by mars-eyes » 17 Jan 2017, 16:04

Hi

i'm French, i'm testing arduino mega and i have same problem :

Firmware : R147

SD Mount failed
ªU
PID:0
Version:0
INIT : Incorrect PID or version!

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#27 Post by frank » 18 Jan 2017, 11:06

i solved it by putting in an sd card :D

mrlukasz
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Dec 2016, 11:34

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#28 Post by mrlukasz » 21 Jan 2017, 15:09

when the final version will be ?

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#29 Post by frank » 28 Jan 2017, 22:03

i can connect an DHT12 on the i2c bus en the scanner sees the sensor but i can't put it in devices. Can somebody help?

Domoke
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Mar 2017, 21:46

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#30 Post by Domoke » 09 Mar 2017, 21:57

Hi,

I was looking for a EspEasy sollution with cable, now its finally there :D
But I cannot connect to an ip adres, Can someone please explain me how this works.
I tried cross cable, connect with static ip to the 192.168.4.1, DHCP, flashed both versions but I cannot get ip address. (flashing successful)
The Arduino Mega and the ethernet shield W5100 is working because I have a sketch with both and that is working fine.

So if someone has this working can you help me? Thank you.

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#31 Post by frank » 10 Mar 2017, 18:18

Domoke wrote: 09 Mar 2017, 21:57 Hi,

I was looking for a EspEasy sollution with cable, now its finally there :D
But I cannot connect to an ip adres, Can someone please explain me how this works.
I tried cross cable, connect with static ip to the 192.168.4.1, DHCP, flashed both versions but I cannot get ip address. (flashing successful)
The Arduino Mega and the ethernet shield W5100 is working because I have a sketch with both and that is working fine.

So if someone has this working can you help me? Thank you.
Did you put an sd card in the network board. It will not work with out that

Domoke
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Mar 2017, 21:46

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#32 Post by Domoke » 10 Mar 2017, 20:52

frank wrote: 10 Mar 2017, 18:18 Did you put an sd card in the network board. It will not work with out that
Hi Frank, thank you for the quick reply,

Yes I also tried with an micro sd card (I only had 16gb) I formated and partitioned it with FAT and 4gb. No luck.
Do I have to flash the firmware with the sd card already inside, did not tried that.

Is it a static ip adres or DHCP?

Domoke
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Mar 2017, 21:46

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#33 Post by Domoke » 10 Mar 2017, 21:38

Tried with a different old microsd card 2gb and it works now, instant Ip received - DHCP.

Frank, wonderful, thank you.Now I can start trying to make some switch inputs.

One more small question, the Arduino Mega has a lot more ports, I can control 10 of them now with this great interface, I would like some more (total of 35, yes i know :D ),
just inputs to read the status of a switch and forward this to domoticz.
I tried and searched the internet to find a solution with cable, this is the best option so far for a user that has difficulties to get it all programmed. Is the current amount (10) a memory limit?

annakin
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 13:41

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#34 Post by annakin » 06 May 2017, 16:26

Hi i have some problem.
I download on gidhub source and uploading on Mega 2560+W5100
ArduinoEasy start all good, but have 1 bug, then i try to add new Device in menu Devices i can`t.
I'm trying to select a switch for example, but when I select it, nothing happens.

UPD:
I found out that not on one page of ArduinoEasy you can not choose anything, it just is not saved.
But if I download the firmware from here: https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... ak_preview
And upload it into Mega 2560 then everything works.
Who can answer what the problem is.

annakin
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 13:41

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#35 Post by annakin » 09 May 2017, 21:27

I checked all the code, but I can not find the error.

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#36 Post by frank » 13 May 2017, 15:05

for me it is working fine
i hope some one will make the i2c work so i can connect sensors

annakin
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 13:41

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#37 Post by annakin » 14 May 2017, 20:32

mb problem its on my libraries..
Can u make ZIP lib, ArduinoEasy and share ?
Or say what Version lib u use.
And what version IDE u use ?

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#38 Post by frank » 18 May 2017, 19:59

i just used the original file with uploader

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#39 Post by frank » 25 Jun 2017, 16:10

Martinus is that you are back on this forum en that is great. Is it possible that you do some development on this side project???

LisaM
Normal user
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Apr 2017, 18:29

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#40 Post by LisaM » 04 Aug 2017, 21:54

The ArduinoEasy source code is here: https://github.com/letscontrolit/ArduinoEasy

LisaM
Normal user
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Apr 2017, 18:29

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#41 Post by LisaM » 06 Aug 2017, 12:25

LisaM wrote: 05 Aug 2017, 13:16 I have the same problem with ArduinoEasy with fixed ethernet, encj2860 ethernet shield , no wifi. Ping works, webserver no response...
Running all night without devices without problems.
Adding one device: webserver gone within 5 minutes.
Ping still working.
It's almost as if the webserver is looping at the device and therefor never get's to answer the incoming call.
I used the image, lets see if the source are better...

Martinus

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#42 Post by Martinus » 07 Aug 2017, 18:35

Are you running the encj2860?
Doesn't this have a much larger memory footprint?

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#43 Post by frank » 07 Aug 2017, 20:30

is it possible to ad i2c to the system for DHT12 sensors?

Martinus

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#44 Post by Martinus » 07 Aug 2017, 20:42

Afaik I2C should be active in this firmware.
But plugins should be copied from the main ESP repository and may need some patching...

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#45 Post by frank » 07 Aug 2017, 20:56

it is active i can see the sensor when i check in the advanced tab. But i dont have the knowledge to patch it in

LisaM
Normal user
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Apr 2017, 18:29

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#46 Post by LisaM » 07 Aug 2017, 21:28

If i compile and upload the arduinoeasy source code mentioned earlier, compiled the image is only 115KB, it works. However changes to config or devices are ignored, submit brings back the original webform page, while changes to advanced are saved. Reboot works however.

If i use the image supplied, i can save config/devices/advanced changes (but rules cannot be saved!). However a reboot means the arduino is no longer responding to the browser calls, direct cmd calls don't work either. A cleaned (files removed) sd-card is needed to bring it back to life. If i make a device, it also fails (webserver no response). However direct cmd commands (gpio,3,1) does work (attached two leds to relay for both channels), when no device is created.

:shock:

Hw:
- Mega 2560 R3 Mega2560 REV3 (ATmega2560-16AU CH340G) Board
- Ethernet W5100 Network Expansion Board SD Card Expansion
- 5V 2-Channel Relay Module Shield (connected to D3/D4)

Info:

Unit: 8
Uptime: 0 days 21 hours 17 minutes
Load: 1% (LC=5479)
Free Mem: 2778
IP: 192.168.178.118
GW: 192.168.178.1
Build: 147
Devices: 4

(but no devices defined!)

LisaM
Normal user
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Apr 2017, 18:29

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#47 Post by LisaM » 08 Aug 2017, 23:38

I'm beginning to suspect the SD card write method, a reboot is working but a reset is screwing up ArduinoEasy. I think a reset is aborting the sd config files, so ArduinoEasy cannot startup due to corrupted config files... I think the config files are left open on a SD card, a reset is then not closing the file meaning it's corrupted...

Martinus

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#48 Post by Martinus » 09 Aug 2017, 08:20

Beware that this was experimental stage firmware, sort of PoC only. Main work was done to get it running at all and prevent instant crashes.
I've noticed that my local source was newer than the repository so i synced it to github. I'm currently unable to verify this firmware.

frank
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#49 Post by frank » 09 Aug 2017, 11:19

can you upload it here so that we can test it? i want to use this to control my heating system seperate in every room

LisaM
Normal user
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Apr 2017, 18:29

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

#50 Post by LisaM » 09 Aug 2017, 13:39

Martinus wrote: 09 Aug 2017, 08:20 Beware that this was experimental stage firmware, sort of PoC only. Main work was done to get it running at all and prevent instant crashes.
I've noticed that my local source was newer than the repository so i synced it to github. I'm currently unable to verify this firmware.
It was exactly what i was looking for: An ESPEasy that is using Ethernet instead of WiFi, it's supposed to be used as a gate control which doesn't have WiFi but it does have an ethernet cable. ;)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests