Page 1 of 3

Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 02 Nov 2016, 17:08
by Martinus
Running the ESP with Arduino software for a while and you would almost forget the origin of Arduino IDE.

The ESP Easy firmware might run on an actual Arduino Mega 2560 with the LAN ethernet shield (!)

Yes, an old DIY gadget like this:
ArduinoMegaEthernet.jpg
ArduinoMegaEthernet.jpg (20.6 KiB) Viewed 74930 times
Because i do hate to throw away old stuff that gave lot's of fun in the past, i tried to port ESP Easy to the Arduino Mega 2560. Just a small challenge to see where it would end.

I'd expected the need to rename stuff like "Wifi" to "Ethernet", but also found out that some important webserver classes are missing on Arduino. So it required some more tweaking.

But in the end, it compiled and needed some more tweaks to get the webgui going with this very low memory device.

So here we have it:
ArduinoEasy1.png
ArduinoEasy1.png (9.88 KiB) Viewed 74930 times

Much more limited compared with ESP Easy, but a functional Easy Arduino with a Domoticz controller and happy communicating with other ESP Easy neighbors...
ArduinoEasy2.png
ArduinoEasy2.png (17.19 KiB) Viewed 74930 times
Isn't that fun?

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 02 Nov 2016, 20:22
by papperone
Looks interesting experiment!
I should have one or two of those 2560 with ETH shield if you need some help testing am available :D

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 07 Nov 2016, 23:01
by timsson
Ohhhh, i have also two old 2560 with ethernet shield...
And i like the concept and gui from the espeasy very much!
Please, can you share the experimental files?
...maybe i can switch 2 or 3 gpio for relays only..... :lol:
regards Tom

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 12 Nov 2016, 16:30
by Martinus
Guess it needs some more work and i'm rather busy with the ESP Easy Mega.

In the mean time, two Arduino 2560's have been running for a week doing 100.000+ pulsecount reports to Domoticz, so it looks like a feasible project.
Although current version has only 4 plugins (switch/analog/pulse/dummy)...

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 18 Nov 2016, 12:17
by anarro
Hi,

I have five Arduino Mega to test.... and some Arduino Ethernet...

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 20 Nov 2016, 16:27
by Martinus

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 20 Nov 2016, 17:51
by timsson
Martinus wrote:Sneak preview available on:
http://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/index.php/ArduinoEasy
:D :D :D !



only a question - i know, nano has only 32k flash, but it is possible run a minimal config(only i/o pin) on nano?
nano.jpg
nano.jpg (6.26 KiB) Viewed 74675 times

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 24 Nov 2016, 15:43
by ILoveIOT
Very very nice,...nice work Martinus !!!!

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 30 Nov 2016, 14:14
by timsson
... but many questions :)
- how can i add openhab/mqtt support????
- i2c scan lists a lot of devices - why?
- devices - if i add more then one - the name is changing?
and how can i add/remove i/o pins...
device.JPG
device.JPG (41.17 KiB) Viewed 74499 times
But i think, it will be great - THX!

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 04 Dec 2016, 12:35
by frank
i have orderd an 2560 and network shield to test and work with this option. Muchmore IO so it is verry interesting

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 06 Dec 2016, 16:22
by DeNB3rt
nice :twisted:

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 06 Dec 2016, 18:47
by wutu
Martinus, amazing job. Please add Protocol 5. 8-)

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 08 Dec 2016, 13:29
by Martinus
timsson wrote:only a question - i know, nano has only 32k flash, but it is possible run a minimal config(only i/o pin) on nano?
The Arduino Nano with the ENC28J60 module may be able to work as a simple sensor device. But the bare network routines already take most of the flash program size. So it will be SEVERELY limited. I almost completely stripped the Arduino Easy code and it compiles within 30k now. But expect nothing compared to what we know from ESP Easy. I only managed to get a basic webform for config and a sensor connection to Domoticz, reading an analog port:
NanoEasy.png
NanoEasy.png (4.93 KiB) Viewed 72460 times

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 08 Dec 2016, 16:20
by timsson
ohh, it's sounds nonetheless good... i use mqtt with openhab - can i change from Domoticz to openhab by myself?
(maybe _C02.ino <-> _C05.ino?)
Can i test your files?

P.S. the megashield runs a long time without connection problems :D
I use only gpio2 + gpio3 and A1....
_20161208_161717~01~01.jpg
_20161208_161717~01~01.jpg (23.35 KiB) Viewed 72454 times

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 08 Dec 2016, 16:45
by Martinus
timsson wrote:... but many questions :)
- how can i add openhab/mqtt support????
- i2c scan lists a lot of devices - why?
- devices - if i add more then one - the name is changing?
and how can i add/remove i/o pins...

device.JPG
But i think, it will be great - THX!
R147 is available with MQTT support and I2C bug fixed. Still very experimental as RAM is very challenging on Arduino Mega. Only tested with MQTTfx tool as i do not have openHAB or any MQTT stuff running here...
http://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/index ... ak_preview

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 08 Dec 2016, 20:07
by timsson
sluggy -> but first impression: super :!:


little problems:
- if i plug out the ethernet connection, the broker is not reconnecting?
(but the gui/http connection goes up)
mqtt.JPG
mqtt.JPG (23.56 KiB) Viewed 72444 times
- a rule with publish don't work...
rules.JPG
rules.JPG (11.09 KiB) Viewed 72443 times

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 08 Dec 2016, 21:17
by anarro
Martinus wrote:
timsson wrote:... but many questions :)
- how can i add openhab/mqtt support????
- i2c scan lists a lot of devices - why?
- devices - if i add more then one - the name is changing?
and how can i add/remove i/o pins...

device.JPG
But i think, it will be great - THX!
R147 is available with MQTT support and I2C bug fixed. Still very experimental as RAM is very challenging on Arduino Mega. Only tested with MQTTfx tool as i do not have openHAB or any MQTT stuff running here...
http://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/index ... ak_preview
Hi Martinus, I downloaded this version and I'm going to try it, thanks

Antoni.

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 08 Dec 2016, 22:49
by ILoveIOT
Use the storage off the SD card not a option ? get more space to work with.

https://startingelectronics.org/tutoria ... eb-server/

In all mine Mega's with shield I got a 8GB sd card, should be enough storage :mrgreen:

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 10 Dec 2016, 16:18
by Martinus
timsson wrote:ohh, it's sounds nonetheless good... i use mqtt with openhab - can i change from Domoticz to openhab by myself?
(maybe _C02.ino <-> _C05.ino?)
Can i test your files?
Things are not so easy with the Nano, due to code size and RAM limitations. There are no plugins as that approach will not fit. We have to use #defines and make selections at compile time. I will start a new thread here for the Nano. Source will be available soon.

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 20 Dec 2016, 14:12
by frank
i have got my 2560 and networkshield. The software is uploaded with the rf link software. But when i put it in my network it doesnot get an ip adres the lights ar blinking but no respons. Is there a way to test it so i can find out what is wrong?

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 24 Dec 2016, 11:35
by mrlukasz
I loaded software everything ok but how I am supposed now with it to connect. He isn't allotting the IP address to me. unless somehow differently is an address standing? I am calling for help!!

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 25 Dec 2016, 12:12
by frank
ªU
PID:0
Version:0
INIT : Incorrect PID or version!
SD�S«¹Ñ�failed
ªU
PID:0
Version:0
INIT : Incorrect PID or version!

this is what i get when looking to a serial log

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 26 Dec 2016, 15:16
by jerrebxl
frank wrote:ªU
PID:0
Version:0
INIT : Incorrect PID or version!
I've got exactly the same.. I tried adding an sdcard; but that didn't help. Some info (or source code) would be helpful ;)
EDIT: I got it working after formatting the sdcard to FAT. Although it connected to my MQTT broker; I didn't succeed to create a push button call (e.g. at which topic does it send to?). It's not untuitive how to configure and how pins are mapped as they are called D1 etc. Most likely it's because I have no espeasy experience... so I think I will stick to my self written MQTT arduino sketches for now... hopefully this project will mature soon.

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 26 Dec 2016, 18:56
by mrlukasz
Somebody will help me how I am supposed to start it on arduino I am calling for help best step by step PLEASE HELP ME

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 31 Dec 2016, 14:42
by hamster
I was having issues but after adding a micro sd card to the Ethernet shield its now working.. looks good !

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 17 Jan 2017, 16:04
by mars-eyes
Hi

i'm French, i'm testing arduino mega and i have same problem :

Firmware : R147

SD Mount failed
ªU
PID:0
Version:0
INIT : Incorrect PID or version!

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 18 Jan 2017, 11:06
by frank
i solved it by putting in an sd card :D

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 21 Jan 2017, 15:09
by mrlukasz
when the final version will be ?

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 28 Jan 2017, 22:03
by frank
i can connect an DHT12 on the i2c bus en the scanner sees the sensor but i can't put it in devices. Can somebody help?

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 09 Mar 2017, 21:57
by Domoke
Hi,

I was looking for a EspEasy sollution with cable, now its finally there :D
But I cannot connect to an ip adres, Can someone please explain me how this works.
I tried cross cable, connect with static ip to the 192.168.4.1, DHCP, flashed both versions but I cannot get ip address. (flashing successful)
The Arduino Mega and the ethernet shield W5100 is working because I have a sketch with both and that is working fine.

So if someone has this working can you help me? Thank you.

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 10 Mar 2017, 18:18
by frank
Domoke wrote: 09 Mar 2017, 21:57 Hi,

I was looking for a EspEasy sollution with cable, now its finally there :D
But I cannot connect to an ip adres, Can someone please explain me how this works.
I tried cross cable, connect with static ip to the 192.168.4.1, DHCP, flashed both versions but I cannot get ip address. (flashing successful)
The Arduino Mega and the ethernet shield W5100 is working because I have a sketch with both and that is working fine.

So if someone has this working can you help me? Thank you.
Did you put an sd card in the network board. It will not work with out that

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 10 Mar 2017, 20:52
by Domoke
frank wrote: 10 Mar 2017, 18:18 Did you put an sd card in the network board. It will not work with out that
Hi Frank, thank you for the quick reply,

Yes I also tried with an micro sd card (I only had 16gb) I formated and partitioned it with FAT and 4gb. No luck.
Do I have to flash the firmware with the sd card already inside, did not tried that.

Is it a static ip adres or DHCP?

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 10 Mar 2017, 21:38
by Domoke
Tried with a different old microsd card 2gb and it works now, instant Ip received - DHCP.

Frank, wonderful, thank you.Now I can start trying to make some switch inputs.

One more small question, the Arduino Mega has a lot more ports, I can control 10 of them now with this great interface, I would like some more (total of 35, yes i know :D ),
just inputs to read the status of a switch and forward this to domoticz.
I tried and searched the internet to find a solution with cable, this is the best option so far for a user that has difficulties to get it all programmed. Is the current amount (10) a memory limit?

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 06 May 2017, 16:26
by annakin
Hi i have some problem.
I download on gidhub source and uploading on Mega 2560+W5100
ArduinoEasy start all good, but have 1 bug, then i try to add new Device in menu Devices i can`t.
I'm trying to select a switch for example, but when I select it, nothing happens.

UPD:
I found out that not on one page of ArduinoEasy you can not choose anything, it just is not saved.
But if I download the firmware from here: https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... ak_preview
And upload it into Mega 2560 then everything works.
Who can answer what the problem is.

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 09 May 2017, 21:27
by annakin
I checked all the code, but I can not find the error.

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 13 May 2017, 15:05
by frank
for me it is working fine
i hope some one will make the i2c work so i can connect sensors

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 14 May 2017, 20:32
by annakin
mb problem its on my libraries..
Can u make ZIP lib, ArduinoEasy and share ?
Or say what Version lib u use.
And what version IDE u use ?

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 18 May 2017, 19:59
by frank
i just used the original file with uploader

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 25 Jun 2017, 16:10
by frank
Martinus is that you are back on this forum en that is great. Is it possible that you do some development on this side project???

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 04 Aug 2017, 21:54
by LisaM
The ArduinoEasy source code is here: https://github.com/letscontrolit/ArduinoEasy

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 06 Aug 2017, 12:25
by LisaM
LisaM wrote: 05 Aug 2017, 13:16 I have the same problem with ArduinoEasy with fixed ethernet, encj2860 ethernet shield , no wifi. Ping works, webserver no response...
Running all night without devices without problems.
Adding one device: webserver gone within 5 minutes.
Ping still working.
It's almost as if the webserver is looping at the device and therefor never get's to answer the incoming call.
I used the image, lets see if the source are better...

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 07 Aug 2017, 18:35
by Martinus
Are you running the encj2860?
Doesn't this have a much larger memory footprint?

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 07 Aug 2017, 20:30
by frank
is it possible to ad i2c to the system for DHT12 sensors?

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 07 Aug 2017, 20:42
by Martinus
Afaik I2C should be active in this firmware.
But plugins should be copied from the main ESP repository and may need some patching...

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 07 Aug 2017, 20:56
by frank
it is active i can see the sensor when i check in the advanced tab. But i dont have the knowledge to patch it in

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 07 Aug 2017, 21:28
by LisaM
If i compile and upload the arduinoeasy source code mentioned earlier, compiled the image is only 115KB, it works. However changes to config or devices are ignored, submit brings back the original webform page, while changes to advanced are saved. Reboot works however.

If i use the image supplied, i can save config/devices/advanced changes (but rules cannot be saved!). However a reboot means the arduino is no longer responding to the browser calls, direct cmd calls don't work either. A cleaned (files removed) sd-card is needed to bring it back to life. If i make a device, it also fails (webserver no response). However direct cmd commands (gpio,3,1) does work (attached two leds to relay for both channels), when no device is created.

:shock:

Hw:
- Mega 2560 R3 Mega2560 REV3 (ATmega2560-16AU CH340G) Board
- Ethernet W5100 Network Expansion Board SD Card Expansion
- 5V 2-Channel Relay Module Shield (connected to D3/D4)

Info:

Unit: 8
Uptime: 0 days 21 hours 17 minutes
Load: 1% (LC=5479)
Free Mem: 2778
IP: 192.168.178.118
GW: 192.168.178.1
Build: 147
Devices: 4

(but no devices defined!)

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 08 Aug 2017, 23:38
by LisaM
I'm beginning to suspect the SD card write method, a reboot is working but a reset is screwing up ArduinoEasy. I think a reset is aborting the sd config files, so ArduinoEasy cannot startup due to corrupted config files... I think the config files are left open on a SD card, a reset is then not closing the file meaning it's corrupted...

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 09 Aug 2017, 08:20
by Martinus
Beware that this was experimental stage firmware, sort of PoC only. Main work was done to get it running at all and prevent instant crashes.
I've noticed that my local source was newer than the repository so i synced it to github. I'm currently unable to verify this firmware.

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 09 Aug 2017, 11:19
by frank
can you upload it here so that we can test it? i want to use this to control my heating system seperate in every room

Re: Arduino Easy 2560

Posted: 09 Aug 2017, 13:39
by LisaM
Martinus wrote: 09 Aug 2017, 08:20 Beware that this was experimental stage firmware, sort of PoC only. Main work was done to get it running at all and prevent instant crashes.
I've noticed that my local source was newer than the repository so i synced it to github. I'm currently unable to verify this firmware.
It was exactly what i was looking for: An ESPEasy that is using Ethernet instead of WiFi, it's supposed to be used as a gate control which doesn't have WiFi but it does have an ethernet cable. ;)