STM32 boards

Moderators: BertB, Voyager, grovkillen, Stuntteam, LisaM

Message
Author
LisaM
Normal user
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Apr 2017, 18:29

Re: STM32 boards

#51 Post by LisaM » 14 Apr 2018, 14:40

Solved the mystery, it was a single line of code! Changing this in the hal.py file from:

Code: Select all

#core._nic.active(1)
to

Code: Select all

core._nic.active(1)
Solved the problem. In hindsight it makes sense, the nic was there, even with an ip-address, but not active so it couldn't receive data... :oops:
Uploaded new version.

Cheers,

Lisa

AndrewJ
Normal user
Posts: 229
Joined: 14 Feb 2017, 12:38

Re: STM32 boards

#52 Post by AndrewJ » 14 Apr 2018, 16:07

LisaM wrote:
14 Apr 2018, 14:40
Solved the mystery, it was a single line of code! Changing this in the hal.py file from:

Code: Select all

#core._nic.active(1)
to

Code: Select all

core._nic.active(1)
Solved the problem. In hindsight it makes sense, the nic was there, even with an ip-address, but not active so it couldn't receive data... :oops:
Uploaded new version.

Cheers,

Lisa
Fantastic! Good spot!! :D

JR01
Normal user
Posts: 237
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 21:04
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: STM32 boards. How to determine which boards will work

#53 Post by JR01 » 19 May 2018, 14:54

Difficult to see in this forum topic which board specs will and won’t work. Ie. memory required for code, etc.

Will this board work?

STM32 ARM Mini System - 72Mhz
https://www.robotics.org.za/6970622930693

And the pycom lopy?
https://www.robotics.org.za/AF3339
-----------
IOTPLAY. Tinkerer, my projects are @ http://GitHub.com/IoTPlay . Using RPi, Node-Red, ESP8266 to prove Industry 4.0 concepts.

Drum
Normal user
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 11:56

Re: STM32 boards. How to determine which boards will work

#54 Post by Drum » 21 May 2018, 10:48

JR01 wrote:
19 May 2018, 14:54
Difficult to see in this forum topic which board specs will and won’t work. Ie. memory required for code, etc.

Will this board work?

STM32 ARM Mini System - 72Mhz
https://www.robotics.org.za/6970622930693

And the pycom lopy?
https://www.robotics.org.za/AF3339
I totally forgot the Lopy was ESP32. Since I have a couple of those, I will have to plug one in and see if it works..... ;)

Drum
Normal user
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 11:56

Re: STM32 boards

#55 Post by Drum » 21 May 2018, 17:55

I gave the LoPy a try, the 2048 version loads and runs. I need to play with it more, but it appears to have issue keeping the AP information but that could be me not doing something correctly.. There were some other errors, something about MAC address not set, but that could be the LoPy comm module. Hard to say.

I was able to access several of the menus as well..

JR01
Normal user
Posts: 237
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 21:04
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: STM32 boards

#56 Post by JR01 » 21 May 2018, 18:09

Thank you drum, I will wait until someone get there t working.

And the other STM32 I showed? Does it have enough memory?

STM32 ARM Mini System - 72Mhz
https://www.robotics.org.za/6970622930693
-----------
IOTPLAY. Tinkerer, my projects are @ http://GitHub.com/IoTPlay . Using RPi, Node-Red, ESP8266 to prove Industry 4.0 concepts.

Drum
Normal user
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 11:56

Re: STM32 boards

#57 Post by Drum » 21 May 2018, 19:24

No Idea. I only have 1 and I have not been able to get it to work yet. It may work in mine, I just have not spent a lot of time on it.

You have to remember uPyEasy is still in beta and is not perfect on anything yet. Los of potential but it's not there yet.

JR01
Normal user
Posts: 237
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 21:04
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: STM32 boards

#58 Post by JR01 » 22 May 2018, 06:14

Thank you!
-----------
IOTPLAY. Tinkerer, my projects are @ http://GitHub.com/IoTPlay . Using RPi, Node-Red, ESP8266 to prove Industry 4.0 concepts.

LisaM
Normal user
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Apr 2017, 18:29

Re: STM32 boards. How to determine which boards will work

#59 Post by LisaM » 01 Jun 2018, 18:34

JR01 wrote:
19 May 2018, 14:54
Difficult to see in this forum topic which board specs will and won’t work. Ie. memory required for code, etc.

Will this board work?

STM32 ARM Mini System - 72Mhz
https://www.robotics.org.za/6970622930693

And the pycom lopy?
https://www.robotics.org.za/AF3339
The mini doesn work, you'll need at least 1MB of flash memory! Also at least 196K of ram.

The pycom is using an ESP32 and hsould work, although untested since i don't have it.

LisaM
Normal user
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Apr 2017, 18:29

Re: STM32 boards

#60 Post by LisaM » 01 Jun 2018, 18:44

Drum wrote:
21 May 2018, 17:55
I gave the LoPy a try, the 2048 version loads and runs. I need to play with it more, but it appears to have issue keeping the AP information but that could be me not doing something correctly.. There were some other errors, something about MAC address not set, but that could be the LoPy comm module. Hard to say.

I was able to access several of the menus as well..
Can you post the errors? i'm interested in the error.
I'm going to order the pycom GPy since it supports nb-iot.

Drum
Normal user
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 11:56

Re: STM32 boards

#61 Post by Drum » 03 Jun 2018, 23:08

I (2715) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE
I (2725) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE

This is all I get consistently today.

LisaM
Normal user
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Apr 2017, 18:29

Re: STM32 boards

#62 Post by LisaM » 08 Jul 2018, 16:38

Drum wrote:
03 Jun 2018, 23:08
I (2715) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE
I (2725) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE

This is all I get consistently today.
Is this an ESP32 or a STM32F4?
It looks like this is a brown-out, meaning your power supply isn't strong enough.
Can i have the entire log?

Cheers,

Lisa

Drum
Normal user
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 11:56

Re: STM32 boards

#63 Post by Drum » 11 Jul 2018, 14:55

Well it is a ESP32 based LoPy. Power is coming from the computer, but that could be part of the problem. I will see if I can figure out how fix that and get a copy of the log file.

I just got a couple of ESP32 Nano boards I will try it on too..

Drum
Normal user
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 11:56

Re: STM32 boards

#64 Post by Drum » 11 Jul 2018, 17:10

Here is the log after updating to the latest version
The LoPy works much better with an antenna attached ;)


rst:0x10 (RTCWDT_RTC_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DIO, clock div:2
load:0x3fff0018,len:4
load:0x3fff001c,len:4464
ho 0 tail 12 room 4
load:0x40078000,len:0
load:0x40078000,len:11816
entry 0x4007a9fc
I (290) cpu_start: Pro cpu up.
I (290) cpu_start: Single core mode
I (290) heap_init: Initializing. RAM available for dynamic allocation:
I (294) heap_init: At 3FFAE6E0 len 00001920 (6 KiB): DRAM
I (300) heap_init: At 3FFC5120 len 0001AEE0 (107 KiB): DRAM
I (306) heap_init: At 3FFE0440 len 00003BC0 (14 KiB): D/IRAM
I (312) heap_init: At 3FFE4350 len 0001BCB0 (111 KiB): D/IRAM
I (319) heap_init: At 4008E0E8 len 00011F18 (71 KiB): IRAM
I (325) cpu_start: Pro cpu start user code
I (44) cpu_start: Starting scheduler on PRO CPU.
I (113) modsocket: Initializing
I (3053) wifi: wifi firmware version: c202b34
I (3053) wifi: config NVS flash: enabled
I (3053) wifi: config nano formating: disabled
I (3063) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE
I (3073) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE
I (3093) wifi: Init dynamic tx buffer num: 32
I (3093) wifi: Init data frame dynamic rx buffer num: 64
I (3093) wifi: Init management frame dynamic rx buffer num: 64
I (3103) wifi: wifi driver task: 3ffd1194, prio:23, stack:4096
I (3103) wifi: Init static rx buffer num: 10
I (3113) wifi: Init dynamic rx buffer num: 0
I (3113) wifi: wifi power manager task: 0x3ffd5de4 prio: 21 stack: 2560
I (3183) phy: phy_version: 383.0, 79a622c, Jan 30 2018, 15:38:06, 0, 0
I (3183) wifi: mode : null
I (3193) wifi: mode : sta (24:0a:c4:00:90:72)
I (3193) wifi: STA_START
I (3313) wifi: n:1 0, o:1 0, ap:255 255, sta:1 0, prof:1
I (3873) wifi: state: init -> auth (b0)
I (3873) wifi: state: auth -> assoc (0)
I (3883) wifi: state: assoc -> run (10)
I (3893) wifi: connected with devolo, channel 1
I (3893) network: event 4
I (5063) event: sta ip: 192.168.1.114, mask: 255.255.255.0, gw: 192.168.1.1
I (5063) network: GOT_IP
I (6883) wifi: pm start, type:0

2018-07-11 16:03:54 [info] uPyEasy-uPyEasy: Main: Async loop, log level: 2
2018-07-11 16:03:54 [info] uPyEasy-uPyEasy: Main: uPyEasy running in Station mode

Drum
Normal user
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 11:56

Re: STM32 boards

#65 Post by Drum » 11 Jul 2018, 17:11

I am still getting
I (3063) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE
I (3073) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUS

How can I get the log without being connected to the computer?

Thanks

LisaM
Normal user
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Apr 2017, 18:29

Re: STM32 boards

#66 Post by LisaM » 11 Jul 2018, 18:45

Drum wrote:
11 Jul 2018, 17:11
I am still getting
I (3063) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE
I (3073) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUS

How can I get the log without being connected to the computer?

Thanks
But, you do get an ip-address:
I (5063) event: sta ip: 192.168.1.114, mask: 255.255.255.0, gw: 192.168.1.1
I
You should be able to connect to it...

Drum
Normal user
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 11:56

Re: STM32 boards

#67 Post by Drum » 11 Jul 2018, 19:56

Yes, and I have it running with syslog set to debug, but it is not what I see on "Screen".
Is it possible the
I (3063) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE
I (3073) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE
is related to the LoRa radio and not the esp32? Or perhaps LoRa and Bluetooth?

New version is much faster on this.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest