use esp easy to open/close garage door with a relay ?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

alen
Normal user

use esp easy to open/close garage door with a relay ?

#1 Post by alen » 14 Jun 2016, 11:57

Hi all,

I'm still a rookie in the esp8266 world. I've flashed ESOeasy on my nodemcu chip.
What I would like to next is to use it to open/close my garage door. So my plan was to connect a relay to the nodemcu and use the relay to send an impulse to the garage door unit
But given the GPIO's output will be 3.3V which relay could I use? Any recommendations?

Many thanks
Alen

JR01
Normal user

Re: use esp easy to open/close garage door with a relay ?

#2 Post by JR01 » 14 Jun 2016, 12:25

A relay like this http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-2-4-8-Channel ... 97VcUAx-Yw will switch from 3.3v to 230v. Or, if you find 3.3v stability issues, use a 3.3v to 5v logic level converter like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/10PCS-IIC-I2C-L ... SwnH1WZ8eR, point the GPIO output to the 3.3v side of the logic converter "LV", and use the 5v "HV" side of the converter, and drive the relay with that. Remember wie up on both side of the logic converter other required wiring, which is GND bot side, and 3.3V vs 5V on other.
-----------
IOTPLAY. Tinkerer, my projects are @ http://GitHub.com/IoTPlay, and blog https://iotplay.org. Using RPi, Node-Red, ESP8266 to prove Industry 4.0 concepts.

CoolWombat
Normal user

#3 Post by CoolWombat » 14 Jun 2016, 13:31

Hi Alen