Interference problem with multiple devices

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Pichon
New user

Interference problem with multiple devices

#1 Post by Pichon » 29 Oct 2016, 08:23

Hi, I'm new to ESP Easy. I am using R120 with 2 NodeMCU''s and Home Assistant, using the OpenHAB MQTT protocol.

I have two NodeMCU's, each with a DS18B20 temperature sensor and an LED. Each has a unique system name (Node1 and Node2), so the MQTT topics are unique. When Node1 is plugged in, the switch in my automation controller to turn the LED on and off works fine. When Node2 is plugged in, it works fine. When both are plugged in at the same time, the switches won't switch most of the time and the temperature isn't coming through very reliably. It seems like they interfere with each other even though they are setup to use different topics.

Any ideas what may be causing this?

Thanks!

Ton_vN
Normal user

Re: Interference problem with multiple devices

#2 Post by Ton_vN » 29 Oct 2016, 10:31

;-) Just a guess, to be checked:
for the temperatures and for the switches coming from the ESPs, do you really apply completely separate names/indexes/topics in HomeAssistent?
If there is any overlap, you can expect collisions.

papperone
Normal user

#3 Post by papperone » 29 Oct 2016, 13:41

Did you assign different device number to each node?
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

Pichon
New user

#4 Post by Pichon » 29 Oct 2016, 17:55

Ton_vN wrote:;-) Just a guess, to be checked:
for the temperatures and for the switches coming from the ESPs, do you really apply completely separate names/indexes/topics in HomeAssistent?
If there is any overlap, you can expect collisions.