Config Parameter lost after reboot

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
foxejoe
Normal user
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Oct 2017, 10:01

Config Parameter lost after reboot

#1 Post by foxejoe » 15 Oct 2017, 10:06

HI,
I am starting using ESP Easy. As far as now, I have 4 Nodes working.
Today I have a strange problem:
If I edit the devices in the web mask and they are working but after reboot all the changes are lost and the previous data are back. (i.e. I change che GPIO of a device)
I use a wemos d1 mini .... and firmware version v2.0.0-dev12
Thanks for your help

User avatar
vader
Normal user
Posts: 241
Joined: 21 Mar 2017, 17:35

Re: Config Parameter lost after reboot

#2 Post by vader » 15 Oct 2017, 17:40

We need more infos to help. E.g. config of the device, rules, used controller....

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 497
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Config Parameter lost after reboot

#3 Post by papperone » 15 Oct 2017, 20:14

ESPEasy is not build to store device valure to restore previous status on reboot.
It's a feature that coudl come with future release but not in the current one.

e.g. if you have a GPIO=HIGH and you reboot that GPIO will be set to whatever is in the hardware page...
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

User avatar
vader
Normal user
Posts: 241
Joined: 21 Mar 2017, 17:35

Re: Config Parameter lost after reboot

#4 Post by vader » 15 Oct 2017, 20:23

papperone wrote:
15 Oct 2017, 20:14
ESPEasy is not build to store device valure to restore previous status on reboot.
It's a feature that coudl come with future release but not in the current one.

e.g. if you have a GPIO=HIGH and you reboot that GPIO will be set to whatever is in the hardware page...
But he can realize this with a retained MQTT message. I have it running this way... ;)

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 497
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Config Parameter lost after reboot

#5 Post by papperone » 15 Oct 2017, 20:50

vader wrote:
15 Oct 2017, 20:23
papperone wrote:
15 Oct 2017, 20:14
ESPEasy is not build to store device valure to restore previous status on reboot.
It's a feature that coudl come with future release but not in the current one.

e.g. if you have a GPIO=HIGH and you reboot that GPIO will be set to whatever is in the hardware page...
But he can realize this with a retained MQTT message. I have it running this way... ;)
Me too, but it's not a "out-of-the-box" function and need both a working MQTT broker and some specific setting/rules to make it work...
I think this is a nice features to be implemented (and I think it was discussed in the Git or somewhere else) but as it shoudl be part of the ESPEasy core it's been targeted for a future release.
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

Shardan
Normal user
Posts: 1114
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 23:27
Location: Bielefeld / Germany

Re: Config Parameter lost after reboot

#6 Post by Shardan » 15 Oct 2017, 21:10

As far as i see in his post he edits devices in the web mask and these changes are not stored.

There might be a difference between older and never versions of ESPEasy.
The older versions R1xx stored changes if the "Close" button was clicked.
I've noticed that the ESPEasy-2.0.0 does not store values if "Close" is clicked,
i have to click "Submit" before.
Regards
Shardan

User avatar
vader
Normal user
Posts: 241
Joined: 21 Mar 2017, 17:35

Re: Config Parameter lost after reboot

#7 Post by vader » 15 Oct 2017, 21:36

Can not happen to me..... :mrgreen:
Attachments
shot.jpg
shot.jpg (9.27 KiB) Viewed 2016 times

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3219
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Config Parameter lost after reboot

#8 Post by grovkillen » 15 Oct 2017, 22:23

Might be a max flash write exceeded?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

ruchitdutt
Normal user
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Oct 2017, 22:45

Re: Config Parameter lost after reboot

#9 Post by ruchitdutt » 16 Oct 2017, 06:26

Check whether your rx and tx pins are connected together or with any other board...if they are then disconnect them....it should not be a problem afterwards

User avatar
vader
Normal user
Posts: 241
Joined: 21 Mar 2017, 17:35

Re: Config Parameter lost after reboot

#10 Post by vader » 16 Oct 2017, 10:07

grovkillen wrote:
15 Oct 2017, 22:23
Might be a max flash write exceeded?
I don't understand what you all make for a stress with that? From the Winbond data sheet for a W25Qxx:

....
– Up to 100,000 erase/write cycles
– 20-year data retention

This chips are build-in in a lot of TVs for storing each data. Meaning, each change of the channel or the volume is stored there. And this is very often.... ;)

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3219
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Config Parameter lost after reboot

#11 Post by grovkillen » 16 Oct 2017, 10:22

I know 8-) But I mean the software limit in the ESP Easy FW. Many times when tinkering with a new unit the 24h limit is exceeded, new users will have a hard time understanding this. :roll:
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Patou and 3 guests