Re-run initial WiFi setup

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
dampa
Normal user
Posts: 39
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Re-run initial WiFi setup

#1 Post by dampa » 21 Mar 2019, 01:34

Is it possible to re-run the initial WiFi setup? I've been searching and can't find anything on it. Here's my idea:

I want to setup a couple devices with a bunch of sensors and rules and then give them to a some friends. The problem is they each have a different SSID/passphrase and I'd like to make the devies as generic as possible. My idea is that when one of the devices is plugged in and can't connect to my SSID, the initial WiFi wizard would run so it could be set to run on at the new location.

Could you having a rule run at boot which would wait 20 seconds and if it wasn't connected, blankout the SSID and passphrase and reboot do the trick? (just thought of this).

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!
Paul

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3261
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Re-run initial WiFi setup

#2 Post by grovkillen » 21 Mar 2019, 05:33

Yes using rules it should be possible.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

romainperea
Normal user
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 15:15

Re: Re-run initial WiFi setup

#3 Post by romainperea » 16 Aug 2019, 20:46

is there a special command to invoke to get the setup again ?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3261
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Re-run initial WiFi setup

#4 Post by grovkillen » 16 Aug 2019, 22:29

If the unit doesn't have a connection you could blank the password and SSID and do a save and then reboot.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1603
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Re-run initial WiFi setup

#5 Post by TD-er » 17 Aug 2019, 21:29

If the unit has WiFi connection, you can also access the /setup page to run the WiFi setup.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests