Page 1 of 1

Platformio questions

Posted: 22 May 2019, 13:16
by cherowley
Hi!

I'm trying to adjust to using platformio on vscode.

When opening the src directory its complaining that c/c++ intellisense service does not support ino files.

I can install the arduino extension to get rid of that message but then it complains that there's conflicts between it and the c/c++ extensions ?

Also, is there anyway to configure it to NOT keep rebuilding all the library files each build and just resue the last built .o files? (like visual studio) ?

Also, is there a way to configure a default build task and a default build/upload task so able to use shortcuts?

Cheers o platformio / vscode ide gurus!

Re: Platformio questions

Posted: 03 Jun 2019, 09:21
by dmenne
I have the same problem. Visual Studio Code with platformio, latest update. Building and flashing own programs (cpp-based) is working fine. No other Arduino plugin installed.


Anybody with the same problem?

Re: Platformio questions

Posted: 01 Aug 2019, 10:39
by Tim25N
Hello!
I have the same problem.
It's necessary for my project https://scamfighter.net/review/edubirdie.com

Re: Platformio questions

Posted: 01 Aug 2019, 12:33
by JR01
I see all are using VS Code.

Too heavy for me, will all wok, with platformio on Atom?

Re: Platformio questions

Posted: 03 Aug 2019, 01:30
by TD-er
Yes it does all work in Atom.
I've been using Atom upto about a month ago.

I switched to VS code because I was a bit fed up with Atom needing to restart-crash-restart for a lot of times when I first started it.
After N times it would work fine.
Also the "go to implementation" and "go to declaration" of VS code are really great.

I have also this pop-up stating an incompatibility in my screen. I have not had time yet to look into it.
It looks like they want to use some linter which requires .cpp and .h files instead of .ino.

Oh and there is indeed an option to define your default project.
Tried it once and was really fed up when that very labour intensive created file was deleted and had to start over.
I now use just the PIO menu on the left and select the build in the tree of projects defined in the platformio.ini file.

N.B. I also created a "custom" build which uses a pre_extra_script.py.
Please have a look at that one and get some very cool ideas on how to define your own build :)
It is a bit of a work in progress on my part, so it may change in the future.

Re: Platformio questions

Posted: 03 Aug 2019, 06:58
by JR01
I finally installed vscode, as when I did a new install of pllatformio in Atom, it asked to rather use vscode 8-(. Then when I opened the .ino in vscode, it said I must convert to cpp, as it cannot do ino. Have not put in effort to understand how yet....

Re: Platformio questions

Posted: 03 Aug 2019, 07:26
by JR01
N.B. I also created a "custom" build which uses a pre_extra_script.py.
Please have a look at that one and get some very cool ideas on how to define your own build :)
Where do I find it?

Re: Platformio questions

Posted: 03 Aug 2019, 10:42
by micropet
Hello,

I also switched to VS Vode because Atom hung with the message "Loading dependencies".

After a bit of work on the new interface, I am very satisfied.

The software does what it should.

Re: Platformio questions

Posted: 03 Aug 2019, 13:17
by TD-er
JR01 wrote: 03 Aug 2019, 06:58 I finally installed vscode, as when I did a new install of pllatformio in Atom, it asked to rather use vscode 8-(. Then when I opened the .ino in vscode, it said I must convert to cpp, as it cannot do ino. Have not put in effort to understand how yet....
Have you installed the platformio extension?
JR01 wrote: 03 Aug 2019, 07:26
N.B. I also created a "custom" build which uses a pre_extra_script.py.
Please have a look at that one and get some very cool ideas on how to define your own build :)
Where do I find it?
In the ESPeasy repo.
It must be in the same directory as the platformio.ini file.
Just clone the Github repo and fetch it to your computer.
Then open the platformio project (platformio extension must be installed in VCcode) via the platformio menu page.
You should select the directory level where platformio.ini file is located.

Re: Platformio questions

Posted: 06 Aug 2019, 22:37
by JR01
Thank you - trying it.