Setting WiFi channel

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
dynamicdave
Normal user
Posts: 230
Joined: 30 Jan 2017, 20:25
Location: Hampshire, UK

Setting WiFi channel

#1 Post by dynamicdave » 25 Jun 2019, 18:14

Is there a release of ESP Easy that allows the user to set a channel for the WiFi connection ??

I'm trying to connect a WeMos to a 'guest network' at a school - the problem is there are quite a few 'guest networks' with varying signal strength and the Wemos is finding the first one (which is not the strongest signal).

Regards, David.

User avatar
ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 777
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Setting WiFi channel

#2 Post by ThomasB » 25 Jun 2019, 21:08

Presently it doesn't seem possible to do that. But a workaround is to power cycle (cold reboot) the ESP device so it can perform a new SSID scan. Repeat these cold reboots (if necessary) until your preferred connection is found.

BTW, a warm reboot should retain the last connection's SSID. So no worries once you've found the one you like.

The explanation is found here under "Not using the AP with best signal" section: https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... est_signal

- Thomas

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests