Generic - Dummy Device only allows 1 variable in newest releases

Moderators: grovkillen, TD-er, Stuntteam

Post Reply
Message
Author
dampa
Normal user
Posts: 80
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Generic - Dummy Device only allows 1 variable in newest releases

#1 Post by dampa » 06 Mar 2020, 13:17

I have a device with a Generic - Dummy Device where I had setup 4 variables. I upgraded to ESP_Easy_mega-20200222_normal_ESP8266_4M1M.bin and then went in and changed the name of one of my four variables.

As soon as I hit save, three of the variables disappear from the values list!


Yikes!
Attachments
Screen Shot 1.png
Screen Shot 1.png (62.03 KiB) Viewed 3571 times
Screen Shot 2.png
Screen Shot 2.png (16.27 KiB) Viewed 3571 times
Screen Shot 3.png
Screen Shot 3.png (65.86 KiB) Viewed 3572 times
Last edited by dampa on 06 Mar 2020, 13:25, edited 2 times in total.

Wiki
Normal user
Posts: 228
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 17:55

Re: Generic - Dummy Device only allows 1 variable in newest releases

#2 Post by Wiki » 06 Mar 2020, 13:21

I can see that the dummy.device is set to "SINGLE". If you change it to "QUAD" the missing three values should appear again.

dampa
Normal user
Posts: 80
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Re: Generic - Dummy Device only allows 1 variable in newest releases

#3 Post by dampa » 06 Mar 2020, 13:44

Ahh yes it did, but then the bug must be that the config.dat I imported did not set it to QUAD.

On this device I:
1) saved the settings
2) flashed it to blank.bin
3) flashed it to mega-20020303 and setup wifi to my network/reboot
4) imported the config.dat file
at this point all 4 variables are there but the Output Data Type = 'Single'

If I change it to QUAD it works fine, so either the save of the config.dat file did not output the 'Output Data Type' or the import is ignoring it. I wonder if the naming changed between the prior release (config_node42_U42_Build20104_.dat) and the current releases.

dampa
Normal user
Posts: 80
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Re: Generic - Dummy Device only allows 1 variable in newest releases

#4 Post by dampa » 06 Mar 2020, 13:57

The good news is that saving the config.dat and reloading it in the current release (config_node42_U42_Build20104_202008.dat) works correctly.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2634
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Generic - Dummy Device only allows 1 variable in newest releases

#5 Post by TD-er » 06 Mar 2020, 17:41

The problem is that all instances of the same plugin will have their output type changed.
So if you have one instance of the plugin set to QUAD and once to SINGLE, then you may run into issues.
The last one in the task list will determine the output type at boot.

This is a known issue.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests