which MQTT service to choose in 2020?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

hereiam991
Normal user

which MQTT service to choose in 2020?

#1 Post by hereiam991 » 24 Oct 2020, 15:46

Hello People,
i am new to home automation and want to eavluate on what i want to settle in the future.

i got a nodemcu with espeasy running, i do like it a lot so far.
liking especially how easy it it to deal with data from the arduino serial by using a dummy device, i think comparable projets dont offer this function.

my "problem" is to decide for a MQTT broker or any other form of server to display my data.

in the end i want to display and visualize sensor data, usual stuff like temp humidity etc.
if there would be the possibility to control my gosund sp111 smart plugs too that would be brilliant, but main focus is simple setup and no hardware hassle.

could setup a raspi for this server purpose, but in best case a easy to use online service would do the trick for me.
it seems adafruit.io would be usable for me.
how is the integration status? do you guys use adafruit.io and whats your opinion?

edit: i found this nice little mini dashboard, brilliant idea.
i just miss to be able to log sensor data and displa ythemin a graph.

TD-er
Core team member

Re: which MQTT service to choose in 2020?

#2 Post by TD-er » 24 Oct 2020, 20:22

Some routers and/or access points also have packages that can be installed as plugin.
If I'm not mistaken, OpenWRT also has a MQTT plugin.

It can also be installed on most NAS'es as package. (e.g. Synology)
So maybe you already have one or more of those options?

I'm not a big fan of running online services on which your automation tools are going to depend.
Availability may be out of your hands and also it adds quite a lot of variables to the solution.
For example the timeout must be set quite a bit higher. Local services often operate just fine with 100 msec timeout, while for online services just the ping time may be a multiple of that.