Absolute rookie: How can I use several sensors for Wemos D1?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

OreganoHauch
New user

Absolute rookie: How can I use several sensors for Wemos D1?

#1 Post by OreganoHauch » 01 Dec 2021, 17:17

Hello,

first I would like to ask you to not speak in short keywords only, because I am very new to the field of sensors, ESP, Raspberry Pi, electronics, programming......

What do I want?
I want to install an LED strip along the stairs. When a person goes up, the lights should "follow" the person upstairs, and vice versa. This could be done by 2 IR sensors at the top and bottom. When I have achieved this, I want to experiment with vibration sensors, that are below each step (or each 3rd...) of the stairs. This way, the person would truly be followed based on their movement/speed.

What have I done already?
I have bought a Raspberry Pi, since I only know Python and read how versatile Raspberry Pis are (and maybe I will use it in the future for other, more computation-expensive, applications). I know, that there are cheaper and less power-consuming devices. I also bought two IP67 5m LED strips with SK6812 protocol and 32 LEDs/m. I bought everything regarding the power supply for the LEDs , and a device for converting the 3.3V GPIO pin signal from the Raspberry Pi to the 5V of the LED strip. Including cables and breadboard. (I want to build it with a breadboard first.)

What question do I have for you to complete my project?