ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
woody4165
Normal user
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Mar 2016, 17:36

ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#1 Post by woody4165 » 21 Apr 2016, 23:32

Hi

I just bougtht a couple of ESP-12F and tried flashing with EspEasy.

I have connected this way:
GND -- 0V
00 -- 0V
15 -- 0V
RX -- TX on serial
TX -- RX on serial
VCC -- 3V3
CHPD -- 3V3

And reset with RST to 0V

Then flashed using EspEasy flashing tool using 4096 as size and r78

Flashing went ok.

Then connected this way:
GND -- 0V
15 -- 0V
RX -- TX (Tried connecting and without connecting)
VCC -- 3V3
CHPD -- 3V3

but I don't see the AP that EspEasy should create.

I've tried several times, but no change.

What can I check?

Thanks

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#2 Post by tozett » 22 Apr 2016, 13:47

connect via serial, open up serial monitor (.ie. with arduini-ide), type: settings
this must show some information about your ESP...

(furthermore: update to release 103...)

woody4165
Normal user
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Mar 2016, 17:36

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#3 Post by woody4165 » 22 Apr 2016, 14:18

tozett wrote:connect via serial, open up serial monitor (.ie. with arduini-ide), type: settings
this must show some information about your ESP...

(furthermore: update to release 103...)
thanks.

release r103?
where can I find it?
on the wiki is on r78...

PS: I saw now on GitHub, but I don't find the .bin file

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#4 Post by tozett » 22 Apr 2016, 14:59

your are used to the arduino-ide? than you can compile/upload it.
its in the wiki.

there is not always a .bin to every release/esp-tye.

woody4165
Normal user
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Mar 2016, 17:36

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#5 Post by woody4165 » 22 Apr 2016, 15:29

I'm not very used to, but I will try.
I'm getting an error . It does not find base64.h
I've downloaded arduino-base64 from adamvr from GitHub and I put the entire folder in Arduino/Libraries, but still getting error, where it should be placed?

Thanks

woody4165
Normal user
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Mar 2016, 17:36

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#6 Post by woody4165 » 22 Apr 2016, 16:04

Which board should I choose on Arduino IDE, since there is ESP-12E NodeCMU and ESP-12E ESPino, but no ESP-12F ?

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#7 Post by tozett » 22 Apr 2016, 16:06


tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#8 Post by tozett » 22 Apr 2016, 16:13

I Google and found for Board type:

Pins and footprint are fully Compatible with ESP-12E and our relevant breakout board.


http://www.electrodragon.com/product/es ... ifi-board/

woody4165
Normal user
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Mar 2016, 17:36

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#9 Post by woody4165 » 22 Apr 2016, 16:30

Ok, i've uploaded the r103 via arduino ide.
If I connect like for flashing, the serial monotr tells me that COM port is ok, if I go with this
GND -- 0V
15 -- 0V
RX -- TX (Tried connecting and without connecting)
VCC -- 3V3
CHPD -- 3V3

COM port on Serial monitor does not work.

With all the setting like flashing
GND -- 0V
00 -- 0V
15 -- 0V
RX -- TX on serial
TX -- RX on serial
VCC -- 3V3
CHPD -- 3V3

I can open serial monitor and if I write settings nothing appear, if I connect RST to GND I can see only strange char, but nothing else...

Any suggestion?

woody4165
Normal user
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Mar 2016, 17:36

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#10 Post by woody4165 » 22 Apr 2016, 16:42

I have also a Wemos D1 and uploaded ESPEasy very fast, no issue.
If I open the serial monitor with the Wemos I can see the boot strings, if I do with ESP-12F, no readable info.

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#11 Post by tozett » 22 Apr 2016, 17:08

play with the serial-speed?
do you did a cold reboot?

i had also trouble with "pure" esp-modules,
wemos is more "easy"..

i had good luck with "erase" on the serial monitor, and the set up the module ...

woody4165
Normal user
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Mar 2016, 17:36

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#12 Post by woody4165 » 22 Apr 2016, 17:29

I played with baud and found at 74880 a clear text:
"ets Jan 8 2013, rst cause: 2, boot mode:(1,7)"

but more frequently:
"ets Jan 8 2013, rst cause: 2, boot mode:(1,0)"

and that's all

But I don't see any wifi ap.... :roll:

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#13 Post by tozett » 22 Apr 2016, 19:11

we had the thing with the boot-cause in this forum here:

there are some explanations...

http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewtopic.p ... mode#p4413

may you pull off all wires, exept the serial.
see if that causes the reset/reboot...

another option:
try to send "erase" over the serial...
flash onetime the nodemcu firmware with the nodemcu-tool (to erase the full module),
than flash the espeasy again

woody4165
Normal user
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Mar 2016, 17:36

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#14 Post by woody4165 » 22 Apr 2016, 19:19

Sorry to ask you, but what do you mean by remove all wires except serial, which should I leave?
I'm connected to a Windows PC via USB- 2-Serial with four wires, 3.3v, GND, TX and RX, and the ESP-12F is connected via a breadboard with all the wires.

I will try the nodecmu way

woody4165
Normal user
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Mar 2016, 17:36

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#15 Post by woody4165 » 22 Apr 2016, 19:44

Flashed nodemcu, non on termite with this wires
GND -- 0V
RX -- TX on serial
TX -- RX on serial
VCC -- 3V3
CHPD -- 3V3

rst cause:2, boot mode(7,6)
waiting for host

but no wifi

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#16 Post by tozett » 23 Apr 2016, 10:15

reset causes:
0:
1: normal boot
2: reset pin
3: software reset
4: watchdog reset
you have 2: resetpin boot-cause: check the reset pin wiring
check the wiki entry for stability with capacitors...

boot mode...i look this up..

User avatar
costo
Normal user
Posts: 500
Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 15:03
Location: NL, zw-NB

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#17 Post by costo » 23 Apr 2016, 12:09

woody4165 wrote: I'm connected to a Windows PC via USB- 2-Serial with four wires, 3.3v, GND, TX and RX, and the ESP-12F is connected via a breadboard with all the wires.

I will try the nodecmu way
You power the ESP module via the 3.3V of the USB/serial ?
If you do that you will experience the troubles you are describing.
Use a real 3.3 volt power source that can deliver about 500 mA and use a few decoupling capacitors on your breadboard.

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: ESP-12F does not show WiFi AP

#18 Post by tozett » 23 Apr 2016, 16:40

there is valuable information in the wiki

http://www.esp8266.nu/index.php/Power

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Bing [Bot] and 106 guests