Page 1 of 2

ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 07 Mar 2017, 12:42
by happyhammers
I have previously had ESP8266-01 V1 and V2 and had no problems with these. I ordered another batch off V2 and have been supplied V3. They have AT version 1.3.0.0 and SDK version 2.0.0. I've flashed ESPEASY firmware version 120 on two devices and now get no messages in putty or see a new network appear. Using ESP Flashtool V2.3 have restored to orginal software as above but still no response in putty, can not type in AT commands. No errors can be seen during flashing or after. I then went through same process with an old V2 and all appears to be normal, can flash ESPEASY 120 then back to SDK version 2.0.0 so i'm sure flashing hardware is ok. I've taken another new V3 tried to flash to SDK version 1.5.4 and again have no response in putty. Has anyone any ideas what i'm doing wrong or is it something about V3 that is different ? Thanks in advance.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 21 Mar 2017, 00:56
by MrMartel
You are not alone, I have the same issue with V3. Was working fine for me with V2 , ordered some more esp 8266, I got V3 , and I just can't program them.
After a few hours of frustration, trial and error, I found a work around that worked for my 5 new V3 devices. First , the flash tool on the wiki page doesn't seems to work for V3 , don't know why. Because I have made many unsuccessful attempts , I decided to erase the chip by pushing a blank file. You can get the instruction here on this link http://www.pratikpanda.com/completely-f ... sh-memory/
I have used Node Mcu esp 8266 flasher tool to program the device.
https://github.com/nodemcu/nodemcu-flasher

Once the chip was erased I used the same flash tool with the r120 bin file from the letscontrolit wiki page.
the tool setting as follow : baud rate 115200, flash size 1M, frequency 40mhz, and final set up at DOUT.
don't forget to set the binary start point at 0x00000, and put an x in the left column with the link to the r120 bin file.

one more interesting detail is that the reset pin doesn't reset like it does for V2.
I'm still investigating the reason behind this , but I suspect it is related to the firmware .
Do you have the same issue with reset ?
Let me know if it works for you?

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 22 Mar 2017, 14:08
by happyhammers
Hi

I spent a few days on this issue, tried numerous flashing tools in windows and linux. I noticed one that i had not flashed, but was flashed by the supplier indicated DOUT in the terminal via serial interface even though the flashing program keep saying it was a DIO. Googling the flash memory chip detials indicated that this memory only supported DOUT. With this I can now flash ESP EASY. I first erased memory. I aslo seemed to have issue with RESET, in the end i tried CH_PD to reset to get them into flash write mode. I have not gone back once there flashed to see if reset works normally.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 22 Mar 2017, 21:10
by Shardan
Due to my experiences the reset pin on the ESP-01 is a bit sensitive with all versions.
I used another way that worked much better for me:
- disconnect power (3,3V)
- connect GPIO0 to ground
- start flashing in the programme software
- power up the ESP-01


Regards
Shardan

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 12 Apr 2017, 22:37
by akellai
just looked at my ESP-01 black edition (from aliexpress) and the RESET pin is connected to the XPD_DCDC (GPIO16) of the chip :( That explains why reset is not working. I'm not sure if this is true for all 'black edition' modules or only for the particular vendor.
This is sad as I was hoping to use deep sleep with external wake with the module. Instead of reset I now have to use CHIP_EN as a wakeup pin and this is slow (putting CHIP_EN for ~300msec - otherwise reset does not work reliably?) and results in hard reset vs soft reset (thus I cannot use RTC memory - have to use EEPROM instead).
EXT_RSTB of the chip is connected to the VCC through 1K pullup resistor. We'll see if my soldering skills are good enough to fix it (soldering out the resistor and connecting EXT_RSTB to where it should be on the header looks doable)

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 13 Apr 2017, 14:40
by akellai
resoldered (see the picture). My soldering skills are not the greatest - sorry for the ugly picture. Unsoldered the resistor (red circle in the top right) and cut the conductor (left circle)
Can confirm the reset is now working as expected

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 27 Apr 2017, 22:26
by akellai
Just got some more ESP-01 black modules from aliexpress, but different vendor. These modules have correct header and RST is working properly. BTW: My previous modules would go endless loop without the procedure from https://www.letscontrolit.com/forum/vie ... 461#p14461
Programming new modules with Arduino IDE just works out of the box. Go figure!

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 21 May 2017, 05:42
by kirkamr
@akellai, it looks as if I may have gotten bit by the same issue. I bought some V3 ESP-01 black modules from Aliexpress and I've been sitting here all day long wondering WTH I'm doing wrong. It's my first time using ESPs, although I use a lot of other boards. Although I haven't thoroughly checked them, they look a lot like the one you've modified. I'll do the same and see if I can get one to work.

By the way, which vendor did you use to get good V3s from?

Thanks,
-Kirk

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 21 May 2017, 16:25
by akellai
the good ones I got from GREAT WALL Electronics.
BTW: you still can program the 'wrong' module - just leave the fake reset pin alone and use the CHIP_EN pin instead of reset (make sure you put it to ground for at least 300 mSec to reset)

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 21 May 2017, 17:51
by Shardan
The Reset pin is not necessary at all.

I had some problems with flashing the ESP-01 in all versions now and then.
So i do another procedure to flash:

Prepare the ESP-01 for flashing without power !!
(GPIO0 = low, GPIO2 = High).

Power up the module and start the flashing process.

When flashing and the memory clearing (R1xx) or memory formatting (2.0.0dev) is done, power off,
remove the GPIO connections - done.

Regards
Shardan

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 07 Oct 2017, 20:09
by pandemicz
Wow guys, spent few hours with the same problem, didn't even know there is a new revision, switching to DOUT worked just fine, just wanted to thank you for saving another few hours for me.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 14 Jan 2018, 22:31
by Sprokkie
Hi,

i am stil not able to flash the esp 01 module
it hase the puya memorychip.

any ideas ?

gpio0 low and gpio2 high didn't work

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 14 Jan 2018, 22:39
by Shardan
GPIO0 should be low for flashing.

- power off
- Connect flasher
- connect CH_PD to VCC
- connect GPIO2 to VCC
- start flashing on the computer and power on the ESP.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 14 Jan 2018, 23:17
by Sprokkie
what tool for flashing ?

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 15 Jan 2018, 12:08
by Shardan
Usually did that with the flashtool that came with ESPEasy - worked for me.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 16 Jan 2018, 21:40
by Sprokkie
ok, tried that no result.
esp comes in to flashmode blue led on.
the flashtool can not connect.

i have two of these devices both ar not flashable :(
it are the blackones with puya memory

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 17 Jan 2018, 00:07
by TD-er
Sprokkie wrote: 16 Jan 2018, 21:40 ok, tried that no result.
esp comes in to flashmode blue led on.
the flashtool can not connect.

i have two of these devices both ar not flashable :(
it are the blackones with puya memory
Like described here: https://github.com/esp8266/Arduino/issues/4061 and in issue #650 on our own Github? https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/issues/650

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 18 Jan 2018, 01:01
by Sprokkie
it looks like the same problem/
i dont see any solution there :(

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 18 Jan 2018, 11:21
by TD-er
Sprokkie wrote: 18 Jan 2018, 01:01 it looks like the same problem/
i dont see any solution there :(
It looks like it really is becoming a big problem now almost all suppliers are switching to those "incompatible" flash 1M chips.
I am not really sure which part is incompatible, since the flash-tools seem to work fine. So it looks like the ESP core library is doing something wrong here.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 18 Jan 2018, 15:05
by Sprokkie
i ordered 10pcs of 4mb windbon flash from aliexpres.
i saw some youtube movies that it works fine with these flashschips.

now wait for the mailman :)

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 19 Jan 2018, 11:55
by riker1
Shardan wrote: 21 May 2017, 17:51 The Reset pin is not necessary at all.

I had some problems with flashing the ESP-01 in all versions now and then.
So i do another procedure to flash:

Prepare the ESP-01 for flashing without power !!
(GPIO0 = low, GPIO2 = High).

Power up the module and start the flashing process.

When flashing and the memory clearing (R1xx) or memory formatting (2.0.0dev) is done, power off,
remove the GPIO connections - done.

Regards
Shardan
Hi
do you have EN CHUP inserted?
RX to TX
or inverted?

you are flashing via?

thanks T

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 19 Jan 2018, 15:16
by Shardan
riker1 wrote: 19 Jan 2018, 11:55
Shardan wrote: 21 May 2017, 17:51 The Reset pin is not necessary at all.

I had some problems with flashing the ESP-01 in all versions now and then.
So i do another procedure to flash:

Prepare the ESP-01 for flashing without power !!
(GPIO0 = low, GPIO2 = High).

Power up the module and start the flashing process.

When flashing and the memory clearing (R1xx) or memory formatting (2.0.0dev) is done, power off,
remove the GPIO connections - done.

Regards
Shardan
Hi
do you have EN CHUP inserted?
RX to TX
or inverted?

you are flashing via?

thanks T
CH_EN must allways be pulled up, otherwise the chip simply does nothing.
That's why it is called "Chip Enable".

Rx to Tx and vice versa SHOULD be right.
Anyways some of our chinese friends have their very own opinion about what they
should name their pins: I've two progger that ahve swapped TX/RX pins...
No Problem - just try, it does not hurt anything.

For flashing i usually use the tool delivered with ESPEasy, if a flash rom chip needs DOUT settings i use
the official ESP8266 flashtool.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 19 Jan 2018, 15:39
by grovkillen
Shardan wrote: 19 Jan 2018, 15:16 For flashing i usually use the tool delivered with ESPEasy, if a flash rom chip needs DOUT settings i use
the official ESP8266 flashtool.
My ESP Easy Flasher allow you to override the bin file flash mode with the "force DOUT" checkbox. :P

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 01 Feb 2018, 21:39
by Sprokkie
4Mb flash chip didn't did the trick :(

now wait until someone finds the right solution for the puya flaschip

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 06 Feb 2018, 05:36
by Magoo
I've spent a lot of time messing about with this too..

One thing I can add to the conversation is that I am able to successfully flash simple sketches from the Arduino IDE, and they work fine.

Flashing the ESPeasy EasyUploader, however, is NOT successful, although it does come up with the initial wifi WAP prior to the normal reboot into ESP_01.

It certainly looks like an ESPEasy software issue to me.

Cheers,
Dave

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 06 Feb 2018, 12:17
by TD-er
Magoo wrote: 06 Feb 2018, 05:36 [...]
It certainly looks like an ESPEasy software issue to me.
In fact it is an issue with SPIFFS in the ESP8266 core library.
SPIFFS is the flash filesystem used in ESPeasy. The config is stored in there.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 10 Feb 2018, 17:44
by Sprokkie
ok now the problem is known, wil it be solved or do you i have to do some work myself ?

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 10 Feb 2018, 21:38
by TD-er
Sprokkie wrote: 10 Feb 2018, 17:44 ok now the problem is known, wil it be solved or do you i have to do some work myself ?
I have been messing with creating a proper build of the core library including the patch.
But apparently it is not that simple in Windows.
So @datux offered to create a proper build we could link against for future builds.
If that's available, we will create binaries for the PUYA-like flash chips which can change single bits from 0 to 1, without the need to erase.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 10 Feb 2018, 23:27
by Sprokkie
ok thats clear, i just need some patientce :)

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 14 Feb 2018, 20:49
by Micha_he
I've tested the firmware "ESP_Easy_v2.0-20180214_dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024.bin" on my ESP-01 with PUYA-flash.

It works ;-)

But when I modify my "ESPEasy.ino" (set FEATURE_ADC_VCC to true) and compile the "dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024"-version, then the web-interface can't write the config.dat !?

When I also modify the "Esp.cpp" (path ...\Users\...\.platformio\packages\framework-arduinoespressif8266\cores\esp8266\) as it's written in the PUYA-patch.diff, then the ESP-01 doesn't boot anymore !?

Maybe it's better to wait for complete solution. Or what is my mistake ??

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 14 Feb 2018, 22:49
by grovkillen
Micha_he wrote: 14 Feb 2018, 20:49 I've tested the firmware "ESP_Easy_v2.0-20180214_dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024.bin" on my ESP-01 with PUYA-flash.

It works ;-)

But when I modify my "ESPEasy.ino" (set FEATURE_ADC_VCC to true) and compile the "dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024"-version, then the web-interface can't write the config.dat !?

When I also modify the "Esp.cpp" (path ...\Users\...\.platformio\packages\framework-arduinoespressif8266\cores\esp8266\) as it's written in the PUYA-patch.diff, then the ESP-01 doesn't boot anymore !?

Maybe it's better to wait for complete solution. Or what is my mistake ??
You cannot access the advanced page either. It's a very early fix that @psy0rz completed just minutes before Travis started crunching. :geek:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 15 Feb 2018, 01:08
by TD-er
And I was wondering why we have the VCC disabled in the first place.
Lots of people are trying to rebuild with VCC defined.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 15 Feb 2018, 06:02
by budman1758
TD-er wrote: 15 Feb 2018, 01:08 And I was wondering why we have the VCC disabled in the first place.
Lots of people are trying to rebuild with VCC defined.
When the VCC feature is enabled it connects internally to the ADC pin on the ESP if I'm not mistaken. If this is true does that make it unusable for external ADC functions?
This may explain why its not enabled by default?
Or am I all wet? (VERY possible) :shock:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 15 Feb 2018, 06:04
by grovkillen
At least we should provide a pre-build file for if so we know it's official.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 18 Feb 2018, 15:25
by Micha_he
Any news, how I can compile a working V2.0 image, with Vcc-Support, for a PUYA-flash-ESP01 ?

Here under PlatformIO (framework-arduinoespressif8266 V2.2.0) seems the patch results in a no working image...

Edit: Correction... Framework is most probably V2.3.0, but the platform.txt contains a versionstring "2.2.0" (in Github also).

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 19 Feb 2018, 10:09
by TD-er
What is not working?
Building for Puya flash devices is a bit hard.
I only tested it for my own NodeMCU and that one reported a voltage which is probably too low (or else I may have other issues with power on my testbed).
Also adding a vcc option for every build will lead to a lot more release builds.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 19 Feb 2018, 11:38
by Micha_he
Look at my post #30...

Prebuild PUYA works, but own build with Vcc-support enabled (with and without patched Esp.cpp like psy0rz's patchfile) shows the known config.dat write-error.
I'll do some test today evening or tomorrow and announce the results here...
Until today I thought, that it was the (wrong) version of the framework in PlatformIO. But apparently PlatformIO used is right Version 2.3.0 (with a different version-string).

I didn't find my problem :(

Edit: Maybe it's the problem, that I always create DOUT-images for my PUYA-Tests???

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 19 Feb 2018, 12:25
by TD-er
With Puya chips, you need a patched version of the Arduino ESP8266 core 2.3.0 library.
It is quite hard to really make sure you've actually built the right version and are actually using these files.
That's why @psyz0r took some time to create an automated build for it.
We could add the vcc option to the Puya build also, because it is so hard to actually make a version that can be used with these flash chips.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 19 Feb 2018, 13:06
by Micha_he
TD-er wrote: 19 Feb 2018, 12:25 With Puya chips, you need a patched version of the Arduino ESP8266 core 2.3.0 library.
You mean, more than include the 'puya.patch' in the 'Esp.cpp' from the used '..\.platformio\packages\framework-arduinoespressif8266\cores\esp8266\'-folder ?
Then you're right, nothing beginners like me...

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 19 Feb 2018, 14:08
by TD-er
I have added the build option to the platform.ini.
So when this file gets merged, it will either break the builds, or the next release should have an extra Puya version with Vcc supported.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 19 Feb 2018, 14:34
by Micha_he
Thanks TD-er, but that doesn't explain the problem in my environment :|

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 28 Mar 2018, 08:33
by abhinavg
akellai wrote: 13 Apr 2017, 14:40 resoldered (see the picture). My soldering skills are not the greatest - sorry for the ugly picture. Unsoldered the resistor (red circle in the top right) and cut the conductor (left circle)
Can confirm the reset is now working as expected
I have got exact module as in this picture. Can flash firmware and sketch with flash mode as DOUT. But it runs just after flashing the sketch. After power off and on cycle it stopped working. NO REST is working so I guess I have to apply your fix to my ESP.

Could you please share the full image of your hack, as this image is just a part of whole picture?

Thanks

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 03 Apr 2018, 02:02
by aquariushu
abhinavg wrote: 28 Mar 2018, 08:33
akellai wrote: 13 Apr 2017, 14:40 resoldered (see the picture). My soldering skills are not the greatest - sorry for the ugly picture. Unsoldered the resistor (red circle in the top right) and cut the conductor (left circle)
Can confirm the reset is now working as expected
I have got exact module as in this picture. Can flash firmware and sketch with flash mode as DOUT. But it runs just after flashing the sketch. After power off and on cycle it stopped working. NO REST is working so I guess I have to apply your fix to my ESP.

Could you please share the full image of your hack, as this image is just a part of whole picture?

Thanks
abhinavg, my modules are slightly different from akellai's picture shown, but I have the same issue: RESET function is not working.
Image


I found the following: there is an additional 6k resistor in reset line (I don't know why is neccesary) between EXT_RSTB and RST pin of 8pins connector.
After I remove and put a jumper back its place, RESET function is working well again.

Image
Orange line shows the connected points for RST.

I plan to use this ESP-01 for my thermostat project with battery, programmed by Arduino IDE, so I need deepsleep function. After several hours programming I realised the reset problem.
Modules ordered from EBay (seller is h-quality_electronic). I've already sent a message to the seller because he described a different version from what I received.

I've attached a picture about my ESP in original state (resistor which should be remove is marked with red circle).

I hope this information could help.
Regards,
aquariushu

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 03 Apr 2018, 20:15
by TD-er
I guess that should be documented on the Wiki.
This may cost people a lot of time finding it.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 03 Apr 2018, 20:44
by grovkillen

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 03 Apr 2018, 21:21
by budman1758
Looks pretty clear and concise to me. :geek:

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 07 May 2018, 16:03
by Sprokkie
any news about a puya solution ?

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 07 May 2018, 19:16
by TD-er
Sprokkie wrote: 07 May 2018, 16:03 any news about a puya solution ?
Is there a new problem with the PUYA chips that does not work on the nightly builds made for Puya chips?

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 07 May 2018, 22:10
by grovkillen
Sorry, haven't updated the wiki. Will do that in a bit.

Re: ESP-01 V3 flashing issues

Posted: 25 May 2018, 16:37
by Sprokkie
i found the new firmware V2.00
connected the esp01 the right way and it flashed :)



thx guys