Problem of flash/start on D1 Mini Pro

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
vincen
Normal user
Posts: 92
Joined: 26 Jun 2017, 07:15

Problem of flash/start on D1 Mini Pro

#1 Post by vincen » 10 Jul 2017, 10:16

Hi

After having used few NodeMCU V2/V3 with ESP Easy I wanted to test it on D1 Mini Pro. I just received mine and I have a little issue. I did a clean of the flash without problem:

Code: Select all

vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$ esptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSB0 erase_flash
esptool.py v2.0
Connecting....
Detecting chip type... ESP8266
Chip is ESP8266
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Erasing flash (this may take a while)...
Chip erase completed successfully in 38.8s
Hard resetting...
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$
Then I flashed the firmware in it also without any troubles:

Code: Select all

vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$ esptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSB0 write_flash -fm dio 0x00000 ESPEasy_v2.0.0-dev10_dev_8285.bin 
esptool.py v2.0
Connecting....
Detecting chip type... ESP8266
Chip is ESP8266
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Configuring flash size...
Auto-detected Flash size: 16MB
Flash params set to 0x0290
Compressed 583728 bytes to 383495...
Wrote 583728 bytes (383495 compressed) at 0x00000000 in 33.7 seconds (effective 138.5 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.

Leaving...
Hard resetting...
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$
Once rebooted I get blue led on board to blink once every 3/4 seconds and that's it ! I have no ESP_0 wifi signal appears !
What can I do to find the problem ? and fix it ?

Thanks

Vincèn

User avatar
toffel969
Normal user
Posts: 469
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 10:58
Location: Germany

Re: Problem of flash/start on D1 Mini Pro

#2 Post by toffel969 » 10 Jul 2017, 10:22

vincen wrote: 10 Jul 2017, 10:16 Hi

After having used few NodeMCU V2/V3 with ESP Easy I wanted to test it on D1 Mini Pro. I just received mine and I have a little issue. I did a clean of the flash without problem:

Code: Select all

vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$ esptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSB0 erase_flash
esptool.py v2.0
Connecting....
Detecting chip type... ESP8266
Chip is ESP8266
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Erasing flash (this may take a while)...
Chip erase completed successfully in 38.8s
Hard resetting...
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$
Then I flashed the firmware in it also without any troubles:

Code: Select all

vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$ esptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSB0 write_flash -fm dio 0x00000 ESPEasy_v2.0.0-dev10_dev_8285.bin 
esptool.py v2.0
Connecting....
Detecting chip type... ESP8266
Chip is ESP8266
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Configuring flash size...
Auto-detected Flash size: 16MB
Flash params set to 0x0290
Compressed 583728 bytes to 383495...
Wrote 583728 bytes (383495 compressed) at 0x00000000 in 33.7 seconds (effective 138.5 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.

Leaving...
Hard resetting...
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$
Once rebooted I get blue led on board to blink once every 3/4 seconds and that's it ! I have no ESP_0 wifi signal appears !
What can I do to find the problem ? and fix it ?

Thanks

Vincèn
Try to connect with a serial adapter and see what is going on. I had a similiar thing, when connecting with serial I saw numbers running up. After it finished running up, it booted normally and I found the ESP_0.
Domoticz on Raspi 2 -- 14 ESP units (hacked Sonoff,NodeMCUs, Wemos, self-built units) running with RC140- Mega 2.0.0 dev8

vincen
Normal user
Posts: 92
Joined: 26 Jun 2017, 07:15

Re: Problem of flash/start on D1 Mini Pro

#3 Post by vincen » 10 Jul 2017, 12:58

toffel969 wrote: 10 Jul 2017, 10:22Try to connect with a serial adapter and see what is going on. I had a similiar thing, when connecting with serial I saw numbers running up. After it finished running up, it booted normally and I found the ESP_0.
Well I connected with Minicom to the USB port of the D1 and it's stuck in a boot loop :( Here is what I get in bootloop ? I'm going to try the other versions avalaible to check if it's the same !

Code: Select all

INIT : Booting version: v2.0.0-dev10
FS   : Mount failed
FS   : Mount failed

PID:0
Version:0
INIT : Incorrect PID or version!
Resetting factory defaults...
RESET: Reboot count: 160
RESET: To many reset attempts

Exception (0):
epc1=0x40106f19 epc2=0x00000000 epc3=0x00000000 excvaddr=0x00000000 depc=0x00000000

ctx: cont 
sp: 3fff35d0 end: 3fff3840 offset: 01a0

>>>stack>>>
3fff3770:  0000001c 00000000 3fff2758 401004d8  
3fff3780:  3fff2758 3fff2758 3fff4a7c 40205b69  
3fff3790:  00000000 00000001 0000005b 4010020c  
3fff37a0:  0000001c 00000000 3fff2758 00000000  
3fff37b0:  0000001c 00000000 3fff2758 40201710  
3fff37c0:  00000001 3fff3890 3fff2820 3fff3890  
3fff37d0:  3fffdad0 3fff2814 40203314 3fff2814  
3fff37e0:  3fffdad0 3fff2758 3fff15bc 40216135  
3fff37f0:  3fffdad0 3fff2758 3fff15bc 4023342d  
3fff3800:  feefeffe feefeffe feefeffe 3fff4a8c  

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 497
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Problem of flash/start on D1 Mini Pro

#4 Post by papperone » 10 Jul 2017, 13:39

D1 Mini PRO has 16Mb and not 4Mb si I suspect the issue is that you need to compile the firmware with the right settings and not to use a precompiled one...

EDIT: why your are flashing an ESP8266 with ESP8285 compiled??
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

vincen
Normal user
Posts: 92
Joined: 26 Jun 2017, 07:15

Re: Problem of flash/start on D1 Mini Pro

#5 Post by vincen » 10 Jul 2017, 15:01

papperone wrote: 10 Jul 2017, 13:39D1 Mini PRO has 16Mb and not 4Mb si I suspect the issue is that you need to compile the firmware with the right settings and not to use a precompiled one...
oki my fault, I expected smaller firmware to fit in larger chips no ?
papperone wrote: 10 Jul 2017, 13:39EDIT: why your are flashing an ESP8266 with ESP8285 compiled??
I used the precompiled one avalaible on website so going to look now for version for 16M and try to flash it and see how it goes ;)

Update: I installed PlatformIO in my Atom and downloaded source to build a custom one but there is no option to set memory higher than 4Mb :( and I found none precompiled for 16M :(

User avatar
toffel969
Normal user
Posts: 469
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 10:58
Location: Germany

Re: Problem of flash/start on D1 Mini Pro

#6 Post by toffel969 » 12 Jul 2017, 10:50

vincen wrote: 10 Jul 2017, 15:01
papperone wrote: 10 Jul 2017, 13:39D1 Mini PRO has 16Mb and not 4Mb si I suspect the issue is that you need to compile the firmware with the right settings and not to use a precompiled one...
oki my fault, I expected smaller firmware to fit in larger chips no ?
papperone wrote: 10 Jul 2017, 13:39EDIT: why your are flashing an ESP8266 with ESP8285 compiled??
I used the precompiled one avalaible on website so going to look now for version for 16M and try to flash it and see how it goes ;)

Update: I installed PlatformIO in my Atom and downloaded source to build a custom one but there is no option to set memory higher than 4Mb :( and I found none precompiled for 16M :(
Your assumption that smaller firmware should fit is correct. I use precomiled *.bin on D1 pro mini, I think the 8285 vs 8266 is the relevant problem here.
Domoticz on Raspi 2 -- 14 ESP units (hacked Sonoff,NodeMCUs, Wemos, self-built units) running with RC140- Mega 2.0.0 dev8

LeisureLadi
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 22:31

Re: Problem of flash/start on D1 Mini Pro

#7 Post by LeisureLadi » 25 Jul 2017, 06:55

ESP8285 has 1MB built-in flash memery using DOUT flash mode. Your WEMOS has got external flash memory (either 4 MB or 16 MB, of which only 4 MB can be really used) which needs to be flashed in DIO mode. Size of the precompiled program doesn't matter as reported already.

randytsuch
Normal user
Posts: 33
Joined: 05 Jun 2017, 05:32

Re: Problem of flash/start on D1 Mini Pro

#8 Post by randytsuch » 25 Jul 2017, 17:01

I had the same problem, and ended up installing the arduino compiler, and built ESP Easy from source.
There are a lot of tutorials online that describe some changes you need to make for the ESP, mostly adding 4 libraries.

Using the code I built, I was able to get a pro to run, and ESP_0 shows up after a few minutes.

Randy

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 115 guests