Page 5 of 5

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 02 Dec 2018, 20:51
by grovkillen
Alternating between clock and outdoor temperature is one example or clock plus room CO2 level, another example.

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 02 Dec 2018, 20:59
by oisisi
To be able to change modes remotely per command generally makes sense, imho. What would happen if you just remove the break from the command functions?

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 03 Dec 2018, 20:42
by papperone
oisisi wrote: 02 Dec 2018, 20:59 To be able to change modes remotely per command generally makes sense, imho. What would happen if you just remove the break from the command functions?
Not sure it's a good practice, I will implement new command to change module mode so user can use it in rules with timers...
grovkillen wrote: 02 Dec 2018, 20:51 Alternating between clock and outdoor temperature is one example or clock plus room CO2 level, another example.
Ok you are right, you gave me some idea how to improve one of my module :)
Let me find few minutes later this week and I will implement mode-change command indeed!


PS: I'm just not sure what will happen when I will make multiple display works, as they are now commands are not able to point a specific device and they will be exectuted only by the first occurrence of any given plugin :(

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 03 Dec 2018, 21:19
by grovkillen
Yes we need to be able to point which display/task number the command is addressing. But that is core development on a more generic level.

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 04 Dec 2018, 14:51
by venom
hey, could anyone confirm if this one is supported:

TM1637.jpg
TM1637.jpg (54.4 KiB) Viewed 43687 times
TM1637_2.jpg
TM1637_2.jpg (70.03 KiB) Viewed 43687 times


I've bought it here: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1PCS-4- ... 4c4duUAft7 but seems I've got a newer one as the label on it says "V1.1" rather than "V1.0".

I think I've tried all possible settings combinations and all supported commands from wiki but no luck - I can't get it to work - it looks turned off all the time.


TM1637_3.jpg
TM1637_3.jpg (36.89 KiB) Viewed 43687 times

The device itself is fine - I managed to run it following that: http://www.esp8266learning.com/tm1637-7 ... xample.php.

Could anyone advise?

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 04 Dec 2018, 22:19
by papperone
Have you tried to swap CLK and DIO pin setting on the device config (not touching the physical wiring)?

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 05 Dec 2018, 22:30
by venom
Yes, I have. Tried to change the settings, rebooted D1, played with display output (manual, date, etc), run some commands (cmd=7don, cmd=7db,15, etc) - still no reaction from the display :/

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 06 Dec 2018, 06:58
by papperone
that's vcery weird as all my displays of different brands and configuration works perfectly...
as well the code in the plugin is writte following the spec of the datasheet of the supported IC, which I guess it's the same with the library you pointed and it's first time I've got reported such behaviour (plugin does not work while the library does)...
I coudl look into library but honestly I've lack of free time due to my job so not sure when I will be able to do it and on top of it I've not hardware to test so it will make this debugging very tricky!

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 07 Dec 2018, 07:17
by venom
OK, sure. Thanks anyway.

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 20 Jan 2019, 21:14
by Black_Knight
I think i'm in the same boat. I can't get my 7segs to display. I've 3 setup from a while back which are working fine, but I've ordered new ones and none of them are displaying. I've verified they work using the same script as you mentioned:
http://www.esp8266learning.com/tm1637-7 ... xample.php

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 22 Jan 2019, 09:09
by kimot
@venom
It is simple problem.
On picture I can see you power your TM1637 from 5V on Wemos.
If you look at the TM1637 datasheet, you can read:

Min. Log H = 0.7Vdd
0,7 * 5 = 3,5V
But your ESP runs on 3,3V, so never reach 3,5v on gpio output.
Try power TM1637 from 3,3V pin

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 13 Feb 2019, 14:34
by Patou
Hello
Already a lot of post for the 7 segment display ... means a lot of people wants to use it !!
It looks like the plugin is not yet totally debugged.
My situation :
Esp 8266 lolin running very good other application
firmware : ESP_Easy_mega-20180513_dev_ESP8266_4096.bin ( i tried newer firmware but the problem looks the same)
Display 8 digit Max 7219
On 10 to 20 starts ( reboot with button / reboot from PC or power supply on/off ) only one time the display indicated the clock or the date
On the other tentatives : the display stays blank or just the last digit is running from 0 to 9
When the display is running correctly performing a reboot or power on/off make a blank screen
I have checked the power supply : 3.28VDC stable ( only ESP 8266 running at that time on the power supply
Do somebody else have the same situation ?

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 04 Sep 2023, 14:03
by qwerty_21
Hello,

last time i successful resolve my problem with help from forum people.

I have another question for using two TM1637 7 segment displays if it is possible. I`d like to measure temperature with two DS18B20 and show it on displays.

I connect first display CLK to D5 and DIO to D8 and second display CLK to D6 and DIO to D7. I use two temeprature senors DS18B20.
My problem is i`m not so much familiar with rules. Only i can do is to show temerature on one dispaly.

Espeasy version is ESP_Easy_mega_20230822_normal_ESP8266_4M1M uploded to wemos d1 mini pro.

Code: Select all

On DS#temperature do
  7dt,[DS#temperature]
endon

Thanks for your help
Sam

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 04 Sep 2023, 14:51
by TD-er
See the documentation, as it does also mention the option to show 2 temperatures:
https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... #p073-page

The syntax of such command would be something like this:

Code: Select all

7ddt,<temp1>,<temp2>
So let's assume you have either 2 tasks (named: "DS1" and "DS2") with each a task value named "temperature", or...
you have 1 task named "DS" with 2 task values like "temperature1" and "temperature2".

In either way, you can refer to these task values like this:
[taskname#taskvaluename]

Thus in the first setup (2 tasks) you get these:
[DS1#temperature] and [DS2#temperature]

For the other use case (1 task, two taskvalues), you get:
[DS#temperature1] and [DS#temperature2]

So the code should be something like this:

Code: Select all

On DS#temperature1 do
  7ddt,[DS#temperature1],[DS#temperature2]
endon
But this may cause the displayed samples to "get out of sync", meaning you may look at the previous sample of the 2nd sensor.

This can be solved in many ways, but I think the easiest way is to update the screen on both events:

Code: Select all

On DS#temperature1 do
  7ddt,[DS#temperature1],[DS#temperature2]
endon

On DS#temperature2 do
  7ddt,[DS#temperature1],[DS#temperature2]
endon
N.B. this can be written in shorter code, but just for you to easily understand what's going on, let's keep it a bit more verbose.

Also, after you got this working, you can also consider connecting both 1wire temperature sensors to the same GPIO pin as that's how it is intended with 1wire devices.
Best not to use GPIO16 for this, as it is a bit 'special' on ESP8266.

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 04 Sep 2023, 14:52
by Ath
To direct a command to a specific task you can prefix the command with the taskname and a period (and optional square brackets, but I'll leave those out), like this:

Code: Select all

On temp#temperature do
  seg.7dt,%eventvalue1% // Uses the value available with the event
endon
The non-prefixed 7dt command will be handled by the 7Segment task with the lowest number that is enabled.
This prefix can of course also be used when only 1 display is connected ;)

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 04 Sep 2023, 14:54
by TD-er
Oh my bad, I missed the fact you had 2 displays, in my mind I thought about 1 display with 8 segments.

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 05 Sep 2023, 09:51
by qwerty_21
Hello,

i think i solved my problem.

This is rules i used:

Code: Select all

On DS#temperature do
  [7dgt2].7dt,%eventvalue1% // Uses the value available with the event
endon

On temp#temperature do
  [7dgt1].7dt,%eventvalue1% // Uses the value available with the event
endon
And I rename displays task.

Only i need to test is put sensors in fridge and check if displays show (-).

Thanks a lot for help and suggestions,

Regards
Sam

Re: Connecting a TM1637 4-Digit Display

Posted: 05 Sep 2023, 12:56
by TD-er
The [] wrapping the task names is not the official syntax to address a specific task in the rules.
As of now, it will be removed while parsing, but this takes extra resources while processing the rules and since it is not the official syntax, this may be changed in the future.