Issue DHT11 ESP-01

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#1 Post by miralant » 13 Apr 2018, 13:48

Hi,

I've buy the module bellow on ALI.
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (434.18 KiB) Viewed 3562 times
I've loaded EspEasy R120 on the ESP-01 with my FTDI. It works perfectly, I can connect it on my wifi network.
I've try to setup my device with DHT11 but i've NaN value for the 2 measurements.

I've measured with scope on pin 2 of DHT11 and it still has 3,3v. Never low level to ask for DHT11 measurements.

Do you have an idea ?

thanks

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#2 Post by miralant » 19 Apr 2018, 10:50

Nobody uses this kind of module ?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3269
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#3 Post by grovkillen » 19 Apr 2018, 12:40

Is it a puya memory?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#4 Post by miralant » 19 Apr 2018, 12:41

puya ?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3269
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#5 Post by grovkillen » 19 Apr 2018, 12:47

Please search the forum. A lot has been covered for this issue.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#6 Post by miralant » 19 Apr 2018, 13:29

ok, puya version is an ESP-01 with puya parts.

I have to check on the module.

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#7 Post by miralant » 19 Apr 2018, 22:29

Yes, you're right. It's a Puya version.
So wath should I do ? There is a specific version of ESPeasy to load ?
Thanks

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1651
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#8 Post by TD-er » 19 Apr 2018, 23:19

miralant wrote:
19 Apr 2018, 22:29
Yes, you're right. It's a Puya version.
So wath should I do ? There is a specific version of ESPeasy to load ?
Thanks
Yep, there is a special build for nodes with PUYA flash chips.
It has "puya" in the filename.

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#9 Post by miralant » 20 Apr 2018, 09:23

TD-er wrote:
19 Apr 2018, 23:19
miralant wrote:
19 Apr 2018, 22:29
Yes, you're right. It's a Puya version.
So wath should I do ? There is a specific version of ESPeasy to load ?
Thanks
Yep, there is a special build for nodes with PUYA flash chips.
It has "puya" in the filename.
Puya version are only in pre-release (probably soon in stable) ?

what is the difference between ESP_Easy_mega-20180420_dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024.bin and ESP_Easy_mega-20180420_dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024_VCC.bin ?

Micha_he
Normal user
Posts: 63
Joined: 07 Feb 2018, 19:14

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#10 Post by Micha_he » 20 Apr 2018, 12:02

The second one use the internal ADC to digitize the Vcc-Voltage and not the external signal from ADC/TOUT-pin of the ESP8266.
On ESP-01 the ADC/TOUT is not wired to one of the eight connectors.

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#11 Post by miralant » 20 Apr 2018, 12:09

so I have to use
ESP_Easy_mega-20180420_dev_ESP8266PUYA_1024.bin

Thanks

Micha_he
Normal user
Posts: 63
Joined: 07 Feb 2018, 19:14

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#12 Post by Micha_he » 20 Apr 2018, 12:41

You can use both !

With the first one you can measure a external 0-1V signal, but with ESP-01 you must solder it direct to the (small) ESP-pin !

With the second one (_VCC) you can process the Vcc-voltage with a 'System-Info'-device. But with this firmware you can't measure a external signal on the ADC/TOUT-pin.

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#13 Post by miralant » 20 Apr 2018, 15:54

ok thanks.

I'll try to setup with the new firmware. Thanks for your help

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#14 Post by miralant » 21 Apr 2018, 22:35

So i've uploaded firmware but temperature is really strangely hight!
Screenshot_Chrome_20180421-223153.png
Screenshot_Chrome_20180421-223153.png (127.82 KiB) Viewed 3387 times

papperone
Normal user
Posts: 497
Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#15 Post by papperone » 22 Apr 2018, 09:59

DHT11 (specially chnese clones) are not famous for their accuracy....
My TINDIE Store where you can find all ESP8266 boards I manufacture --> https://www.tindie.com/stores/GiovanniCas/
My Wiki Project page with self-made PCB/devices --> https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... :Papperone

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#16 Post by miralant » 22 Apr 2018, 12:46

papperone wrote:
22 Apr 2018, 09:59
DHT11 (specially chnese clones) are not famous for their accuracy....
At this point...it's not famous....it's non-functionnal !

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#17 Post by miralant » 22 Apr 2018, 18:10

In fact I think the design of the board is stupid. The DHT11 measure the température of the ESP-01. I will try do dismount DHT11 and solder it on the other side of the PCB.

koffie
Normal user
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Aug 2018, 13:34

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#18 Post by koffie » 07 Aug 2018, 13:41

Hi,

I've the same issue, high vaules of both temperature and humidity.
Also the output is changing, but not as you would expect.
Did someone solve this?

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#19 Post by miralant » 07 Aug 2018, 13:44

koffie wrote:
07 Aug 2018, 13:41
Hi,

I've the same issue, high vaules of both temperature and humidity.
Also the output is changing, but not as you would expect.
Did someone solve this?
I've remove (5cm far ESP) and replace DHT11 by DHT22. now it works properly.

koffie
Normal user
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Aug 2018, 13:34

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#20 Post by koffie » 07 Aug 2018, 13:57

OK thanks miralant.
problem is that the temp value is 15 degrees celcius above the real temp.
Thats a big difference between the +/- 2 degrees they should differ.
Did you just replace the DHT11 on the board and reuse the board where the ESP-01 is put on?

miralant
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 06 Apr 2018, 08:05

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#21 Post by miralant » 07 Aug 2018, 14:01

koffie wrote:
07 Aug 2018, 13:57
OK thanks miralant.
problem is that the temp value is 15 degrees celcius above the real temp.
Thats a big difference between the +/- 2 degrees they should differ.
Did you just replace the DHT11 on the board and reuse the board where the ESP-01 is put on?
yes exactly DHT22 is connected on the same board but with 5cm wirings

pe1fam
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 Jan 2019, 21:42

Re: Issue DHT11 ESP-01

#22 Post by pe1fam » 19 Jan 2019, 21:45

Had the same issue here with this very small solution.
Solved it by bending the DHT11 to the outside of its board.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests