Sonoff 4CH Pro R2 bricks after flashing

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
ajager
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Nov 2018, 20:24

Sonoff 4CH Pro R2 bricks after flashing

#1 Post by ajager » 11 Nov 2018, 21:12

Hi! I have 2 Sonoff 4CH Pro R2 devices. I have flashed them. One with tasmota firmware , the second with ESP EASY. Both times the flashing procedure was success. Setup procedure was also success, devices were working well till first reboot. After reboot I have 3 leds on and nothing more. Both devices bricked. I can't connect to device, can't flash (but one time after severasl probs I could read the flash, but can't repeat flashing procedure anymore) .
What have I done wrong?
I've flashed last release ESP Easy https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/releases
I've used python esptool with this parameters:
esptool.py --port COM3 write_flash -fs 1MB -fm dout 0x0 ESP_Easy_mega-20181110_normal_ESP8285_1024.bin

I have an experience , I've flashed some Sonnof Basic with success.
I've red about the same result (bricked devices with 3 leds). Maybe my devices were broken ? (but they worked well with original firmware). Maybe Pro R2 device can't be flashed with non original flash? Does anybody had the same problems?

jverdicchio
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Nov 2018, 10:44

Re: Sonoff 4CH Pro R2 bricks after flashing

#2 Post by jverdicchio » 14 Nov 2018, 16:15

I have two Sonoff 4CH (I'm not next to them at the moment so can't remember for sure) ; I put on the 8286_1024.bin, not the 8285_1024.bin build. Now next to it:
Firmware
Build 20102 - Mega
Libraries ESP82xx Core 2_4_1, NONOS SDK 2.2.1(cfd48f3), LWIP: 2.0.3
GIT version mega-20180507
Plugins 47 [Normal]
Build Md5 aef3b5327f73e5db60c1d3c8aeadc4
Md5 check passed.
Build time May 7 2018 02:03:47
Binary filename firmware.bin
Last edited by jverdicchio on 16 Nov 2018, 10:26, edited 1 time in total.

ajager
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Nov 2018, 20:24

Re: Sonoff 4CH Pro R2 bricks after flashing

#3 Post by ajager » 15 Nov 2018, 17:37

After one week my first Sonoff 4Ch Pro R2 has back to the life! He hasn't worked for a week. I did nothing. It's a some magic!
I was flashing it with 8285_1024.bin
But I have another one from the same party. It's dead :( with 3 lamps always on. Most likely it's defective.

kimot
Normal user
Posts: 190
Joined: 12 Oct 2017, 20:46

Re: Sonoff 4CH Pro R2 bricks after flashing

#4 Post by kimot » 16 Nov 2018, 20:18

Try erase flash.

esptool.py --port COM3 erase_flash

ShaMAD
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 21:29

Re: Sonoff 4CH Pro R2 bricks after flashing

#5 Post by ShaMAD » 20 Feb 2019, 21:50

I flashed my Sonoff 4ch PRO by this instructions first

Code: Select all

esptool.py --port COM5 erase_flash
and then with

Code: Select all

esptool.py --port COM5 write_flash 0x00000 ESP_Easy_mega-20190216_normal_ESP8285_1024.bin
And it made him turn on with the same 3 lamps!
Ater flash use factory reset button with pre-defined config "Sonoff 4ch".
Yes 3 relays and 3 lamps is swithed on at boot, it seems like a small bug, maybe because two chips ESP8285 + STM32 is used onboard.
I solved it for me by adding rule on boot and swithed on all relays booth:

Code: Select all

on System#Boot do
  gpio,12,1
  gpio,5,1
  gpio,4,1
  gpio,15,1
endon 
These corrections in the default rules can make the button always sensitive when first pressed, regardless of the state of the relay:

Code: Select all

on Button1#switch do
  if [Relay1#switch]=0
    gpio,12,1
  else
    gpio,12,0
  endif
endon
on Button2#switch do
  if [Relay2#switch]=0
    gpio,5,1
  else
    gpio,5,0
  endif
endon
on Button3#switch do
  if [Relay3#switch]=0
    gpio,4,1
  else
    gpio,4,0
  endif
endon
on Button4#switch do
  if [Relay4#switch]=0
    gpio,15,1
  else
    gpio,15,0
  endif
endon

smeedy
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Mar 2019, 17:52

Re: Sonoff 4CH Pro R2 bricks after flashing

#6 Post by smeedy » 07 Mar 2019, 20:05

I flashed the CH4 Pro R2 today with the ESP_Easy_mega-20190305_normal_ESP8285_1M image and still has the same issue: After boot relais 1, 2, and 3 are turned on. Looking at the debug 4 logs on the TTL console I see the following

Code: Select all

660 : EVENT: System#Boot
937 : SW  : GPIO=9 State=1 Output value=1
945 : EVENT: button2#state=1.00
1020 : ACT  : gpio,5,1
1024 : SW   : GPIO 5 Set to 1
1106 : SW  : GPIO=10 State=1 Output value=1
1115 : EVENT: button3#state=1.00
1203 : ACT  : gpio,4,1
1206 : SW   : GPIO 4 Set to 1
1272 : SW  : GPIO=12 State=1 Output value=1
1279 : EVENT: relais1#state=1.00
1409 : SW  : GPIO=5 State=1 Output value=1
1416 : EVENT: relais2#state=1.00
1543 : SW  : GPIO=4 State=1 Output value=1
1551 : EVENT: relais3#state=1.00
2200 : WD   : Uptime 0 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 23688 WiFiStatus 0
..
So somehow the GPIO events for the relais switches are being fired for no apparent reason as it seems.

Any pointers someone? I would like to have the default state off for the 4 channels, but setting them on the System#Boot like

Code: Select all

on system#boot do
  debug 4
  gpio,12,0
  gpio,5,0
  gpio,4,0
  gpio,15,
endon
is handled before the spontaneous events for GPIO 12, 5, and 4 occur. Any pointers?

cheers,
Martijn

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests