Shelly Dimmer

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Grumpf
Normal user
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 May 2017, 23:45
Location: Namur
Contact:

Shelly Dimmer

#1 Post by Grumpf » 05 Aug 2020, 16:03

Anyone managed to flash the Shelly Dimmer ?

I bought a 2.54-1.27-2 little board to ease things, I bridge pin 1 to pin 3 using the .2 row (to ground GPIO0).
Shelly Dimmer adapteur.jpg
Shelly Dimmer adapteur.jpg (211.49 KiB) Viewed 1495 times
I assumed that the pinout of the Shelly was from top to bottom GND VCC GPIO0 GPIO2 RX TX. As I've seen on this pic :
ShellyDimmer.jpg
ShellyDimmer.jpg (987.13 KiB) Viewed 1495 times
But despite my efforts :

[05/08/2020 13:52:04] trying to connect
[05/08/2020 13:52:04] flush start
[05/08/2020 13:52:04] setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
[05/08/2020 13:52:04] setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
[05/08/2020 13:52:04] flush complete
[05/08/2020 13:52:04] espcomm_send_command: sending command header
[05/08/2020 13:52:04] espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
[05/08/2020 13:52:04] read 0, requested 1
[05/08/2020 13:52:04] warning: espcomm_sync failed
[05/08/2020 13:52:04] error: espcomm_open failed
[05/08/2020 13:52:04] error: espcomm_upload_mem failed
[2020-08-05 13:52:04] STOPPED due to 2 errors! (try reset on the unit, then start a new flash attempt)

Now, I've seen there are HTTP commands for shelly switches but nothing for the dimmer...

Any idea how to control this guy with Domoticz, or better flash it ?
Thanks.
Last edited by Grumpf on 06 Aug 2020, 10:41, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 186
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: Shelly Dimmer

#2 Post by Ath » 05 Aug 2020, 17:07

Have you tried swapping RX and TX?
Some tend to document it as a 1:1 connection, instead of a TX -> RX and RX -> TX (crossed) connection.

It doesn't hurt the unit if you had them connected in the wrong way, AFAIK

User avatar
Grumpf
Normal user
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 May 2017, 23:45
Location: Namur
Contact:

Re: Shelly Dimmer

#3 Post by Grumpf » 06 Aug 2020, 10:40

Lol, indeed, I do it all the time try this way, hmmm let's swap then :)

But it didn't worked this time. I managed to make it work through MQTT though but I would have prefered a real Espeasy on it.

Thanks.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 186
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: Shelly Dimmer

#4 Post by Ath » 06 Aug 2020, 11:40

And you seem to have gpio0 hard-wired to gnd? I ground it during reset, hold it down for a few more seconds, then release it.

You already have a nice breadboard in use, you could easily add a couple of buttons for reset and 'pgm' 8-)

User avatar
Grumpf
Normal user
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 May 2017, 23:45
Location: Namur
Contact:

Re: Shelly Dimmer

#5 Post by Grumpf » 06 Aug 2020, 12:32

Oh you mean I should release GPIO0 from GND when the programmer starts to flash ?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 3166
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Shelly Dimmer

#6 Post by TD-er » 06 Aug 2020, 13:48

Grumpf wrote: 06 Aug 2020, 12:32 Oh you mean I should release GPIO0 from GND when the programmer starts to flash ?
Just make sure it is released by the time the programming is over and the device needs to reboot.

User avatar
Grumpf
Normal user
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 May 2017, 23:45
Location: Namur
Contact:

Re: Shelly Dimmer

#7 Post by Grumpf » 06 Aug 2020, 14:05

Tx. I'll try that.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 30 guests