ESPeasy not that easy?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Message
Author
vojtishek
Normal user
Posts: 70
Joined: 12 Jan 2017, 08:00

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#51 Post by vojtishek » 24 Jan 2017, 08:16

@CoolRemote
Did you manage to flash ESPeasy on Sonoff already?

I´m stucked at the moment. Last option for me is to check with my friend all my connections If are wired correctly and also tried laboratory power supply with exact 3.3v with 1A.

nick-head
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 11:09
Location: North East UK

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#52 Post by nick-head » 24 Jan 2017, 10:12

I have , yes.

I got bored with it, so I also flashed microPython on it.

All they are is an ESP8266 with a few extra bits added.

I am also considering upgrading the memory from 1MB to 4MB as I have with my other ESP8266-01's
but the flash chip is in between components and I am a bit clumsy with my hot air station and need
to be more careful.

I have good results when programming the ESP's, rarely any errors.
ESP32, Arduino's,Raspberry Pi's, ESP8266's, Nextion's, Sonoff's, LightWaveRF's, RFXCom 433, and a headache
And a HackRF One, as a present to myself.

nick-head
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 11:09
Location: North East UK

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#53 Post by nick-head » 24 Jan 2017, 10:18

OOps, sorry, I think I answered a message to someone else, apologies
ESP32, Arduino's,Raspberry Pi's, ESP8266's, Nextion's, Sonoff's, LightWaveRF's, RFXCom 433, and a headache
And a HackRF One, as a present to myself.

CoolRemote
Normal user
Posts: 42
Joined: 17 Jan 2017, 15:27
Location: Groningen (Nederland)

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#54 Post by CoolRemote » 25 Jan 2017, 13:34

vojtishek, I have been trying again and without succes. Wiring is correct. I am using two AA batteries at the moment since I did not manage yet to have the lab power supply ready, but when I read your experience it looks like that won't help either.

A few posts back I have written down all the steps I went through, can someone verify if there are mistakes made in that?

Later today I am going to try again.

nick-head
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 11:09
Location: North East UK

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#55 Post by nick-head » 27 Jan 2017, 20:33

Are you sure the ttl converter is working ?

Connect the RX to TX pin on the converter and use a comms program to check if it loops back
ESP32, Arduino's,Raspberry Pi's, ESP8266's, Nextion's, Sonoff's, LightWaveRF's, RFXCom 433, and a headache
And a HackRF One, as a present to myself.

nick-head
Normal user
Posts: 41
Joined: 15 Nov 2016, 11:09
Location: North East UK

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#56 Post by nick-head » 27 Jan 2017, 21:14

And I have just tried the AA batteries, it doesn't boot. So that's out of the window :(
ESP32, Arduino's,Raspberry Pi's, ESP8266's, Nextion's, Sonoff's, LightWaveRF's, RFXCom 433, and a headache
And a HackRF One, as a present to myself.

CoolRemote
Normal user
Posts: 42
Joined: 17 Jan 2017, 15:27
Location: Groningen (Nederland)

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#57 Post by CoolRemote » 28 Jan 2017, 03:06

It took me a bit, but I am here and back with an update. Since the very first time it seems the flash was done correct and the Sonoff was working. I have been following the video I mentioned before and the flash was done correct and I could have done the setup of the Sonoff.

However.....on the devices I used I could NOT see the Sonoff showing up in the list, no matter what I did.
I decided to take another mobile phone and do a wifi scan with that, and voila, in the first scan the Sonoff was there, online.

For some reasons I have been strugling all this time with just that it didn't show up at the network list.

Anyways. Now I can move on with adding it to the Domoticz. Are there clear and simple instructions for that too?
Several people say that this is easy. I am excited to move on now I know that it was working all the time.

Suggestion for other ones who read this, try a different phone or tablet and it might show up anyways in your network list. :)

I look forward for the next step to add it to Domoticz. :D

data
Normal user
Posts: 93
Joined: 10 Dec 2016, 11:26

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#58 Post by data » 28 Jan 2017, 08:12

Ok, quick & dirty:

In Domoticz:

Go to Setup -> Hardware, Select 'Dummy' from the drop down list and click add.

Then, after the page reloads, you'll see the new dummy hardware in your list.
Click on 'Create Virtual Sensors', enter name and choose your type.

Go to Setup -> Devices and search for your newly created device.
Note down the IDX value.

Open the the device page of your sonoff and enter the IDX in the according device.

Go to the config page of your sonoff device.
Enter the IP of your domoticz server in the 'Controller IP' Field, choose 'Domoticz HTTP' as protocol

That's it.

CoolRemote
Normal user
Posts: 42
Joined: 17 Jan 2017, 15:27
Location: Groningen (Nederland)

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#59 Post by CoolRemote » 29 Jan 2017, 01:27

Thank you Data.

I managed to enter two Sonoff modules. In both I entered new credentials like SSID and new pasword. However the SSID for both remains ESP_0 and ESP_1, I confirmed all the steps with "Submit" which was accepted without any error. Also I did enter the other Domoticz details you told me to enter into those fields.

I adjusted the LED settings to GIO13, also submitted, but none of the LED's work.

I guess since the SSID is not updating to the new network names I gave the Sonoff modules I also can not connect it to Domoticz.

vojtishek
Normal user
Posts: 70
Joined: 12 Jan 2017, 08:00

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#60 Post by vojtishek » 02 Feb 2017, 22:39

Hi,

so I was finally succesfull. My problem was bad solder job, after resoldering flashed without any problem. 3.3V and 120mA is enough to program device.
Configuration of Domoticz was easy without any problem.

This is how looks success via flashcmd from ESPeasy :)

Code: Select all

Comport (example 3, 4, ..)           :3
Flash Size (example 512, 1024, 4096) :1024
Build (example 71, 72, ..)           :120
Using com port: 3
Using bin file: ESPEasy_R120_1024.bin
esptool v0.4.6 - (c) 2014 Ch. Klippel <ck@atelier-klippel.de>
        setting board to nodemcu
        setting baudrate from 115200 to 115200
        setting port from COM1 to COM3
        setting address from 0x00000000 to 0x00000000
        espcomm_upload_file
        stat ESPEasy_R120_1024.bin success
        setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
opening bootloader
resetting board
trying to connect
        flush start
        setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
        setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
        flush complete
        espcomm_send_command: sending command header
        espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
        read 0, requested 1
trying to connect
        flush start
        setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
        setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
        flush complete
        espcomm_send_command: sending command header
        espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_open
Uploading 411264 bytes from ESPEasy_R120_1024.bin to flash at 0x00000000
        erasing flash
        size: 064680 address: 000000
        first_sector_index: 0
        total_sector_count: 101
        head_sector_count: 16
        adjusted_sector_count: 85
        adjusted_size: 055000
        espcomm_send_command: sending command header
        espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
        setting serial port timeouts to 10000 ms
        setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        writing flash
................................................................................
................................................................................
................................................................................
................................................................................
................................................................................
..
starting app without reboot
        espcomm_send_command: sending command header
        espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
closing bootloader
        flush start
        setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
        setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
        flush complete
Pokračujte stisknutím libovolné klávesy...

vojtishek
Normal user
Posts: 70
Joined: 12 Jan 2017, 08:00

Re: ESPeasy not that easy?

#61 Post by vojtishek » 02 Feb 2017, 22:47

@CoolRemote

If you have problems with adding to Domoticz. Make sure you add correct address into controller ip address in settings of espeasy. Then do not forget to fill in password If your domoticz is protected by password.
Then add dummy device in settings technical...and add virtual device Switch. Do not forget to match idx with espeasy.

Then go to Switches tab and settings for new switch. Change Icon for Generic ON/OFF switch and use this link for

turn on action: http://<ESPeasy IP adress>/control?cmd=GPIO,12,1
turn off action:http://<ESPeasy IP adress>/control?cmd=GPIO,12,0

If you will have still troubles, then I can make some screens or you can provide yours to find an issue.

Cheers
Vojta

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests