Odd problems when trying to write to H801 Wifi Controller

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

cradleinflames
New user

Odd problems when trying to write to H801 Wifi Controller

#1 Post by cradleinflames » 11 Mar 2017, 07:55

Hello everyone,

A little background, I'm an electrical engineer with experience working with software, hardware, firmware, systems design, etc so I have a pretty good grasp of the firmware programming process. However, I've been at this a while and figure I'm probably missing something really basic (that's usually the issue when most people can get something working and you can't . . . usually user error) so I'm assuming that's my issue and I need a second set of eyes. Unfortunately, I don't have anyone near me with this kind of experience so I was hoping you guys can take a look at what I'm doing and see if I'm missing something.

I'm trying to get the H801 Wifi controller to work and have been following the following video to get it going:

https://youtu.be/3Kg_-bmBErM?t=4m36s

The command he's using is shown in the video. The problem I'm getting is I keep seeing "access is denied" when trying to run the command and I can't seem to wrap my head around what's going on. Below is a description of the attachments:

1) This is the file structure I'm using to program the flash on my controller before I've called any commands
2) This is the command I'm putting in. You will notice it says "access denied". No idea what this refers to and I can't find any references on this board about the same issue
3) This is the file structure after I've called any sort of command (even navigating to the folder in dos and typing dir/p will cause the esptool.exe file to disappear. Maybe this is normal and it's being created during the execution process. Maybe not, but I thought it was worth noting
4) This is what I'm getting when I try and run the flash.cmd file. I'm assuming I'm seeing this error because the esptools.exe is disappearing