Page 1 of 1

Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 20:26
by Bronden
Hi. I was wondering if anyone hire would have the skillset to add the IOT portal Cayenne / https://mydevices.com/ to the supported portals.

The Cayenne project has a very nice interface, a very good app and is just a delight to work with. Combined with Esp Easy it would be Very powerfull!

Hope for some feedback. Or maybe som inputs on howto do it.

Cayenne also runs MQTT.

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 01 Nov 2017, 16:44
by panchovilla
I think that is a great idea. I am trying to find a way to implement it into Cayenne, but unfortunately I don't have the skills to do it....

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 17 Jan 2018, 20:53
by mstjerna
Hi

I would also love a integration to Cayenne!
The issue today if I chose generic MQTT integration in the ESPEasy is that the key-length for Cayenne is longer than the webinterface allows.
I think this would be a easy task for the right person to add, maybe as a new entry in the "Controllers page"

The cayenne have a generic ESP8266 library created so it should be possible to just borrow/implement parts of this directly to the ESPEasy...
https://github.com/myDevicesIoT/Cayenne-MQTT-ESP

One issue with the current ESPEasy is the lengt of "Mqtt Username", "Mqtt Password" and "Client ID", Cayenne uses 36, 40, 36 char
There is a topic on the ESPEasy GIT that thiscuss some changes to the MQTT but the length isn't part of this as I can see?
https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/issues/378

There are also changes planned for 2.1.0 but I don't know if this would be resolved?
2.1.0 (planned)
Security
Revamp MQTT handling (send cmd to "all" and "group", not only single unit)
Generic MQTT handling (+QoS)

Image

I would love to see this implemented as a generic feature in the ESPEasy or as a seperate plugin. Cayenne seems to be a great service for the people that don't have the time or skill to setup a RaspberyPI with Openhab or any other HomeAutomation software...

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 18 Jan 2018, 11:16
by TD-er
I was working on MQTT issues last night and I guess -judging on the issues added today- I will be tonight.
So please add these requests to the corresponding github issues and use thumbs-up tags to make it easier to sort for me ;)

Problem with longer strings in the settings is that it renders stored configurations unusable.
So that's kind of a thing.
Maybe we should also think about how to solve that.

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 17 Jun 2020, 06:12
by EDsteve
I don't think it has because i know how busy you guys are. But i would also love to have a Cayenne integration. Did anything happen in that direction?
mstjerna wrote: 17 Jan 2018, 20:53 The issue today if I chose generic MQTT integration in the ESPEasy is that the key-length for Cayenne is longer than the webinterface allows.
Is that still same situation? I can't even find the option "generic MQTT integration" :D

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 17 Jun 2020, 09:07
by TD-er
The controllers now have the option for "extended credentials"
This allows for longer username/pass

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 17 Jun 2020, 10:41
by EDsteve
Do you know by any chance which controller i should choose to send data to Cayenne? Someone talked about "Generic MQTT"... But i don't see that in the last built.

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 17 Jun 2020, 12:07
by grovkillen
Try the open hab one.

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 18 Jun 2020, 05:45
by EDsteve
TD-er wrote: 17 Jun 2020, 09:07 The controllers now have the option for "extended credentials"
This allows for longer username/pass
Hmm. Doesn't seem to work on my side. I am running the mega-20200608 and when i input the Controller User. It cuts off 30% or so. Is that only a GUI problem or still not fixed?

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 18 Jun 2020, 05:49
by grovkillen
It's only visual, it should work.

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 18 Jun 2020, 11:52
by TD-er
Have you reloaded the page after turning on the extended credentials? (and saving)
It could be the input field uses a max. length which is set based on the state of that checkbox at loading the page.

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Posted: 19 Jun 2020, 06:24
by EDsteve
Yes. The extended credentials works fine. *Thumbs up*

The same clientID for two devices will not work (I did that for testing and it took me a while to figure out what actually was the problem)

At the end i managed to receive data on Cayenne. Here my settings in case somebody else needs it: