Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
ManS-H
Normal user
Posts: 234
Joined: 27 Dec 2015, 11:26
Location: the Netherlands

Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#1 Post by ManS-H » 28 Jun 2018, 21:00

Situation:
Six several ESP devices, three with ESP Easy 145 firmware en three with ESP Easy Mega V2.0 firmware.
All six connected with a modem/router of my provider (Ziggo in my case).
With the three with 145 firmware i have never a problem, working now 260, 248 and 75 days.
The three with the ESP Easy Mega firmware they loose after some time the connection with the modem/router.
The first time i saw that problem was resetting the Mega modules, but that wasn't the solution.
What i do now is reset the modem/router, after that the Mega version are online again.
What i don't understand is why the 145 firmware doesn't have this problems.

Part of three ESP Easy 145 modules

3943932166 : EVENT: Clock#Time=Thu,19:51
3943958687 : WD : Uptime 357460 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 26344

2134425262 : EVENT: Clock#Time=Thu,19:53
2134451528 : WD : Uptime 107479 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 26376

411912215 : EVENT: Clock#Time=Thu,19:54
411914285 : WD : Uptime 374228 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 25752

Parts of log files of two ESP Easy Mega modules, and yes i see a lot of connect failures
1442747005 : BME : Address: 0x76
1442747005 : BME : Temperature: 25.83
1442747005 : BME : Humidity: 40.03
1442747005 : BME : Barometric Pressure: 1019.07
1442747007 : EVENT: Slaapkamer#Temperature=22.86
1442747088 : EVENT: Slaapkamer#Humidity=43.31
1442747169 : EVENT: Slaapkamer#Pressure=1020.75
1442747686 : EVENT: Clock#Time=Thu,19:48
1442747794 : WD : Uptime 95558 ConnectFailures 797 FreeMem 22112

2483162928 : BME : Humidity: 29.27
2483162928 : BME : Barometric Pressure: 1017.92
2483162930 : EVENT: T1#Temperature=26.45
2483163061 : EVENT: T1#Humidity=43.07
2483163195 : EVENT: T1#Pressure=1020.06
2483163467 : Domoticz: Sensortype: 4 idx: 3268 values: 26.5;43;1;1020.1;0
2483165276 : WD : Uptime 112892 ConnectFailures 804 FreeMem 14808

I hope someone can explain this to me.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3331
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#2 Post by grovkillen » 28 Jun 2018, 21:04

Did the mega versions reboot or how did you first start to see the problem? And what versions are they running exactly?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
ManS-H
Normal user
Posts: 234
Joined: 27 Dec 2015, 11:26
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#3 Post by ManS-H » 28 Jun 2018, 21:22

grovkillen wrote:
28 Jun 2018, 21:04
Did the mega versions reboot or how did you first start to see the problem? And what versions are they running exactly?
The first time i didnt see the temperature is Domoticz, then i reboot 'the ESP's. But it's strange that all the three ESP's are not visible.

Now i reset the modem/router and then the three Mega's are visible again, so yesterday i did that trick again.

My ESP Easy Mega versions:
GIT version: v2.0-20180228
GIT version: v2.0.0-dev12
GIT version: mega-20180428

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3331
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#4 Post by grovkillen » 28 Jun 2018, 21:47

Could you update one of the misbehaving units to latest nightly?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
ManS-H
Normal user
Posts: 234
Joined: 27 Dec 2015, 11:26
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#5 Post by ManS-H » 28 Jun 2018, 21:52

grovkillen wrote:
28 Jun 2018, 21:47
Could you update one of the misbehaving units to latest nightly?
Yes, i will do that tomorrow, and then i wil check every the log files.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1935
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#6 Post by TD-er » 29 Jun 2018, 00:15

Also don't forget to do a reset by pressing the reset button (or power cycle) after flashing.
If the node tries to reboot for whatever reason, it will hang if you did not reset the node after flashing.

Since the end of march, I have changed the way the wifi works. It now starts almost immediately and handles the wifi connection afterwards.
This means it does all the wifi steps by itself and maybe there is still some issue in there.
Also try to set the Message Delay to a lower value (e.g. 100 instead of 1000).

User avatar
ManS-H
Normal user
Posts: 234
Joined: 27 Dec 2015, 11:26
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#7 Post by ManS-H » 29 Jun 2018, 11:36

grovkillen wrote:
28 Jun 2018, 21:47
Could you update one of the misbehaving units to latest nightly?
@ grovkillen and TD-er,
I have all the three units updated to ESP_Easy_mega-20180625_normal_ESP8266_4096, and did a power cycle after flashing.

I will control ever day the state of the units. I keep in touch.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3331
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#8 Post by grovkillen » 29 Jun 2018, 11:49

ManS-H wrote:
29 Jun 2018, 11:36
grovkillen wrote:
28 Jun 2018, 21:47
Could you update one of the misbehaving units to latest nightly?
@ grovkillen and TD-er,
I have all the three units updated to ESP_Easy_mega-20180625_normal_ESP8266_4096, and did a power cycle after flashing.

I will control ever day the state of the units. I keep in touch.
Thanks!
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
ManS-H
Normal user
Posts: 234
Joined: 27 Dec 2015, 11:26
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#9 Post by ManS-H » 04 Jul 2018, 12:26

After 5 days three of the ESP's lost the connection.
This was the situation of yesterday.
The attachment ESP Easy-normal.JPG is no longer available
Attachments
ESP Easy-normal.JPG
ESP Easy-normal.JPG (47.17 KiB) Viewed 2948 times

User avatar
ManS-H
Normal user
Posts: 234
Joined: 27 Dec 2015, 11:26
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#10 Post by ManS-H » 04 Jul 2018, 12:31

This the situation of this morning.
The attachment ESP Easy-fail.JPG is no longer available
Attachments
ESP Easy-fail.JPG
Situation this morning
ESP Easy-fail.JPG (27.43 KiB) Viewed 2945 times

User avatar
ManS-H
Normal user
Posts: 234
Joined: 27 Dec 2015, 11:26
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#11 Post by ManS-H » 04 Jul 2018, 12:32

The last report was at around 5 o clock this morning.
ESP Easy-Domoticz.JPG
ESP Easy-Domoticz.JPG (29.57 KiB) Viewed 2810 times
I have no idea what i can do to solve this problem.

maconly34
Normal user
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 May 2019, 00:35

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#12 Post by maconly34 » 11 May 2019, 00:37

Hello,
same problem for me!
Have you find a solution?

Thank's
Bruno

dirk_k
Normal user
Posts: 19
Joined: 19 Aug 2017, 22:41

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#13 Post by dirk_k » 11 May 2019, 10:41

For my environment i build a watchdog.
Send uptime to MQTT. receive this data again. Compare uptime and watchdog and reboot if difference is too big.
i use my own MQTT server ... reacheble over GSM from ESPEasy-sensor.
Currently i get a uptime of max 5 days ... but seems the watchdog is'nt the reboot reason mostly.
(Firmware: Mar 15 2019)

maconly34
Normal user
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 May 2019, 00:35

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#14 Post by maconly34 » 16 Jun 2019, 23:02

Hello Dirk_k,
thank for this info, so the problem is always on!

P.S. what is your ESPeasy-sensor that communicate with GSM ??? it's very interesting!
I need technology to build ESPeasy sensor radio controllable for long distance (up to 150 meters) and not like actualy in Wifi with my Weemos module ESPeasy-sensors.

Thank's for help.
Bruno

dirk_k
Normal user
Posts: 19
Joined: 19 Aug 2017, 22:41

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#15 Post by dirk_k » 17 Jun 2019, 19:22

i use 2 sensors to controll temperature and watering.
first one is a wemos d1mini connected 3 temperature sensors and updating dyndns.
second is a sonoff basic controlling water at the summer and heating at the winter.
both using a simple gsm-wlan-router

maconly34
Normal user
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 May 2019, 00:35

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#16 Post by maconly34 » 18 Jun 2019, 18:59

Hello Dirk,
thank's for this answer.
What is the communication technology of your Module with Weemos min D1 : have you add a radio module ( 2,4GHz nRF24L01) or only use with the integrated wifi?

P.S. for the communication bug, it's about 15 min. after reset my module.
Bug near Uptime 20
Log : 244797 : WD : Uptime 4 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 17168

GIT version mega-20180316
Build 20100 - Mega (core 2_3_0)

now I try with last version...
First problem : error to login, because need a login and password, but before need only password !!!
What is my login name !!!
OK login founded : admin
Thank's

dirk_k
Normal user
Posts: 19
Joined: 19 Aug 2017, 22:41

Re: Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#17 Post by dirk_k » 19 Jun 2019, 22:41

booth modules use WIFI / MQTT and FHEM for communication.

maconly34
Normal user
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 May 2019, 00:35

SOLVED : Connection problems with ESP Easy Mega V2.0

#18 Post by maconly34 » 19 Jun 2019, 23:32

Hey Dirk,
thank for information!

AND... my first problem is solved !!!

Simple update firmware with las version : ESP_Easy_mega-20190607_normal_core_252_ESP8266_4M.bin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests