OLED Display - HTTP Command - float number error

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
mchacher
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Aug 2018, 10:11

OLED Display - HTTP Command - float number error

#1 Post by mchacher » 29 Aug 2018, 22:18

Hi,

I would like to display floating point numbers on an OLED screen but I don't find the solution with http request.
To give you a simple example :
http://192.168.0.200/control?cmd=OLED,4,1,Temperature 20 is working perfectly
... but,
http://192.168.0.200/control?cmd=OLED,4,1,Temperature 20.3 is not showing any data on the screen

i am using the latest ESP_Easy_mega-20180826_normal_ESP8266_4096.bin build.

Any idea?

Thanks

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: OLED Display - HTTP Command - float number error

#2 Post by grovkillen » 30 Aug 2018, 06:49

Have you tried this one:

Code: Select all

http://192.168.0.200/control?cmd=OLED,4,1,"Temperature 20.3"
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

mchacher
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Aug 2018, 10:11

Re: OLED Display - HTTP Command - float number error

#3 Post by mchacher » 30 Aug 2018, 08:00

Yes I did the test and it doesn't work.
I got the following reply: Unknown or restricted command!

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: OLED Display - HTTP Command - float number error

#4 Post by grovkillen » 30 Aug 2018, 08:33

Just as a test if you remove the space between the temperature text and value, do you still have problem?

And I guess if you add a period "." somewhere else within that text string you try to pass you get the same result (= not working)?

If that's the case the period sign is causing the internal parser to not work properly and thus it's a bug. If so, please add it to the issue list on github.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

mchacher
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Aug 2018, 10:11

Re: OLED Display - HTTP Command - float number error

#5 Post by mchacher » 30 Aug 2018, 08:58

Ok thanks for your answer. I will check this evening french time at home and confirm. If a bug is confirmed I will look at a fix in the parser. Do you know which file is parsing the http request?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: OLED Display - HTTP Command - float number error

#6 Post by grovkillen » 30 Aug 2018, 10:02

mchacher wrote: 30 Aug 2018, 08:58 Ok thanks for your answer. I will check this evening french time at home and confirm. If a bug is confirmed I will look at a fix in the parser. Do you know which file is parsing the http request?
That would be in the pluign https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEas ... 3_OLED.ino
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

mchacher
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Aug 2018, 10:11

Re: OLED Display - HTTP Command - float number error

#7 Post by mchacher » 30 Aug 2018, 19:13

I think the bug is confirmed. I will post it on GitHub

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 77 guests