Reboot inside rules?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Message
Author
User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3140
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#51 Post by grovkillen » 11 Feb 2019, 16:40

You load the OTA bin file first and then you load the "real" bin file. Make sure you have everything backuped and documented of the update doesn't work!
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

megamarco83
Normal user
Posts: 119
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 23:09

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#52 Post by megamarco83 » 11 Feb 2019, 16:43

grovkillen wrote:
11 Feb 2019, 16:40
You load the OTA bin file first and then you load the "real" bin file. Make sure you have everything backuped and documented of the update doesn't work!
but between the load of the OTA first bin, and the second load of "real" bin, i have to reboot the ESP or just load the OTA and immediatly after that the new firmware bin, without reboot?
thanks

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#53 Post by manjh » 11 Feb 2019, 17:08

megamarco83 wrote:
11 Feb 2019, 14:50
manjh wrote:
10 Feb 2019, 21:59

Great, just my luck. I use a mix of Mega and B147. I could upgrade, but some units are hidden away and I don't feel like digging them out for this reason. Upgrading OTA does not always work from B147 to Mega, I found out the hard way. Needs a physical USB connection to get things right.

So, I am back to the "uptime" method, have changed the rules in all of my units.Now to wait and see if they reboot.
sorry for asking a litte bit off topic, but there is a way to update ESP with 1mb with new firmware using OTA ?
i see that there are the two step bin file but how to use it? thanks
I have tried once, but ran into problems. Settings were not correct and I could not get in at all. Ended up with a physical USB to my laptop, so I could make the settings right.
Note that this is for a major upgrade step, from 147 to Mega is quite a step.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3140
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#54 Post by grovkillen » 11 Feb 2019, 17:15

Oh, from R147 to mega is a no-no using OTA. I'd say you should not fix what's not broken or if you really need new features you need to connect the unit to a PC and do the complete new flash. Just remember to document everything you want to reconfigure!
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#55 Post by manjh » 11 Feb 2019, 17:31

grovkillen wrote:
11 Feb 2019, 17:15
Oh, from R147 to mega is a no-no using OTA. I'd say you should not fix what's not broken or if you really need new features you need to connect the unit to a PC and do the complete new flash. Just remember to document everything you want to reconfigure!
Yep, my thoughts exactly. "If it ain't broken, don't fix it". I'll stick to 147 until I see a good reason to migrate.
Also, I think I am still using one unit on B124, with a special modification : a 1024 RX buffer.
This was needed to use the P1 meter interface.

megamarco83
Normal user
Posts: 119
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 23:09

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#56 Post by megamarco83 » 12 Feb 2019, 21:24

grovkillen wrote:
11 Feb 2019, 16:40
You load the OTA bin file first and then you load the "real" bin file. Make sure you have everything backuped and documented of the update doesn't work!
i try again with unit ESP01 with 1mb memory
i have fw espmega release Aug 9 2018 and i load the ESPEasy_2step_UploaderMega_1024.bin
from the last gitub release
i receive the error:
Update error: ERROR[4]: Not Enough Space

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3140
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#57 Post by grovkillen » 12 Feb 2019, 21:34

Okay, yes then it's too big :?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

megamarco83
Normal user
Posts: 119
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 23:09

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#58 Post by megamarco83 » 12 Feb 2019, 21:46

so, no way to update OTA the 1mb device with espmega?
Last edited by megamarco83 on 12 Feb 2019, 21:57, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3140
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#59 Post by grovkillen » 12 Feb 2019, 21:48

Not with the current OTA bin together with those big versions already on there.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#60 Post by manjh » 12 Feb 2019, 21:59

Do what I do, when all else fails: dig out the ESP unit, bring it to your desk, and use an old-fashioned USB cable to connect to serial. This way you should be able to load.

megamarco83
Normal user
Posts: 119
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 23:09

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#61 Post by megamarco83 » 12 Feb 2019, 22:06

yes, right, i did in this way for my esp01, but sometimes is hard to reach some esp located in my house

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#62 Post by manjh » 12 Feb 2019, 23:56

megamarco83 wrote:
12 Feb 2019, 22:06
yes, right, i did in this way for my esp01, but sometimes is hard to reach some esp located in my house
I know the feeling...😢😢😢

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3140
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#63 Post by grovkillen » 13 Feb 2019, 05:38

At some point the size became too small. I suggest adding a bigger memory to it if you plan on updating it often.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

megamarco83
Normal user
Posts: 119
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 23:09

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#64 Post by megamarco83 » 13 Feb 2019, 09:44

grovkillen wrote:
13 Feb 2019, 05:38
At some point the size became too small. I suggest adding a bigger memory to it if you plan on updating it often.
the problem is that the device are sonoff basic that has on board only 1mb memory...so that's the problem.
and it's not possibile to add memory to this device :(

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3140
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#65 Post by grovkillen » 13 Feb 2019, 12:19

Yes I know. (But you can replace the 1 MB mem in ESP8266 with a 4 MB of you have good soldering skills).

EDIT: if they are ESP8285 then no.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#66 Post by manjh » 13 Feb 2019, 12:20

It is still strange that the bin file listed as 1M, does not fit into a 1M memory... :oops:

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3140
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#67 Post by grovkillen » 13 Feb 2019, 12:21

I does fit if you do a cable flash.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
iron
Normal user
Posts: 78
Joined: 24 Sep 2016, 08:37
Location: Veria, Greece
Contact:

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#68 Post by iron » 13 Feb 2019, 12:27

manjh wrote:
13 Feb 2019, 12:20
It is still strange that the bin file listed as 1M, does not fit into a 1M memory... :oops:
If you do it Over The Air the target device has to has enough room to operate from the existing 1M file and store the new 1M file, so physically impossible.

If you do it over serial then you simply over-write the last one with the new one

-D
-D

megamarco83
Normal user
Posts: 119
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 23:09

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#69 Post by megamarco83 » 13 Feb 2019, 12:38

yes, that correct and understandable, but is not possible to create a very small update (like 2 step OTA) to:
1) in one step substitute the current fw installed (espmega) with the smollest one (it will be only a bridge)
2) in second step substitute the little fw bridge installed with update 1mb new version of espmega
i think that this is the purpose of 2step ota update, but it not works giving back the error: "not enought space"

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3140
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#70 Post by grovkillen » 13 Feb 2019, 12:58

We know that the current minimal being done kb too big.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Djoe
Normal user
Posts: 21
Joined: 27 Aug 2018, 09:04

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#71 Post by Djoe » 26 Feb 2019, 05:35

megamarco83 wrote:
13 Feb 2019, 12:38
yes, that correct and understandable, but is not possible to create a very small update (like 2 step OTA) to:
1) in one step substitute the current fw installed (espmega) with the smollest one (it will be only a bridge)
2) in second step substitute the little fw bridge installed with update 1mb new version of espmega
i think that this is the purpose of 2step ota update, but it not works giving back the error: "not enought space"
If you compile your own fw, you can have enough space to upload the OTA bin.
I have already do it with recent Mega without any issues.
The issue is after, on the 2d step: after uploading the new fw, the ota bin reboot, and the sonoff basic is frozen.

A complet report is here:
https://www.letscontrolit.com/forum/vi ... 70#p33937

megamarco83
Normal user
Posts: 119
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 23:09

Re: Reboot inside rules?

#72 Post by megamarco83 » 26 Feb 2019, 14:26

Djoe wrote:
26 Feb 2019, 05:35

If you compile your own fw, you can have enough space to upload the OTA bin.
I have already do it with recent Mega without any issues.
The issue is after, on the 2d step: after uploading the new fw, the ota bin reboot, and the sonoff basic is frozen.

A complet report is here:
https://www.letscontrolit.com/forum/vi ... 70#p33937
thanks for report, but since now i see the same issue...is not possible to update sonoff with OTA
only with serial cable, but the problem is that my sonoff is not easy to reach, and i have to disconnect also the power...very big work...
i hope the soon as possible the updating of 1mb device will be possible.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests