ESP Easy and BME280 data

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
johntech2004
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Oct 2018, 17:54

ESP Easy and BME280 data

#1 Post by johntech2004 » 03 Nov 2018, 14:25

I finally upgraded all my esp8266 boards with the latest ESP Easy software. I'm using the BME280 devices and viewing the LOG option from the TOOLS tab, to view the data from the sensor. I notice it is giving me a Dew Point reading along with the Temp, Humidity, and Pressure. In the Device Setup tab for the sensor, there isn't a "Value box" for the Dew Point. Is that something that can be added?

Thanks

John

User avatar
ManS-H
Normal user
Posts: 279
Joined: 27 Dec 2015, 11:26
Location: the Netherlands

Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data

#2 Post by ManS-H » 03 Nov 2018, 14:34

johntech2004 wrote: 03 Nov 2018, 14:25 I finally upgraded all my esp8266 boards with the latest ESP Easy software. I'm using the BME280 devices and viewing the LOG option from the TOOLS tab, to view the data from the sensor. I notice it is giving me a Dew Point reading along with the Temp, Humidity, and Pressure. In the Device Setup tab for the sensor, there isn't a "Value box" for the Dew Point. Is that something that can be added?

Thanks

John
Look here, maybe this is your solution.
viewtopic.php?t=3013

johntech2004
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Oct 2018, 17:54

Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data

#3 Post by johntech2004 » 03 Nov 2018, 15:23

Since the sensor is putting out that information already, I didn't know how easy it would be to add that field to the BME280 data information to have it display automatically.

Ton_vN
Normal user
Posts: 300
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 15:20
Location: Hengelo (Ov)/ NL
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data

#4 Post by Ton_vN » 03 Nov 2018, 16:52

Direct access is better, but if BME280's data on Dew Point cannot be directly accessed, why not use a Dummy Device?
See https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... example.29

Shardan
Normal user
Posts: 1156
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 23:27
Location: Bielefeld / Germany

Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data

#5 Post by Shardan » 04 Nov 2018, 11:19

Guys, please read what Threads Opener hast written!

The BME 280 already does all calculations for dew point.
It ist Not necessary to recalculate it.

Question is if ESPEasy is able oder can be enabled to use a
fourth value in the Task.
Regards
Shardan

Donnie
Normal user
Posts: 11
Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 20:53

Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data

#6 Post by Donnie » 15 Jan 2019, 03:25

Actually I am also interested in getting the dew point information from the BME280 and then want to send it over MQTT.

Is there a way to get that value from the sensor directly?

kimot
Normal user
Posts: 190
Joined: 12 Oct 2017, 20:46

Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data

#7 Post by kimot » 15 Jan 2019, 14:24

Guys, please read what datasheets has written! :o

https://ae-bst.resource.bosch.com/media ... -DS002.pdf

I'm curious, if anyone finds a registry number where the dew point can be read at BME280.
Or that it was not there?

At "BME280 plugin" dew point is calculated by plugin itself and then logged:

Code: Select all

if (sensor.hasHumidity()) {
    if (loglevelActiveFor(LOG_LEVEL_INFO)) {
      log += F(" dew point ");
      log += sensor.last_dew_temp_val;
      log += F("C");
      logAdded = true;
}
calculated here:

Code: Select all

sensor.last_dew_temp_val = compute_dew_point_temp(sensor.last_temp_val + (tempOffset / 2.0), sensor.last_hum_val);

Code: Select all

float compute_dew_point_temp(float temperature, float humidity_percentage) {
  return pow(humidity_percentage / 100.0, 0.125) *
(112.0 + 0.9*temperature) + 0.1*temperature - 112.0;

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests