Page 1 of 1

What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 14 Dec 2018, 13:32
by marceloMiranda
Hello everyone!

I'm trying to use ESP32 but the ESP_EASY network does not appear for me to connect to 192.168.4.1.

I am using the latest mega-20181214 version and used the two programs that come in it ...

I programmed using the commands below:

esptool -p / dev / ttyUSB0 write_flash 0x00000 ESP_Easy_mega-20181214_esp32test_1M8_partition.bin

esptool -p / dev / ttyUSB0 write_flash 0x00000 ESP_Easy_mega-20181214_esp32dev.bin

The two modules are as follows:
esp32modules.jpeg
esp32modules.jpeg (69.28 KiB) Viewed 14608 times
Nothing happened, so I connected the serial and a message appears below:
esp32.png
esp32.png (159.16 KiB) Viewed 14608 times
What am I doing wrong? :?:

Best regards
Marcelo Miranda

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 17 Dec 2018, 14:25
by marceloMiranda
:cry:
Why nobody answers me?
ESP32 would it be in another topic?

Marcelo Miranda

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 17 Dec 2018, 15:33
by grovkillen
marceloMiranda wrote: 17 Dec 2018, 14:25 :cry:
Why nobody answers me?
ESP32 would it be in another topic?

Marcelo Miranda
ESP32 support is still experimental and we are very pressured by the release of a first stable for the ESP82XX. Please be patient and we'll get going on the ESP32 in early next year.

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 17 Dec 2018, 16:03
by waspie
looks like its in flash mode?

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 17 Dec 2018, 17:06
by marceloMiranda
Sorry to bother you.
You need any help I can by testing something, please let me know.

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 18 Dec 2018, 17:21
by Tommmii
i just flashed ESPEasy_mega-20181218.zip without any problems.

I think perhaps you neglected to flash the extra bin files :
  • boot_app0.bin
  • bootloader.bin
  • ESPEasy.ino.partitions.bin

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 18 Dec 2018, 18:45
by marceloMiranda
I neglected to flash the extra bin, but how you program...
See considering the latest version "Release mega-20181218" I download zip and inside has only 2 file about ESP32 ...

• boot_app0.bin → may be ESP_Easy_mega-20181218_esp32dev.bin
• bootloader.bin → :?:
• ESPEasy.ino.partitions.bin → may be ESP_Easy_mega-20181218_esp32test_1M8_partition.bin

Then a try the comand bellow:
esptool -p /dev/ttyUSB0 --baud 115200 write_flash --flash_freq 40m 0x1000 ESP_Easy_mega-20181218_esp32dev.bin

esptool.py v2.1
Connecting.......
Detecting chip type... ESP32
Chip is ESP32D0WDQ6 (revision (unknown 0xa))
Enabling default SPI flash mode...
Configuring flash size...
Auto-detected Flash size: 4MB
Erasing flash...
Took 4.56s to erase flash block
Wrote 1294336 bytes at 0x00001000 in 126.7 seconds (81.7 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.

Leaving...
Hard resetting…

any again don work...

Please, how you program your ESP32?

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 05 Oct 2019, 16:21
by Hamed
Any comments on this problem ?

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 05 Oct 2019, 16:59
by TD-er
Is it still a problem when flashing the latest nightly built ESP32 files?
I only flashed them using the programming environment.

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 06 Oct 2019, 21:46
by Shardan
Any usefull "HowTo flash ESp32"? Nothing in the Wiki, afaik.

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 12 Oct 2019, 20:33
by Sasch600xt
Shardan wrote: 06 Oct 2019, 21:46 Any usefull "HowTo flash ESp32"? Nothing in the Wiki, afaik.

Yes, that would be great.

I have an esp32 here and just for fun i would love to flash espeasy to it.

But it wont work for me, so i would need a kinda "How to flash esp32 firmware in a few steps"

So if you have a little "How to" let me know :)

Thank you so much :)

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 13 Oct 2019, 14:57
by Shardan
I'd really like some advice how to flash an ESP32.
Sadly I have no clue how to do that.
I could write a wiki about that but at this time my job
takes every minute so I lack time to find out everything by myself.

I've some ESP32-nodeMCUs here waiting......

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 13 Oct 2019, 20:44
by TD-er
I only flashed them using the programmer environment and that one is using esptool.py to flash.

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 13 Oct 2019, 21:55
by Sasch600xt
so do i have to connect gpio0 and gpio2 to GND to enter boot mode so i can flash espeasy ?

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 13 Oct 2019, 22:03
by TD-er
Depends on the setup.
Some boards use the "node MCU" way of restart to flash mode.
This is also supported in the esptool.py flasher as reset option.
At least GPIO-0 should be held low at boot to enter flash mode.

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 13 Oct 2019, 22:19
by Sasch600xt
Thank you for your answere :)

maybe i should wait untill there is an easy way to flash.

now i would say i have an "half" operating system on my ESP32.

I did use the "ESP.Easy.Flasher.exe" to flash the esp32_Test build.
(gpio0 and gpio2 where LOW)

After that an ESP is showing up as Wifi AP, i can connect, but when i try to open 192.168.4.1 nothing apears :(

When i type "ipconfig" in cmd it shows my laptop has got the 192.168.4.2 and the gateway is 192.168.4.1
So this should be fine i think

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 13 Oct 2019, 22:35
by TD-er
Well if you flashed it, then it should also accept commands from serial.
So you could set the SSID and password using any serial terminal, or even the ESPEasy flasher.
See: https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... nds-listed
wifikey and wifissid.

Re: What am I doing wrong with the ESP32 module?

Posted: 17 Oct 2019, 16:04
by Shardan
Testing will be lonely when there is no HowTo for flashing...
I gave in meanwhile, didn't get any ESP32 to run.