Fallback SSID

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
dampa
Normal user
Posts: 39
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Fallback SSID

#1 Post by dampa » 04 Jan 2019, 12:01

device: WeMos D1 mini
espeasy: mega-20181231
macOS 10.13.6
Arduino IDE 1.8.8

I have set the D1 mini with a primary SSID (helmsdeep) and a fallback SSID (Mines of Moria). When I boot the device and watch the serial monitor in the Arduino IDE and I see:

INIT : Booting version: mega-20181231 (ESP82xx Core 2_4_2, NONOS SDK 2.2.1(cfd48f3), LWIP: 2.0.3 PUYA support)
112 : INIT : Warm boot #6 - Restart Reason: External System
114 : FS : Mounting...
139 : FS : Mount successful, used 75802 bytes of 957314
490 : CRC : program checksum ...OK
502 : CRC : SecuritySettings CRC ...OK
602 : INIT : Free RAM:23112
603 : INIT : I2C
604 : INIT : SPI not enabled
1453 : INFO : Plugins: 46 [Normal] (ESP82xx Core 2_4_2, NONOS SDK 2.2.1(cfd48f3), LWIP: 2.0.3 PUYA support)
1456 : WIFI : Set WiFi to STA
1489 : WIFI : Connecting helmsdeep attempt #0
1531 : DHT : No Reading
1539 : ADC : Analog value: 0
1599 : DS : Temperature: 0.00 (28-d6-3f-be-5-0-0-32)
2837 : WD : Uptime 0 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 21144
4355 : WIFI : Disconnected! Reason: '(201) No AP found' Connected for 2865 ms

And nothing else ever shows. For two days I've been fignting with this trying to figure out why it wouldn't connect with the fallback SSID. I've rebooted, reflashed the D1 mini (don't ask how many times) and nothing more shows on the Arduino log.

Today I finally discovered how to use the commands in the arduino IDE and when I did a 'Status' low and behold, I was connected to the fallback SSID.

My question is: Why doesn't the serial monoter of the IDE show the connection to the fallback SSID?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3262
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fallback SSID

#2 Post by grovkillen » 04 Jan 2019, 12:14

What is you serial log level set to?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

dampa
Normal user
Posts: 39
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Re: Fallback SSID

#3 Post by dampa » 04 Jan 2019, 12:30

I assume you mean in ESPeasy.
Syslog IP: blank
Syslog Level: None
Syslog Facility: Kernel
Serial log Level: None
Web log Level: Info

I just changed Serial log Level to 'Info' and now I see:

INIT : Booting version: mega-20181231 (ESP82xx Core 2_4_2, NONOS SDK 2.2.1(cfd48f3), LWIP: 2.0.3 PUYA support)
112 : INIT : Warm boot #7 - Restart Reason: External System
114 : FS : Mounting...
139 : FS : Mount successful, used 75802 bytes of 957314
490 : CRC : program checksum ...OK
528 : CRC : SecuritySettings CRC ...OK
628 : INIT : Free RAM:23112
629 : INIT : I2C
630 : INIT : SPI not enabled
1479 : INFO : Plugins: 46 [Normal] (ESP82xx Core 2_4_2, NONOS SDK 2.2.1(cfd48f3), LWIP: 2.0.3 PUYA support)
1482 : WIFI : Set WiFi to STA
1515 : WIFI : Connecting helmsdeep attempt #0
1557 : DHT : No Reading
1565 : ADC : Analog value: 0
1625 : DS : Temperature: 0.00 (28-d6-3f-be-5-0-0-32)
2866 : WD : Uptime 0 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 21144
4386 : WIFI : Disconnected! Reason: '(201) No AP found' Connected for 2869 ms
5309 : WIFI : Connecting helmsdeep attempt #1
8170 : WIFI : Disconnected! Reason: '(201) No AP found' Connected for 2859 ms
8309 : WIFI : Connecting Mines of Moria attempt #2
12086 : WIFI : Connected! AP: Mines of Moria (28:CF:DA:B0:90:BF) Ch: 8 Duration: 3765 ms
12936 : WIFI : DHCP IP: 192.168.48.133 (plant01-19) GW: 192.168.48.1 SN: 255.255.255.0 duration: 861 ms
12953 : Webserver: start
13050 : MQTT : Intentional reconnect
13177 : MQTT : Failed to connect to broker
18421 : NTP : NTP replied: delay 91 mSec Accuracy increased by 0.812 seconds
18423 : Current Time Zone: STD time start: 2019-10-27 03:00:00 offset: -300 min
23279 : MQTT : Intentional reconnect


Ok, so now I see it reconnection, but since it was showing me infromation when it was set to 'None' don't you think that it shoud show the connection to the Fallack SSID?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3262
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fallback SSID

#4 Post by grovkillen » 04 Jan 2019, 12:32

Right from start the unit will output to serial but if set to "blank" it will stop after a while (about 5 seconds into the boot). But we will change this to output until a proper connection is made.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

dampa
Normal user
Posts: 39
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Re: Fallback SSID

#5 Post by dampa » 04 Jan 2019, 12:35

That will be great and maybe save someone eles from pulling their hair out like I did :D

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3262
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fallback SSID

#6 Post by grovkillen » 04 Jan 2019, 12:42

You're not the only one ;)
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

dampa
Normal user
Posts: 39
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Re: Fallback SSID

#7 Post by dampa » 04 Jan 2019, 12:50

Is there any way to mark this 'solved'? I was going to change the topic to 'Fallback SSID [solved] but can't seem to find a way to do it.

dampa
Normal user
Posts: 39
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Re: Fallback SSID

#8 Post by dampa » 04 Jan 2019, 12:58

Let me ask you this: Is there a way to define an IP address for the device when the base SSID address might be different.

For example, say I want the device to have a fixed IP nnn.nnn.nnn.19 but my primary SSID hands out 10.0.0.nnn address and my fallback SSID hands back IP of 192.168.1.nnn? I was wondering if it could be done in rules.

Up to now, I've been assinging devices their IP address's and that has worked fine on my own network - but trying to get this setup for my son's network is giving me a bit of a challenge.

Any thoughts?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3262
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fallback SSID

#9 Post by grovkillen » 04 Jan 2019, 15:38

That would require some mind set to it. I will need to think a bit. Totally understand the use though!
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
iron
Normal user
Posts: 84
Joined: 24 Sep 2016, 08:37
Location: Veria, Greece
Contact:

Re: Fallback SSID

#10 Post by iron » 04 Jan 2019, 16:37

dampa wrote:
04 Jan 2019, 12:58
Let me ask you this: Is there a way to define an IP address for the device when the base SSID address might be different.

For example, say I want the device to have a fixed IP nnn.nnn.nnn.19 but my primary SSID hands out 10.0.0.nnn address and my fallback SSID hands back IP of 192.168.1.nnn? I was wondering if it could be done in rules.

Up to now, I've been assinging devices their IP address's and that has worked fine on my own network - but trying to get this setup for my son's network is giving me a bit of a challenge.

Any thoughts?
You can do so at the router level (as a quick way around it).

Set a DHCP to MAC addy so each router will DHCP a "known-static" IP to the ESP, from within it's own pool.

-D
-D

dampa
Normal user
Posts: 39
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Re: Fallback SSID

#11 Post by dampa » 04 Jan 2019, 18:36

yeah, I know I can do at the router, and being tech savy I can do it, but I don't want to have to explain to my son, over the phone how to do it on his router or anyone else if I give one to someone else. I also know that the device will work eithor place because it will be 'given' an IP address, but since I can specify the IP and gateway for the primary SSID, I'd like to be able to do it for the fallback one too.

If I could do it in rules, that would be great too, but while you can use a command to change the IP, you can't change the gateway so if you reboot, you're back to the address the router gives you.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3262
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fallback SSID

#12 Post by grovkillen » 04 Jan 2019, 18:47

Gateway,<IP>
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

dampa
Normal user
Posts: 39
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 01:48

Re: Fallback SSID

#13 Post by dampa » 04 Jan 2019, 18:51

I'll give that a try, but it's not in the list at https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... _Reference

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3262
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fallback SSID

#14 Post by grovkillen » 04 Jan 2019, 19:02

No I will add it.. ;)

And we're moving to https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/latest/
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests