Assembling own selection of Plug-Ins — Compilation via platformio required?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Wookbert
Normal user

Assembling own selection of Plug-Ins — Compilation via platformio required?

#1 Post by Wookbert » 30 Jan 2021, 11:22

I'm quite new to ESPEasy and need to combine the Plug-Ins Ser2Net, Infrared TX and others for use on an 4M ESP8266 (Wemos D1 mini). Unfortunately this Plug-In combination doesn't come pre-packed.

Do I understand it correctly that adding plug-in always requires compiling a new firmware file using PlatformIO, as — unfortunately not in its entirety — described here? Someone else was scratching his head on this previously.

If understood correct, it there any chance that ESPEasy will any time soon see a more user friendly Plug-In handling? I would imagine adding a desired Plug-Ins by uploading its binary via ESPEasy’s WebUI. Or is that already possible and I just don't know it!?

TD-er
Core team member

Re: Assembling own selection of Plug-Ins — Compilation via platformio required?

#2 Post by TD-er » 30 Jan 2021, 11:36

Yep, I am working on a build instance to make it more user friendly.
But that's not there yet.

You can also try this Vagrant build setup: https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/issues/2594

That doesn't require a full build setup, just installing Vagrant and configure a Custom.h file as described in that issue.

Wookbert
Normal user

#3 Post by Wookbert » 31 Jan 2021, 04:35

A basic improvement would be if one could upload the plug-ins in the Web UI via binary files which one has downloaded from github beforehand.

The killer implementation would be if the Web UI gets a list of all available plug-ins (w/ version numbers) from the official letcontrolit.com Server (which point to the latest versions on github), from which one can pick which ones to download directly and install.

Followed by auto-update option and/or (email) notification on new versions.

Ath
Normal user