Hi all

Moderators: rtenklooster, Voyager, BertB, Stuntteam

Post Reply
Message
Author
remb0
Normal user
Posts: 36
Joined: 24 Sep 2015, 23:47

Hi all

#1 Post by remb0 » 25 Sep 2015, 09:48

My name is remco.
I live in the netherlands and love domotica.
admin @ domoticz forum and a newbie in the world of esp arduino etc.

I'm a little bit lost in world of arduino and esp with all the versions, options and boards :P
And still looking for the best way to go.

for sensors connected to domoticz I think EasyESP it is.
mysensors software has more options (act as gateway, lots of sketches etc) but not as easy..

So I'm here to learn, test and having fun with elektronics..

asm7100
Normal user
Posts: 96
Joined: 13 Sep 2015, 21:45
Location: Denmark

Re: Hi all

#2 Post by asm7100 » 25 Sep 2015, 10:05

Hi, maby this can help you then or others

http://www.esp8266.com/wiki/doku.php?id ... ule-family
Last edited by asm7100 on 25 Sep 2015, 19:42, edited 1 time in total.
5xESP-01 - 3xESP-12 - 2xESP-12E 3xRPIb+ - 1xBPIm1 - 3xACTi DOME - 7xACTi Indoor cam. Lot off cisco equ.

Martinus

Re: Hi all

#3 Post by Martinus » 25 Sep 2015, 14:13

remb0 wrote:I'm a little bit lost in world of arduino and esp with all the versions, options and boards :P
And still looking for the best way to go.
Strong advice to all new users: Buy a NodeMCU V1 devboard to get you started for about 8 dollars on eBay...
Just plugin to USB, get the CP2102 serial driver and soon you will have your first ESP Easy running.
For production, you could use cheaper models without the USB.

Better focus on boards using the 4MB Flash instead of 512K on earlier versions.
If you buy the ESP01, there are newer versions (seen with black color pcb) that have 1MB flash.

Flash size will become more important because of the growing size of SDK + IDE Package + sketch. And the next release of ESP Easy will start to use the SPIFFS file system. (ESP01 has only 64kB left for SPIFFS, ESP12E can use 3MB!)

Foggy
Normal user
Posts: 8
Joined: 30 Aug 2015, 00:09

Re: Hi all

#4 Post by Foggy » 25 Sep 2015, 14:47

Thank you for your recommendation .

What is the difference between nodeMCU V1 and V2 ?
How do we know if they come with 4MB of flash. Or do we just assume they do ?

Many thanks.

James.

Martinus

Re: Hi all

#5 Post by Martinus » 25 Sep 2015, 15:19

Foggy wrote:Thank you for your recommendation .

What is the difference between nodeMCU V1 and V2 ?
How do we know if they come with 4MB of flash. Or do we just assume they do ?

Many thanks.

James.
They should be addressed as V0.9 and V1.0.
Changes on V1 are different USBSerial chip, smaller footprint and ESP12E module with a larger flash memory chip.

This is how the V1.0 version looks like:
Image

This is how the V0.9 looks like:
Image

remb0
Normal user
Posts: 36
Joined: 24 Sep 2015, 23:47

Re: Hi all

#6 Post by remb0 » 25 Sep 2015, 17:56

http://nl.aliexpress.com/item/NodeMcu-L ... 97795.html
china has also an improved version of the 1.

Martinus

Re: Hi all

#7 Post by Martinus » 25 Sep 2015, 19:34

remb0 wrote:http://nl.aliexpress.com/item/NodeMcu-L ... 97795.html
china has also an improved version of the 1.
I think this is also the version based on the devkit 1.0 schematics. As far as I know, this is the official Node MCU devkit website:

https://github.com/nodemcu
https://github.com/nodemcu/nodemcu-devkit-v1.0

You will find the schematics in pdf with versions devkit 0.9 and devkit 1.0.
But by others they are also referred to as V1 and V2 version boards.
I think that the black colored board is always the 1.0 with 4MB Flash on a ESP12E module.
The older one is a blue or yellow colored board.

asm7100
Normal user
Posts: 96
Joined: 13 Sep 2015, 21:45
Location: Denmark

Re: Hi all

#8 Post by asm7100 » 25 Sep 2015, 19:44

I have postet a link that shows the moduls
5xESP-01 - 3xESP-12 - 2xESP-12E 3xRPIb+ - 1xBPIm1 - 3xACTi DOME - 7xACTi Indoor cam. Lot off cisco equ.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests