Hallo! from Germany

Moderators: rtenklooster, Voyager, BertB, Stuntteam

stefan_z
New user

Hallo! from Germany

#1 Post by stefan_z » 04 Dec 2018, 13:59

Hey everyone.
I'm Stefan, Germany based Designer.

First Computer: Atari 520 ST/M, go figure… :-)
I have been tinkering with µC for about 15 years now - you know, when your first AVR ISP was either €120,– or a rats' nest of wires on the LPT of your PC.
Jumped on the Arduino train at some point and recently switched over to PlatformIO since the Arduino IDE is just terrible and VSC turns out to be that single piece of software M$ got at least half right.

This project (ESPEasy) interests me because it tries to make things simple - not consumer-grade-stoopid, but at least it gives a stable framework to rapidly develop basic use-cases - which most µC projects are anyway.

My programming skills are somewhat "limited" - I have written plenty of IC drivers and other logic stuff in AVR Bascom Basic back in the pre-Arduino-days, I can decipher protocols, writing functional C++ code is not a problem. But implementing a C++ lib with all those layers of crazy syntax sure is not my cup of tea (yet).

"Electronic skills": I know my way around most digital ICs and protocols on an embedded level, I understand the analog domain, but hardly ever bother with it :-)

Further skills include:
"Things designers do": Photoshop, InDesign, Fonts, Colors, Print-Production, etc., sitting in hourlong bullshit-bingo meetings, wishing I could write some code instead.
"Things web designers do": HTML, JS, CSS, PHP, Databases, recently WebGL and all sorts 'exotic' of stuff like WebWorkers, Events, Audio-/Video-Frameworks, JSON, you name it.
"Things bored designers do": eCAD (Altium), CAD/CAM (SolidWorks), 3D rendering (C4D) and obviously 3D printing these days.

So long story short: How can I help? :roll:
I could picture myself making a new web front end for the ESPEasy, maybe themed and with some nice sensor- and input-visuals.