ESPFinder

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
enesbcs
Normal user
Posts: 587
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 11:02
Location: Békéscsaba, Hungary
Contact:

ESPFinder

#1 Post by enesbcs » 09 Apr 2018, 21:20

ESP Easy Netscan is a very nice and handy application, thanks to grovkillen..
It's too bad, is just for Windows, so i stealed the idea, and made a simpler looking version in Python3 to Linux fans, like me. :)

ESPFinder first beta:
Screenshot
Screenshot
espfinder.jpg (172.81 KiB) Viewed 13073 times
Source code:
https://github.com/enesbcs/espfinder-python
Last edited by enesbcs on 09 Apr 2018, 21:30, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ESPFinder

#2 Post by grovkillen » 09 Apr 2018, 21:22

Happy to have inspired :D
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

AndrewJ
Normal user
Posts: 229
Joined: 14 Feb 2017, 12:38

Re: ESPFinder

#3 Post by AndrewJ » 10 Apr 2018, 09:02

Thanks enesbecs and grovkillen,
I'm also a Linux user, I will give it a try!
Thanks for sharing.
Andrew

sentinel
Normal user
Posts: 55
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 17:40

Re: ESPFinder

#4 Post by sentinel » 21 Apr 2018, 17:07

I tried installing espfinder, but I'm getting errors when executing "sudo pip3 install multiprocessing ctypes itertools contextlib". The error is:
Command "python setup.py egg_info" failed with error code 1

Do you know what am I missing? :?
Thanks

User avatar
enesbcs
Normal user
Posts: 587
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 11:02
Location: Békéscsaba, Hungary
Contact:

Re: ESPFinder

#5 Post by enesbcs » 21 Apr 2018, 18:48

sentinel wrote: 21 Apr 2018, 17:07 I tried installing espfinder, but I'm getting errors when executing "sudo pip3 install multiprocessing ctypes itertools contextlib". The error is:
Command "python setup.py egg_info" failed with error code 1

Do you know what am I missing? :?
Thanks
I am using Ubuntu Linux 16.04 with latest stable Python 3.5.2 from ubuntu repositories with pip 8.1.1.
Maybe you can try to upgrade pip:

Code: Select all

sudo python -m pip install --upgrade pip
sudo pip3 install --upgrade setuptools

sentinel
Normal user
Posts: 55
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 17:40

Re: ESPFinder

#6 Post by sentinel » 22 Apr 2018, 21:05

Thanks for your reply. I tried what you proposed - I have the latest versions (the message I get is "Requirement already up-to-date"). I have python 3.5.2 and pip 10.0.1.
The installation of "multiprocessing" fails.
There is something in my installation which is outdated or missing.

User avatar
micropet
Normal user
Posts: 34
Joined: 23 Jan 2018, 11:39
Location: Essen, Germany
Contact:

Re: ESPFinder

#7 Post by micropet » 22 Apr 2018, 22:49

Command "python setup.py egg_info" failed with error code 1 in /tmp/pip-build-663zc296/multiprocessing/

User avatar
enesbcs
Normal user
Posts: 587
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 11:02
Location: Békéscsaba, Hungary
Contact:

Re: ESPFinder

#8 Post by enesbcs » 23 Apr 2018, 07:23

Maybe multiprocessiong is already installed in a non-pip way which can not be overwritten by pip.
Try to reinstall stdlib:
sudo apt-get install --reinstall libpython3.5-stdlib

sentinel
Normal user
Posts: 55
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 17:40

Re: ESPFinder

#9 Post by sentinel » 23 Apr 2018, 20:52

Hi,
I downloaded multiprocessing-2.6.2.1.tar.gz and the INSTALL.txt says: "Python 2.6 and newer versions already come with multiprocessing."
When trying to install it (using sudo pip3 install multiprocessing) the error I get is:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
      File "/tmp/pip-install-vw9qsdn_/multiprocessing/setup.py", line 94
        print 'Macros:'
                      ^
    SyntaxError: Missing parentheses in call to 'print'
    
    ----------------------------------------
Command "python setup.py egg_info" failed with error code 1 in /tmp/pip-install-vw9qsdn_/multiprocessing/
It seems like the error is that print cannot be followed by ' (single quote) in python3. It has to be "

I also checked in /usr/lib/python3.5 and I have: ctypes, multiprocessing. When I try to execute:
sudo pip3 install itertools
I get the message:
Collecting itertools
Could not find a version that satisfies the requirement itertools (from versions: )
No matching distribution found for itertools

I get a similar message with sudo pip3 install contextlib

Can we somehow compare our installations?

User avatar
enesbcs
Normal user
Posts: 587
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 11:02
Location: Békéscsaba, Hungary
Contact:

Re: ESPFinder

#10 Post by enesbcs » 24 Apr 2018, 07:06

sentinel wrote: 23 Apr 2018, 20:52 I get a similar message with sudo pip3 install contextlib

Can we somehow compare our installations?
Can you try to run espfinder.py? I think all prerequisites already satisfied, and nothing left to install.

sentinel
Normal user
Posts: 55
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 17:40

Re: ESPFinder

#11 Post by sentinel » 24 Apr 2018, 20:46

Thanks again for your reply. I'm afraid it doesn't work :(
The GUI starts but nothing is displayed. And when I click on "Refresh", I get a lot of errors:

Code: Select all

Process Process-1:
Traceback (most recent call last):
Process Process-2:
  File "/usr/lib/python3.5/multiprocessing/process.py", line 249, in _bootstrap
    self.run()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.5/multiprocessing/process.py", line 93, in run
    self._target(*self._args, **self._kwargs)
  File "espfinder.py", line 35, in pinger
    hostadrr = self.ownip.split('.')[:-1]
AttributeError: 'bool' object has no attribute 'split'
Process Process-3:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3.5/multiprocessing/process.py", line 249, in _bootstrap
    self.run()
    ...
    ...
Similarly with the console version

User avatar
enesbcs
Normal user
Posts: 587
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 11:02
Location: Békéscsaba, Hungary
Contact:

Re: ESPFinder

#12 Post by enesbcs » 25 Apr 2018, 19:42

sentinel wrote: 24 Apr 2018, 20:46 Thanks again for your reply. I'm afraid it doesn't work :(
The GUI starts but nothing is displayed. And when I click on "Refresh", I get a lot of errors:
hostadrr = self.ownip.split('.')[:-1]
Similarly with the console version
This means, that the python program are unable to determine your machine local address from the "ifconfig" command output. Can you share the output of ifconfig?
I will have to implement some basic error messages... :)

sentinel
Normal user
Posts: 55
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 17:40

Re: ESPFinder

#13 Post by sentinel » 25 Apr 2018, 20:57

yes, here it is:

Code: Select all

$ ifconfig
enp11s0   Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:17 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:4544 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4544 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1 
          RX bytes:423546 (423.5 KB)  TX bytes:423546 (423.5 KB)

virbr0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00  
          inet addr:192.168.122.1  Bcast:192.168.122.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlp2s0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx  
          inet addr:192.168.1.2  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1311175 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1506516 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:541416351 (541.4 MB)  TX bytes:1555227741 (1.5 GB)

User avatar
enesbcs
Normal user
Posts: 587
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 11:02
Location: Békéscsaba, Hungary
Contact:

Re: ESPFinder

#14 Post by enesbcs » 25 Apr 2018, 23:30

sentinel wrote: 25 Apr 2018, 20:57 yes, here it is:

Code: Select all

enp11s0

virbr0

wlp2s0
I think i get it, i expected eth0-9 and wlan0-9. :) Fixed, and uploaded to github.

sentinel
Normal user
Posts: 55
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 17:40

Re: ESPFinder

#15 Post by sentinel » 26 Apr 2018, 21:21

Thanks! It works :)
Can I ask something:
when I start the gui, it shows nothing. After I click on Refresh, I get the list of devices. Is this normal?

Thanks again for the implementation and your support!

User avatar
enesbcs
Normal user
Posts: 587
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 11:02
Location: Békéscsaba, Hungary
Contact:

Re: ESPFinder

#16 Post by enesbcs » 26 Apr 2018, 23:44

sentinel wrote: 26 Apr 2018, 21:21 Thanks! It works :)
Can I ask something:
when I start the gui, it shows nothing. After I click on Refresh, I get the list of devices. Is this normal?

Thanks again for the implementation and your support!
You are welcome. :) Yes the need to click on Refresh is by design, but in the future it can be change.. but first i have to implement some sort of progress feedback. Since i using multiprocessing for fast pinging it is hard to sync a global variable in the main app. :)
Also developed some sort of Windows compatibility, just for fun, but it is slow as hell.

sentinel
Normal user
Posts: 55
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 17:40

Re: ESPFinder

#17 Post by sentinel » 27 Apr 2018, 19:59

excellent 8-)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 27 guests