UDP Controller only sending first value

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
mikeO
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Feb 2019, 09:53

UDP Controller only sending first value

#1 Post by mikeO » 26 Feb 2019, 11:18

I am using a UDP controller to send values from a generic dummy device. The device is receiving data sent from a micro (processing Anemometer sensor ) via a TaskVaueSet command, 3 values are sent and received by the device. The UDP controller however is only sending the first value. I have read a post from October 2018 where I understood this behavior was fixed, unfortunately I don't seem to be able to find this post again now. I am just new and enjoying using ESP Easy but the controller is just not working for me. I have the latest build.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#2 Post by grovkillen » 26 Feb 2019, 11:46

What settings do you have for the controller?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

mikeO
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Feb 2019, 09:53

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#3 Post by mikeO » 26 Feb 2019, 12:33

Hi, thanks for your reply, controller setup attached.
2019-02-26 22_19_40-Clipboard.jpg
2019-02-26 22_19_40-Clipboard.jpg (130.24 KiB) Viewed 9052 times

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#4 Post by grovkillen » 26 Feb 2019, 13:06

There you have it, max queue depth. Change that to 10.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

mikeO
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Feb 2019, 09:53

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#5 Post by mikeO » 26 Feb 2019, 13:40

I have changed that back to 10, I think that was the original default value but the fields sent are just repeats of the value1.
I have found the post I was refering to, it describes in there are exactly what i am seeing, at the end of the post it is declared fixed but I don't see that?

https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/issues/1891

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#6 Post by grovkillen » 26 Feb 2019, 13:56

Please use that GitHub thread to further add to the issue. You may also copy the link to this thread for reference.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#7 Post by TD-er » 26 Feb 2019, 15:10

Why are you using such a long interval between messages? (Minimum Send Interval)
For internal communications 10 msec is often just fine.
Also the timeout can be set a bit lower, if the receiving end is up for it (also take into account the network latency)

How is the Dummy device configured?

mikeO
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Feb 2019, 09:53

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#8 Post by mikeO » 27 Feb 2019, 03:49

OK, its now working. I had not understood the significance of Simulate data Type: in the Device setup. I have 3 TaskValues being sent so setting the "type" to "Sensor_type_triple" solved the issue. Thanks for the quick assistance.

Patou
Normal user
Posts: 106
Joined: 21 May 2018, 10:33

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#9 Post by Patou » 14 Apr 2019, 19:59

Hello
I have same problem and cannot find what i am doing wrong ...
Here is config of first esp config of second esp is identical
2019-04-14_18h54_29.png
2019-04-14_18h54_29.png (21.8 KiB) Viewed 8804 times
Config of UDP controller same in the 2 Esp :
2019-04-14_19h09_08.png
2019-04-14_19h09_08.png (18.03 KiB) Viewed 8804 times
I use dummy device in task 12
2019-04-14_19h11_01.png
2019-04-14_19h11_01.png (5.28 KiB) Viewed 8804 times
In the tutorial it is indicated that the task that is shared via udp is created automatically in all the participant esp units
But this is not the case in my application
Also when I create a task in the other unit and share it over upd controller the values are not updated
See below the setting of task 12 in one of the units
2019-04-14_19h53_27.png
2019-04-14_19h53_27.png (17.45 KiB) Viewed 8804 times
Can an advanced user explain what I do wrong
Thanks in advance
Patrou

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#10 Post by grovkillen » 14 Apr 2019, 20:03

ESP Easy P2P is "automatically" detected and if you want the devices to share data you need to address that in the advanced settings menu...
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Patou
Normal user
Posts: 106
Joined: 21 May 2018, 10:33

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#11 Post by Patou » 14 Apr 2019, 20:06

hello
Thanks for your quick reaction
I found only this in the advanced settings
2019-04-14_20h05_29.png
2019-04-14_20h05_29.png (2.25 KiB) Viewed 8801 times
Is this what you means ?
Patou

Domosapiens
Normal user
Posts: 307
Joined: 06 Nov 2016, 13:45

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#12 Post by Domosapiens » 14 Apr 2019, 23:08

Correct, that's the port setting.
Additional choose under the tab Controllers the ESPEasy P2P Networking.

It's somewhat legacy that activation and port setting are on different places.
30+ ESP units for production and test. Ranging from control of heating equipment, flow sensing, floor temp sensing, energy calculation, floor thermostat, water usage, to an interactive "fun box" for my grandson. Mainly Wemos D1.

Patou
Normal user
Posts: 106
Joined: 21 May 2018, 10:33

Re: UDP Controller only sending first value

#13 Post by Patou » 15 Apr 2019, 10:28

OK thanks
found my error
I choose generic udp controller instead of p2p udp
Thanks for your help
Patou

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests