Wifi password

Moderators: grovkillen, TD-er, Stuntteam

Post Reply
Message
Author
Dick60
Normal user
Posts: 56
Joined: 11 Feb 2018, 17:35
Location: The Netherlands

Wifi password

#1 Post by Dick60 » 07 Mar 2020, 10:52

After finishing flashing my ESP (several models) with the latest firmware release (but also previous firmware versions),using the ESP.Easy.Flasher.exe opened as admin, I want to connect to the ESPWIFI network to config it. I get a WIFI security message that I must add a password (which password). In the past that was not the case and could connect to the ESPwifi without password, so I tested firmware v120, same problem. Does this something to do with Win10?
Hope you have an answere because it is impossible to ad new firmware.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3583
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#2 Post by grovkillen » 07 Mar 2020, 11:23

espconfig
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2629
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#3 Post by TD-er » 07 Mar 2020, 11:29

grovkillen wrote:
07 Mar 2020, 11:23
espconfig
Are you sure? I thought it was "configesp"
But I never type it in, as my wifi credentials are stored for "new" node on all my devices.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3583
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#4 Post by grovkillen » 07 Mar 2020, 11:40

TD-er wrote:
07 Mar 2020, 11:29
grovkillen wrote:
07 Mar 2020, 11:23
espconfig
Are you sure? I thought it was "configesp"
But I never type it in, as my wifi credentials are stored for "new" node on all my devices.
You're right! :shock:
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
iron
Normal user
Posts: 108
Joined: 24 Sep 2016, 08:37
Location: Veria, Greece
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#5 Post by iron » 07 Mar 2020, 15:12

@TD-er

Go easy on Jimmy. His first day today ;-)

-D
-D

Dick60
Normal user
Posts: 56
Joined: 11 Feb 2018, 17:35
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Wifi password

#6 Post by Dick60 » 07 Mar 2020, 15:22

Sorry but did not work for me. Still get the message "wrong password". Tried a 2nd NodeMCU but same result. Found a temporay solution, I loaded a Dec2018 version and was able to connect without a wifi password. I can continue for now but if one of you have any suggestions, pls let me know.

alexcoronel
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 11 Mar 2020, 07:29

Re: Wifi password

#7 Post by alexcoronel » 11 Mar 2020, 07:31

It didn't work for me.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2629
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#8 Post by TD-er » 11 Mar 2020, 08:50

Just to make sure about the conditions.
You do use a blank node, which never was used with another firmware?
Or you wiped the node clean by flashing a blank firmware first?

Then, when the node boots ESPEasy, it cannot find the network (for obvious reasons) and will present an AP.
Connecting to this AP is not accepting the default password? ("configesp")

Dick60
Normal user
Posts: 56
Joined: 11 Feb 2018, 17:35
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Wifi password

#9 Post by Dick60 » 13 Mar 2020, 20:32

What I did with my Nodemcu, It was an already in use MCU, loaded the "blank 1 MB" option, after finish loading (without reseting), loaded the "Normal_esp8266_iM.bin". Finished loading, disconneted the module, connect to ESPWIFI en get the password request. That is what I did.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3583
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#10 Post by grovkillen » 13 Mar 2020, 20:47

Blank 4MB, please try that first.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Dick60
Normal user
Posts: 56
Joined: 11 Feb 2018, 17:35
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Wifi password

#11 Post by Dick60 » 14 Mar 2020, 21:31

Unfortunately the sam result. What I did: New MCU Blank_4Mb, after finishing loaded a blank_1Mb, after finishing loaded the normal_8266_1Mb. Also tried blaNK_ 4Mb and after that the normal_8266_1Mb. Same as previous but than all with the 4Mb version. All the sam results

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3583
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#12 Post by grovkillen » 14 Mar 2020, 21:40

Sounds like a corrupt memory? Tried another board?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Dick60
Normal user
Posts: 56
Joined: 11 Feb 2018, 17:35
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Wifi password

#13 Post by Dick60 » 15 Mar 2020, 12:51

Tested again tris morning. a brand new NodeMCU and a D1 both the same result, Password 'espconfig' incorrect. Because they are brand new, corrupte memory could not be the reason.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2629
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#14 Post by TD-er » 15 Mar 2020, 13:45

Dick60 wrote:
15 Mar 2020, 12:51
Tested again tris morning. a brand new NodeMCU and a D1 both the same result, Password 'espconfig' incorrect. Because they are brand new, corrupte memory could not be the reason.
And "configesp" as I wrote a few days ago?

Code: Select all

#ifndef DEFAULT_AP_KEY
#define DEFAULT_AP_KEY      "configesp"         // Enter network WPA key for AP (config) mode
#endif

Dick60
Normal user
Posts: 56
Joined: 11 Feb 2018, 17:35
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Wifi password

#15 Post by Dick60 » 15 Mar 2020, 14:21

Forgot to mention, tried that password as well withou any positive result. Just unpacked my last NodeMCU, loaded the 1 Mb blank and after that the normal 1 Mb (the one 20201003) no better result.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2629
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#16 Post by TD-er » 15 Mar 2020, 15:22

A lot has been said in this thread so I lost count already of what was tried and what not.

If you cannot connect to the ESP as AP, then you should try:
- Erase the known WiFi setting for that AP you're connecting with (espeasy or espeasy_0 probably)
- Try another PC/mobile to setup the ESP node.
- Try configure the "wifissid" / "wifikey" via serial (using espeasy flasher or just some terminal tool like Putty) (don't forget to call "save")

Dick60
Normal user
Posts: 56
Joined: 11 Feb 2018, 17:35
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Wifi password

#17 Post by Dick60 » 15 Mar 2020, 15:52

deleting the ESPeasy from my known wifi network list did the job. The password espconfig is the correct one. For all, thanks for the support! I continue with my build! Have a nice day and a lot of fun!

User avatar
iron
Normal user
Posts: 108
Joined: 24 Sep 2016, 08:37
Location: Veria, Greece
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#18 Post by iron » 15 Mar 2020, 16:35

@TD-er

You might as well flip it around anyways ;-)

-D
-D

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2629
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Wifi password

#19 Post by TD-er » 15 Mar 2020, 20:02

iron wrote:
15 Mar 2020, 16:35
@TD-er

You might as well flip it around anyways ;-)

-D
Not sure if "psegifnoc" is so much better to remember :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests