WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
pinie
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jan 2021, 09:58

WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#1 Post by pinie » 11 May 2022, 08:50

Hello,

I'm using a WT32 Eth01 (1.2) and flashed the part with ESP32_4M316k-ETH-factory (mega 20220427). Actually, everything works great over WiFi. When I plug in a network cable I don't get the part online. The LED on the network socket does not even light up. Network cable everything OK Am I wrong in thinking or what am I doing wrong? Does anyone have a tip for me?
Thanks very much!

pine

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 1677
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#2 Post by Ath » 11 May 2022, 08:58

Did you set up the hardware as proposed in this thread?
/Ton

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 6175
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#3 Post by TD-er » 11 May 2022, 09:41

N.B. after you double-checked the settings, you may want to use one of the latest test builds from the Github Actions page (you need to be logged in in Github to download the zip files) https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/actions

I did fix a few things related to Ethernet.
There is an issue where ethernet events are only fired once, so disconnect/reconnect is not detected -> fixed
Typical use case; Ethernet gets disconnected (e.g. connected 4G router reboots), WiFi is started to search for networks, Ethernet gets reconnected, WiFi is turned off.
However when turning off WiFi, the received DNS records via DHCP are then erased => Somewhat patched, not really happy with the fix yet, but it works.

pinie
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jan 2021, 09:58

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#4 Post by pinie » 12 May 2022, 09:17

Hello,

Unfortunately, I am not familiar with the Github. Which file should I load. I've logged in. Which file is the right one for the WT32-Eth01? Thanks very much.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 1677
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#5 Post by Ath » 12 May 2022, 09:37

- Select one of the succeeded builds in the Actions tab, like this one: https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEas ... 2303327656
- Then from the Artifacts download the Binaries file
- Then open that file using a zip tool like 7zip, maybe the Windows default unzipper will also handle it correctly
- In that file you will find a series of zip files per build configuration, extract the .zip file similarly named to the one you used before
- In that file you will find a bin folder that holds the 'regular' .bin file for use via the Tools/Firmware update feature, and also the .factory.bin file for uploading via an external Flash tool
/Ton

pinie
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jan 2021, 09:58

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#6 Post by pinie » 12 May 2022, 11:56

Hello,

I would never have found that. Thanks very much. The interface is now running. But first I had to remove the data from the WLAN (IDs). Only then did the ESP use the Ethernet interface. Is that normal?
Now I wanted to use the GPIO. I don't see any system in the name. Which GPIO is now which pin?
Maybe I have a misconception?

Thanks very much!

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 6175
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#7 Post by TD-er » 12 May 2022, 12:05

Do you mean for configuring the ETH connections or GPIO numbering in general?

Also you can set the "Preferred network medium" on the "Hardware" tab in the web interface.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 1677
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#8 Post by Ath » 12 May 2022, 12:11

pinie wrote: 12 May 2022, 11:56 I would never have found that. Thanks very much.
You're welcome :)
pinie wrote: 12 May 2022, 11:56 The interface is now running. But first I had to remove the data from the WLAN (IDs). Only then did the ESP use the Ethernet interface. Is that normal?
AFAICS, there is a setting on the Hardware tab that determines the Preferred network medium, WiFi or Ethernet.
pinie wrote: 12 May 2022, 11:56 Now I wanted to use the GPIO. I don't see any system in the name. Which GPIO is now which pin?
Maybe I have a misconception?
Does this Googled image look like your device?

The IOnn pins are the names for the GPIOnn, and you should be able to control them using the regular GPIO,nn,<0/1> commands
/Ton

pinie
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jan 2021, 09:58

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#9 Post by pinie » 12 May 2022, 12:20

Hello,

the preferred usage was set to Ethernet. Nevertheless, he always used WiFi. But I can test that now.
I meant the general GPIO. I need 4 pieces as "IN" and don't know which PIN that is on the board. On the surface I see many GPIO that I can define. e.g. GPIO 13 which PIN? Apparently some are "hidden". I can't make sense of the documentary either and it doesn't make any sense to me.

Thanks!

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 1677
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#10 Post by Ath » 12 May 2022, 13:02

This WT32 board doesn't seem to have many GPIO pins available as physical pins :?
/Ton

pinie
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jan 2021, 09:58

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#11 Post by pinie » 13 May 2022, 20:10

Hello,
I really have a problem with the GPIO designations. I want to connect an I2C sensor. According to the surface, this is GPIO 4 (SDA) and GPIO 5 (SCL). According to the label, there is no GPIO 5 or IO5 on the board. This totally confuses me. There is IO35 or IO15. Using the IO35 as a GPIO was unsuccessful. I can't find any information online either. Does anyone have a tip which PIN are for I2c?

Thanks very much!

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 6175
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#12 Post by TD-er » 13 May 2022, 20:25

GPIO 4 & 5 are the defaults for many ESP8266 boards.
But to be honest, those defaults are not useful for I2C on ESP32 boards.
(which reminds me, I still have to set the defaults for I2C pins on ESP32 builds to something else)

Anyway, see the best pins to use for ESP32 boards:
https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... e-on-esp32

This list does not include the (many) pins used for LAN boards, so not all pins mentioned here will be made available on your board.

For I2C you must use pins that can be used both as input and output, so the highest numbered pins will not be usable as those are input-only.

Only use pins which are marked green on both input and output on the page I linked above. (and of course which are available on your board)
Then set these pins on the Hardware tab of the ESPEasy web config page as I2C pins.

pinie
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jan 2021, 09:58

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#13 Post by pinie » 13 May 2022, 21:21

Hello,
thank you for your hint. That helps. I am now trying to create an overview. The question is which PIN of the ESP 32 circuit is routed to the circuit board. Under what name is it then written on the board. Then the cables have to be plugged in. You have to be careful which PIN you are talking about. Do you mean the PIN of the circuit or the PIN on the board? Am I completely off the mark now? Or the question: On the board e.g. PIN "IO35" what is behind it?
The link helps with my research.

Thanks!

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 1677
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#14 Post by Ath » 13 May 2022, 21:29

pinie wrote: 13 May 2022, 21:21 On the board e.g. PIN "IO35" what is behind it?
IO35 is shorthand for GPIO 35, as there isn't enough space available for the label... ;)
/Ton

pinie
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jan 2021, 09:58

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#15 Post by pinie » 13 May 2022, 22:16

Hello,

Sorry, I probably thought too complicated. The data sheet of the WT32-Eth01 contains PINS that don't make any sense. Regardless, I admit I don't see through. I just take the imprint on the board and that's it. With the info from above, I then set the ports for I2C.
Thank you for your patience.

Thanks!

pinie
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jan 2021, 09:58

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#16 Post by pinie » 25 May 2022, 10:46

Hello,
I have to revisit the subject. I got the basics of GPIO. Attached is an overview which I created from a lot of information.
My problems with the Ethernet interface persist. I have the bin file (loaded as described above). I can now partially use the Ethernet interface. But she's really slow and sometimes I lose her completely. If I unplug the network cable, it switches to WLAN and everything is quickly and reliably accessible. Does anyone know the exact GPIO which exactly the Ethernet interface needs? The interface is particularly important to me.

Thanks very much!
Attachments
WT32 GPIO.PNG
WT32 GPIO.PNG (493.47 KiB) Viewed 46 times
WT32 ethernet GPIO.PNG
WT32 ethernet GPIO.PNG (22.62 KiB) Viewed 46 times

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 1677
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#17 Post by Ath » 25 May 2022, 11:19

Can you update to a recent PR build from Github? Like from this (successful) Github Actions run: https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEas ... 2362970718 as this has a lot of improvements regarding Ethernet included (from Espressif IDF 4.4).
Download the Binaries .zip file, and you can extract the build you've used earlier, then upload the .bin (not .factory.bin) via the Update Firmware feature on the Tools page.
/Ton

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 6175
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#18 Post by TD-er » 25 May 2022, 13:45

I do see a crystal on the picture you published.
Are you sure the clock setting is correct?
I would expect this to be GPIO-0 external crystal.

See also here: viewtopic.php?p=48376#p48376

pinie
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jan 2021, 09:58

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#19 Post by pinie » 25 May 2022, 18:28

Hello,
that's exactly what I assume too. I flash the WT32 Eth01 and set the GPIO for the Ethernet. Then I start and expect the interface to work. I don't have that point. Just like in the photo. At times, however, the interface is very unreliable and slow. Do I have a general misconception?

Thanks very much!
Attachments
wt32.PNG
wt32.PNG (21.97 KiB) Viewed 23 times

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 6175
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WT32-Eth01 network interface not online

#20 Post by TD-er » 25 May 2022, 23:19

I have not tested these specific boards myself, but I do have tested several ESP32 boards with Ethernet and "slow" is absolutely not the word I would use to describe its behavior.

One thing I do know is that with insufficient power, the voltage may drop on the Ethernet chip which may cause the Ethernet connection to switch between 10 Mbps and 100 Mbps. This may of course result in a rather unusable network experience.

If you have a switch that may be able to show the connection speed (e.g. one of those TP-Link SG-105E or 108E units, Netgear has a very similar range with an "E" in the model nr) you can check this.

An ESP32 itself may typically use 100 - 160 mA. But with Ethernet connected, this may easilly be 100 mA more.
This extra current can be enough to cause voltage dips, especially if the used cables (or connectors) add some extra resistance like thin cables do.
The power consumption of the Ethernet chip is rather "noisy" in that it draws significant currents at 50 MHz.
So maybe you can also add a 100 nF + 22 uF capacitor between the 3V3 and GND, with the 100 nF as close as you can to where the ethernet chips is connected to 3V3.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Bing [Bot] and 3 guests