7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
SirWant
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 04 Feb 2023, 16:38

7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#1 Post by SirWant » 22 Mar 2023, 20:47

Hi! 7dtext, 7ddt, etc - work. But, for example, 7dbin,0x40,0x20,0x10,0x08,0x04,0x02 (or 0b:)
Буфер обмена-1.jpg
Буфер обмена-1.jpg (14.13 KiB) Viewed 1645 times

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#2 Post by TD-er » 22 Mar 2023, 21:41

Which build are you using?

SirWant
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 04 Feb 2023, 16:38

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#3 Post by SirWant » 22 Mar 2023, 21:44

Custom ESP32.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#4 Post by TD-er » 22 Mar 2023, 21:46

Using the latest code I assume?

SirWant
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 04 Feb 2023, 16:38

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#5 Post by SirWant » 22 Mar 2023, 21:50

Yes, ESP_Easy_mega_20230308_custom_ESP32_4M316k Mar 8 2023.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#6 Post by TD-er » 22 Mar 2023, 21:51

Hmm, when handling this command, there seems to be a special case for 6 digit displays:

Code: Select all

          case P073_TM1637_6DGT:
          {
            tm1637_SwapDigitInBuffer(event, 0); // only needed for 6-digits displays
            tm1637_ShowBuffer(event, 0, 6);
            break;
          }
So I guess the writer of this code (Ath) should probably look into this...

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#7 Post by TD-er » 22 Mar 2023, 21:52

SirWant wrote: 22 Mar 2023, 21:50 Yes, ESP_Easy_mega_20230308_custom_ESP32_4M316k Mar 8 2023.
That date only reflects the build data.
I do assume you did use the latest code that was available at that date?
So just to be sure that you didn't have some (much) older code from an earlier build on your PC and just built a new image...

SirWant
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 04 Feb 2023, 16:38

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#8 Post by SirWant » 22 Mar 2023, 22:11

Yes, code dated 02/16/23.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3417
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#9 Post by Ath » 23 Mar 2023, 00:05

SirWant wrote: 22 Mar 2023, 20:47 Hi! 7dtext, 7ddt, etc - work. But, for example, 7dbin,0x40,0x20,0x10,0x08,0x04,0x02 (or 0b:)Буфер обмена-1.jpg
What would you expect to be displayed here? You haven't stated that, AFAICS.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

SirWant
Normal user
Posts: 12
Joined: 04 Feb 2023, 16:38

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#10 Post by SirWant » 23 Mar 2023, 07:43

To display any bit pattern on the display.

The example shows each digit with a different segment on, including the dot/colon.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3417
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#11 Post by Ath » 23 Mar 2023, 14:17

That tdbin command is used on the 8-digit MAX7219 display.

I'll investigate if it can be adapted so it will work similarly on the TM1637 displays, as that does have some bit manipulation in place.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

kimot
Normal user
Posts: 190
Joined: 12 Oct 2017, 20:46

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#12 Post by kimot » 23 Mar 2023, 20:46

How Vcc voltage is for TM1637?
Very often these led modules are for 5V.
If so, you have to use the level shifter between ESP and module.
According to TM1637 datasheet min. voltage for high log level on its input is 0.7 VCC. For 5V VCC it is 3,5V
But ESP can never send 3.5V, when its Vcc is 3.3V
This can cause instability in transmission to module.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3417
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: 7-segment TM1637: 7dbin not work

#13 Post by Ath » 31 Mar 2023, 18:45

kimot wrote: 23 Mar 2023, 20:46 How Vcc voltage is for TM1637?
Very often these led modules are for 5V.
All of these displays I own work just fine at 3.3V, maybe the max brightness is somewhat higher when on 5V, but usually these displays are way too bright, especially at night, so that shouldn't be a problem.

All issues above have now been fixed, and merged into 'mega', though not released yet.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests