ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
kai23
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jul 2023, 21:22

ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#1 Post by kai23 » 24 Jul 2023, 21:33

Dear forum,

I am facing a small issue and I'm hoping you can help me out. I have two ESP controllers, one ESP01S and one ESP12F, running ESP Easy. My goal is to transmit data from a BMP280 sensor connected to the ESP01S to the ESP12F.

The BMP280 sensor is properly set up and is displayed under devices on both controllers. The connection between the two controllers is established using the internal Peer-to-Peer protocol. Everything seems to be configured correctly, but I'm encountering a strange problem: The sensor data is only displayed on the ESP01S, while the ESP12F only shows zeros.

In the console, there is an error message stating that the wrong sensor type was selected. Interestingly, when I swapped the BMP280 for a BME280 sensor, the data transmission worked flawlessly. However, I would expect the "BMx280" selection to work for both sensors, as it does directly on the ESP01S.

I have tried checking the connection and ensuring that both controllers can communicate with each other. The data transmission settings also appear to be correct. However, I haven't found a solution for this specific issue in forums or online documentation.

Has anyone encountered a similar problem or can provide me with some hints on what to check or adjust? I would greatly appreciate any help to resolve this issue and successfully transmit the sensor data from the ESP01S to the ESP12F.

Thank you in advance for your support and experiences!

Best regards,
Kai

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#2 Post by TD-er » 24 Jul 2023, 23:59

Hmm that sounds like a bug...
I don't think I will have time for this tomorrow, but maybe Ton will already have a look :)

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#3 Post by TD-er » 25 Jul 2023, 00:28

By the way, which version of ESPEasy do you use?

Can you also try the latest GH Actions build?

kai23
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jul 2023, 21:22

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#4 Post by kai23 » 25 Jul 2023, 10:25

I am using Version ESP_Easy_mega_20230623_normal_ESP8266_1M.bin on the ESP01S and ESP_Easy_mega_20230623_normal_ESP8266_4M1M.bin on the ESP12F.
I will try it later thank you for the hint. Where can i find this build?

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3521
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#5 Post by Ath » 25 Jul 2023, 20:07

kai23 wrote: 25 Jul 2023, 10:25 Where can i find this build?
That's on Github, in the Actions tab, best would be the latest "mega" (merge) build, over here. You will need a Github account (free) to be able to download files from there.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3521
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#6 Post by Ath » 25 Jul 2023, 20:17

kai23 wrote: 24 Jul 2023, 21:33 In the console, there is an error message stating that the wrong sensor type was selected. Interestingly, when I swapped the BMP280 for a BME280 sensor, the data transmission worked flawlessly. However, I would expect the "BMx280" selection to work for both sensors, as it does directly on the ESP01S.
That seems to be a bug that's been fixed a few weeks ago (June 28th to be exact), shortly after the mega release you are on was created.
I expect this to be resolved when testing with the GH Actions build I just referred to, above :) At least the receiving end, the ESP12F, should be updated.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

kai23
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jul 2023, 21:22

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#7 Post by kai23 » 25 Jul 2023, 21:39

Thank you i found it! Didn´t know that i have to be signed in to download. Both controllers are now on version: ESP_Easy_mega_20230724_normal_ESP8266_4M1M
But unfortunately the problem remains. I have also tried to reconfigure the sensor but that has also done nothing.
P2P data : SensorType mismatch for task 12 from unit 2 <--- this is the error message from the log.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8756
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#8 Post by TD-er » 25 Jul 2023, 22:07

I think this is really specific to the BMx280 plugin as it can't be explicitly set to "BMP280" or "BME280" mode and only determines at runtime what mode it will run. (thus based on what sensor is found)

So either this check for sensortype should be relaxed, or maybe allowed to be done by the plugin itself...
Or force the operations mode of that plugin to a specific BME/BMP/Auto mode.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3521
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#9 Post by Ath » 25 Jul 2023, 23:32

I've created PR (pull request) #4748 that adds an option to select the Sensor model, default is Auto, but can be forced to either BME280 or BMP280, to match the remote setting when connected via P2P. It should only be needed to force to BMP280 on the receiving side, if the actual connected sensor is a BMP280. In all other cases Auto should just work fine.

@kai23 can you please test this build, the corresponding Actions run builds can be downloaded here (or via the PR).
/Ton (PayPal.me)

kai23
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jul 2023, 21:22

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#10 Post by kai23 » 27 Jul 2023, 17:57

Now i am on version 20230725. But sadly i still receive the same error message. On the sending unit i can change the sensor to BMP280 but on the receiving unit there isn't such an option.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3521
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#11 Post by Ath » 27 Jul 2023, 18:59

kai23 wrote: 27 Jul 2023, 17:57 On the sending unit i can change the sensor to BMP280 but on the receiving unit there isn't such an option.
That sounds like the update on that receiving unit wasn't successful. You might want to retry the update, as there is no condition on wether the option is shown.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3521
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#12 Post by Ath » 27 Jul 2023, 19:32

Ath wrote: 27 Jul 2023, 18:59
kai23 wrote: 27 Jul 2023, 17:57 On the sending unit i can change the sensor to BMP280 but on the receiving unit there isn't such an option.
That sounds like the update on that receiving unit wasn't successful. You might want to retry the update, as there is no condition on wether the option is shown.
Hm, have to eat my words here (again...). For remote data-feed devices, no configuration options are shown, working on a solution, hang on.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3521
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#13 Post by Ath » 27 Jul 2023, 22:40

I expect to have nailed the issue with this GH Actions build (may take an hour or so from now before it's available).

The new setting is now only available on the receiving end of the P2P connection, as the sending side is using the 'auto-detect' of the plugin to decide to present the humidity data (that's not available on a BMP280).
/Ton (PayPal.me)

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3521
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#14 Post by Ath » 29 Jul 2023, 13:24

kai23 wrote: 27 Jul 2023, 17:57 ... on the receiving unit there isn't such an option.
I've now fixed that, and updated to documentation (in the PR, will be visible on RTD once the PR is merged into the mega branch).

Most recent build can be downloaded from this GH Actions run
/Ton (PayPal.me)

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3521
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#15 Post by Ath » 18 Aug 2023, 15:56

kai23 wrote: 27 Jul 2023, 17:57 Now i am on version 20230725. But sadly i still receive the same error message. On the sending unit i can change the sensor to BMP280 but on the receiving unit there isn't such an option.
Hi Kai,

Are you available for testing? I've updated the GH Actions run (had to fix a merge issue anyway), so a fresh build should be available soon after I post this.

Edit: Updated Actions run url, because of a merge conflict that needed a fix.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3521
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: ESP Easy Peer-to-Peer Data Transmission Issue - Values Only Displayed on One ESP

#16 Post by Ath » 07 Sep 2023, 22:36

kai23 wrote: 27 Jul 2023, 17:57 Now i am on version 20230725. But sadly i still receive the same error message. On the sending unit i can change the sensor to BMP280 but on the receiving unit there isn't such an option.
@kai23 Another ping, with an updated GH Actions run link.
Can you please update your units and report your findings here?
/Ton (PayPal.me)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests