rf-tech ABS700 sensor changing identity with temperature?

Post here about devices that are not yet or not fully supported

Moderators: rtenklooster, Voyager, BertB, Stuntteam

Post Reply
Message
Author
padrino
Normal user
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Feb 2019, 15:05

rf-tech ABS700 sensor changing identity with temperature?

#1 Post by padrino » 23 Feb 2019, 15:51

Hi,

I have a "weather station" by "rf-tech" where the rf sensor is labeled "ABS700".
With rflink it shows up as "Firstline" device.

So far that's ok and and it was working (more or less ;)) reliable.

Then I thought, I'd put the thermometer into the freezer (with external cable sensor) to log its temperature.
All of a sudden, the sensor was no longer found (as the transmitter was still in range, ie. outside the freezer this was strange to me).
So I did a new search for devices, which, unfortunatelly, wasn't successfull.

So I thought, maybe the problem is somehow related to negative temperatures...
OK, I thought, no way to solve this at the moment, so I use the spare time to log the fridge (shouldn't go below zero ;)) instead. :D

So I did. And it worked, well, untill the temperature reached 6.3/6.4°C (or at least, that's when I noticed it).
Then all of the sudden, the sensor vanished again.

I thought "no way" and tried another device search.
Guess what, now the sensor showed up again, but this time no longer as "Firstline" device but labled "Digitech" and the value it recorded was way off, namely 38.4°C (btw, with rflink showing 38.4, I had the weather station display values of 6.1, 6.2 and 6.3)
Anyway, with this knowledge I can (somhow) log below 6.4°C but still not below Zero.

So I wonder, is this "change of brand" real?
I mean, can this be possible?
And if so, is it possible, that for temperatures even lower the "signature" changes once more to an unknown manufacturer and therefor doesn't show up at all?

CU,
padrino

padrino
Normal user
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Feb 2019, 15:05

Re: rf-tech ABS700 sensor changing identity with temperature?

#2 Post by padrino » 19 Mar 2019, 03:44

Hi,

this sensor is really weired.
I noticed that I sometimes get the same hex value, but the origonal station shows differnt temperatures (differing by 0.1 to 0.3ºC).

Would be nice if someone cut put me on the right track, I'm clueless...

CU,
padrino

padrino
Normal user
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Feb 2019, 15:05

Re: rf-tech ABS700 sensor changing identity with temperature?

#3 Post by padrino » 13 Feb 2024, 01:39

@Stuntteam wrote:
Stuntteam, with your insider's knowledge ;) could you maybe shed some light on this issue, what possibly could go wrong here? 8)
Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 18 guests