Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Message
Author
TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#51 Post by TD-er » 26 Dec 2021, 12:31

Hmm that's really strange.
The idea of the 'factory' image is that you don't need to apply an offset.
The non-factory builds are meant for OTA updates, meaning the bootloader is still present. Those can also be flashed using the flasher in your screenshot, but with an offset. (given the unit had been flashed with ESPEasy before)
But the factory image does have these parts pre-pended in the image so I really can't understand why it would even work when you flash a factory image with an offset.

seersucker
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 11 May 2020, 17:01

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#52 Post by seersucker » 26 Dec 2021, 15:22

OK, I flashed a second unit with the factory ethernet image using the expressif tool with an offset of 0x0000, and it worked.
Then used the webpage updater as before. The only difference was that with the second unit, the gpio0 short was removed a couple of seconds after powering up. Both working OK, but will reflash the original without the offset.
In both cases, erased before starting the flash...and thanks for the info!

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#53 Post by TD-er » 30 Dec 2021, 14:49

seersucker wrote: 26 Dec 2021, 02:44 fwiw I just got one of these working using the expressif flash download tool. Then did the update from the Tools/Update Firmware page. I had flashed using an offset of 0x1000 which is wrong for a factory image, the offset should be 0x0000.

(Removed a possibly misleading pic showing the flash tool image with an offset)
Just getting back to your post, as I am facing probably something similar here when trying to use ESP32 IDF 4.4 code (or maybe it is the newer toolchain, no idea)

What build did you try to flash here?
Is it a build you made?
What size?
What file system?

seersucker
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 11 May 2020, 17:01

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#54 Post by seersucker » 13 Jan 2022, 20:24

Used the expressif tool with ESP_Easy_mega_20211105_custom_ESP32_4M316k_ETH-factory.bin, then used the webpage to update to ESP_Easy_mega_20211105_custom_ESP32_4M316k_ETH.bin.

Did have problems trying to use GPIO39 as a switch input, seemed to be erratic even with a hardwired pullup resistor, but other than that, OK.
Please let me know if you require more info.

Apologies for the late reply...
Attachments
ESP_Easy_eth1.png
ESP_Easy_eth1.png (28.28 KiB) Viewed 7020 times

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3481
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#55 Post by Ath » 13 Jan 2022, 20:59

seersucker wrote: 13 Jan 2022, 20:24 Used the expressif tool with ESP_Easy_mega_20211105_custom_ESP32_4M316k_ETH-factory.bin, then used the webpage to update to ESP_Easy_mega_20211105_custom_ESP32_4M316k_ETH.bin.
You have 'updated' to exactly the same version, so you didn't have to do that. The *factory.bin files have the boot and partition data included, required for ESP32 for the initial install, but the code-content is exactly the same as the non-factory file. ;) After that initial install you can suffice to use the regular .bin file for updates via the Update Firmware tool (aka OTA update, Over The Air update).

In the meantime, there has been a 20211224 release of ESPEasy, you can install that via the OTA update. (After downloading from the Releases page, and extracting the file(s))

Any particular reason you are using the Custom build? as it only has a small set of plugins available (and the exact configuration isn't even documented on the Plugins page, as it is different for ESP32 and ESP8266).
/Ton (PayPal.me)

seersucker
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 11 May 2020, 17:01

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#56 Post by seersucker » 15 Jan 2022, 17:02

Ath wrote: 13 Jan 2022, 20:59 Any particular reason you are using the Custom build? as it only has a small set of plugins available (and the exact configuration isn't even documented on the Plugins page, as it is different for ESP32 and ESP8266).
No, it was just the first one visible in the drop-down bin file list. ;) I will update all as suggested next opportunity, and thanks for the advice. But despite my errors, its been working OK for around a month now. I did later realize that the high GPIOs are in fact analog inputs on this device, so reconfigured my binary switch input to use a regular gpio for reliability..

Wilu88
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2022, 21:56

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#57 Post by Wilu88 » 10 Sep 2022, 22:04

Hi i have problem with module WT32-S1 ETH. I try use new version ESP32_mega 20220809 and application ESP.Easy.Flasher.exe. I chose COM port and bin "ESP_Easy_mega_20220809_normal_ESP32_4M316k_ETH.factory.bin". And after 16 seconds i see error. This is log file:

Code: Select all

######2022-09-10######
#######0.04.007#######
######FLASH INFO######
BIN file: ESP_Easy_mega_20220809_normal_ESP32_4M316k_ETH.factory.bin
COM port: (COM3) FTDI USB Serial Port (Port_#0007.Hub_#0001)
Baud rate: 115200
######POST FLASH######
No post flash information entered...
######FLASH LOG######
[esptool.exe -vv -cd nodemcu -cb 115200 -cp COM3 -ca 0x00000 -cf "D:\_HOME ASSISTANT\ESPEasy_ESP32_mega-20220809\bin\ESP_Easy_mega_20220809_normal_ESP32_4M316k_ETH.factory.bin"]
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] esptool v0.4.12 - (c) 2014 Ch. Klippel <ck@atelier-klippel.de>
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting board to nodemcu
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting baudrate from 115200 to 115200
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting port from  to COM3
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting address from 0x00000000 to 0x00000000
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_upload_file
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_upload_mem
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] opening bootloader
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] resetting board
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] trying to connect
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	flush start
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	flush complete
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: sending command header
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	read 0, requested 1
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] trying to connect
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	flush start
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	flush complete
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: sending command header
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: receiving 4 bytes of data
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] trying to connect
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	flush start
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	flush complete
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: sending command header
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: receiving 4 bytes of data
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: receiving 4 bytes of data
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: receiving 4 bytes of data
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: receiving 4 bytes of data
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: receiving 4 bytes of data
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: receiving 4 bytes of data
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: receiving 4 bytes of data
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: receiving 4 bytes of data
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] Uploading 1369696 bytes from D:\_HOME ASSISTANT\ESPEasy_ESP32_mega-20220809\bin\ESP_Easy_mega_20220809_normal_ESP32_4M316k_ETH.factory.bin to flash at 0x00000000
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	erasing flash
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	size: 14e660 address: 000000
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	first_sector_index: 0
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	total_sector_count: 335
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	head_sector_count: 16
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	adjusted_sector_count: 319
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	erase_size: 13f000
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: sending command header
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 15000 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	read 0, requested 1
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] warning: espcomm_send_command: didn't receive command response
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] warning: espcomm_send_command(FLASH_DOWNLOAD_BEGIN) failed
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] closing bootloader
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	flush start
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] 	flush complete
[10.09.2022 21:58:15] error: espcomm_upload_mem failed
[2022-09-10 21:58:15] DONE! BUT WITH (1) ERRORS!
############################
[2022-09-10 21:58:15] The COM port was already in use... the post-flash did not complete.
[2022-09-10 21:58:15] JOB COMPLETED, over and out!
ofcourse TX and RX connected, 3.3V and GND and IO0 to GND. I try programing ESpHome in Home Assistant and working. Problem only for ESpEasy.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#58 Post by TD-er » 10 Sep 2022, 22:14

Please use the Espressif download tool.
Those other flashers will not work with ESP32

Wilu88
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2022, 21:56

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#59 Post by Wilu88 » 10 Sep 2022, 22:15

TD-er wrote: 10 Sep 2022, 22:14 Please use the Espressif download tool.
Those other flashers will not work with ESP32
Could you tell me how use this software? How configure used?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#60 Post by TD-er » 10 Sep 2022, 22:20

It is included in the ZIP file.
It is in the folder Espressif_flash_download_tool_v3.8.5

See the documentation about how to use this tool: https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... nload-tool

One final remark.
For the latest build (and upcoming builds) it may make a big difference whether you have "DoNotChgBin" checked. Expecially for 16M flash units.
It is best to have this checked for the latest test builds and newer upcoming builds.
I am not 100% sure about this for older builds, so if you see the unit bootlooping, check/unckeck this checkbox.

Wilu88
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2022, 21:56

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#61 Post by Wilu88 » 10 Sep 2022, 22:52

TD-er wrote: 10 Sep 2022, 22:20 It is included in the ZIP file.
It is in the folder Espressif_flash_download_tool_v3.8.5

See the documentation about how to use this tool: https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... nload-tool

One final remark.
For the latest build (and upcoming builds) it may make a big difference whether you have "DoNotChgBin" checked. Expecially for 16M flash units.
It is best to have this checked for the latest test builds and newer upcoming builds.
I am not 100% sure about this for older builds, so if you see the unit bootlooping, check/unckeck this checkbox.
Yeah working !!! Thx for help :)

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#62 Post by TD-er » 10 Sep 2022, 23:25

You're welcome :)

I will remove the other flashers from the ESP32 ZIP files... at least for newer builds.

Wilu88
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2022, 21:56

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#63 Post by Wilu88 » 11 Sep 2022, 11:30

TD-er wrote: 10 Sep 2022, 23:25 You're welcome :)

I will remove the other flashers from the ESP32 ZIP files... at least for newer builds.
Ok However, it doesn't work :( I try with and without DoNotChgBin and result bootloop. In putty:

Code: Select all


INIT : Booting version: mega-20220809_57b0c0c (ESP32 SDK v4.4.3)
35 : Info   : INIT : Free RAM:273920
36 : Info   : INIT : Soft Reboot #16 Last Action before Reboot: Background Task Last systime: 0 - Restart Reason: CPU0: Software reset CPU CPU1: Software reset CPU
38 : Info   : FS   : Mounting...
64 : Info   : FS   : Mount successful, used 141815 bytes of 290156
87 : Info   : CRC  : SecuritySettings CRC   ...OK
93 : Info   : INIT : I2C
95 : Info   : INIT : SPI not enabled
114 : Info   : INIT : Free RAM:268140
165 : Info   : INFO : Plugins: 47 [Normal] (ESP32 SDK v4.4.3)
167 : Info   : ETH PHY Type: LAN8710/LAN8720 PHY Addr: 0 Eth Clock mode: External crystal oscillator MDC Pin: 23 MIO Pin: 18 Power Pin: -1
1172 : Info   : Set Network mode: WiFi
1174 : Error  : WIFI : No valid wifi settings
1175 : Info   : WiFi :
Brownout detector was triggered

ets Jun  8 2016 00:22:57

rst:0xc (SW_CPU_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DOUT, clock div:2
load:0x3fff0030,len:184
load:0x40078000,len:12616
load:0x40080400,len:2916
entry 0x400805c4
▒U33 : Info   :

INIT : Booting version: mega-20220809_57b0c0c (ESP32 SDK v4.4.3)
35 : Info   : INIT : Free RAM:273920
36 : Info   : INIT : Soft Reboot #17 Last Action before Reboot: Background Task Last systime: 0 - Restart Reason: CPU0: Software reset CPU CPU1: Software reset CPU
38 : Info   : FS   : Mounting...
64 : Info   : FS   : Mount successful, used 141815 bytes of 290156
87 : Info   : CRC  : SecuritySettings CRC   ...OK
93 : Info   : INIT : I2C
95 : Info   : INIT : SPI not enabled
114 : Info   : INIT : Free RAM:268140
165 : Info   : INFO : Plugins: 47 [Normal] (ESP32 SDK v4.4.3)
167 : Info   : ETH PHY Type: LAN8710/LAN8720 PHY Addr: 0 Eth Clock mode: External cry
I test power supply on USB and external

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#64 Post by TD-er » 11 Sep 2022, 11:39

Brownout detector was triggered
That's the reason for crashing.
The voltage dips too far when the ESP turns on its WiFi or Ethernet (or both)
So either the power supply (or the 3V3 regulator, most likely) can't handle the current surge.
Ethernet does easily add 100 mA to the base load.
A typical ESP32 with Ethernet will take roughly 160 mA idling.
However it may peak briefly to over 600 mA.
Your 3V3 regulator should be capable to handle at the very least 250 mA for a long time and peaks of upto 600 mA.

So make sure your 3V3 regulator can handle this. Maybe add a 220 - 330 uF capacitor on the 3V3 line.
This may need a bit of experimenting as adding a capacitor may make things worse at the first boot, since a fully discharged capacitor acts like a short circuit to get its initial charge.

Also the resistance of the wires and connectors do have a significant impact on voltage drops.

Wilu88
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2022, 21:56

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#65 Post by Wilu88 » 11 Sep 2022, 11:41

TD-er wrote: 11 Sep 2022, 11:39
Brownout detector was triggered
That's the reason for crashing.
The voltage dips too far when the ESP turns on its WiFi or Ethernet (or both)
So either the power supply (or the 3V3 regulator, most likely) can't handle the current surge.
Ethernet does easily add 100 mA to the base load.
A typical ESP32 with Ethernet will take roughly 160 mA idling.
However it may peak briefly to over 600 mA.
Your 3V3 regulator should be capable to handle at the very least 250 mA for a long time and peaks of upto 600 mA.

So make sure your 3V3 regulator can handle this. Maybe add a 220 - 330 uF capacitor on the 3V3 line.
This may need a bit of experimenting as adding a capacitor may make things worse at the first boot, since a fully discharged capacitor acts like a short circuit to get its initial charge.

Also the resistance of the wires and connectors do have a significant impact on voltage drops.
Ok i try and test :) THX for quick answer.

Cdzn
Normal user
Posts: 58
Joined: 06 Oct 2020, 18:15

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#66 Post by Cdzn » 29 Oct 2022, 08:20

Guys if i have 30 pins ESP32 which pins i could replace GPIO-0? guess I can't start LAN8720 because of it

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#67 Post by TD-er » 29 Oct 2022, 16:18

What are you using as ethernet?
One of those (purple) boards from Ali express with a LAN8720A chip and crystal?

There are several options here:
- solder a wire to the EN pin of the crystal (which is rather tricky as you can easily damage the crystal) so you can keep the crystal off during boot.
- Add an analog switch which can handle 50 MHz to disconnect the link between the crystal and GPIO-0 during boot
- Remove the crystal and let the ESP generate the clock. You need to check if you need the 'normal' or '180 degree phase shifted' (thus inverted) clock.
- Add a FET to explicitly turn on the external board. You can define the pin in the ethernet config in ESPEasy.

The last one is perhaps the best one, but keep in mind that you may have some capacitors on that power supply part, which may keep the crystal running slightly longer when rebooting the ESP.
I don't know when the GPIO-0 state is checked during boot.
A software reboot will not let you enter flash mode, so that's not a problem.
However the reset option on some boards do seem to be considered differently on some ESP32 units.
A good rule of thumb seems to be that if RTC memory seems to work (thus time is kept during reboot, without running NTP, and/or task values are restored after a reboot) then the ESP32 will not evaluate the GPIO-0 state during boot.

Cdzn
Normal user
Posts: 58
Joined: 06 Oct 2020, 18:15

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#68 Post by Cdzn » 29 Oct 2022, 16:31

TD-er wrote: 29 Oct 2022, 16:18 What are you using as ethernet?
One of those (purple) boards from Ali express with a LAN8720A chip and crystal?

There are several options here:
- solder a wire to the EN pin of the crystal (which is rather tricky as you can easily damage the crystal) so you can keep the crystal off during boot.
- Add an analog switch which can handle 50 MHz to disconnect the link between the crystal and GPIO-0 during boot
- Remove the crystal and let the ESP generate the clock. You need to check if you need the 'normal' or '180 degree phase shifted' (thus inverted) clock.
- Add a FET to explicitly turn on the external board. You can define the pin in the ethernet config in ESPEasy.

The last one is perhaps the best one, but keep in mind that you may have some capacitors on that power supply part, which may keep the crystal running slightly longer when rebooting the ESP.
I don't know when the GPIO-0 state is checked during boot.
A software reboot will not let you enter flash mode, so that's not a problem.
However the reset option on some boards do seem to be considered differently on some ESP32 units.
A good rule of thumb seems to be that if RTC memory seems to work (thus time is kept during reboot, without running NTP, and/or task values are restored after a reboot) then the ESP32 will not evaluate the GPIO-0 state during boot.
well, i read all from internet and did almost all of u already said) better if i get new one with ethernet onboard)

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#69 Post by TD-er » 29 Oct 2022, 16:35

Olimex does have some very nice (and relative cheap) ethernet boards.

Cdzn
Normal user
Posts: 58
Joined: 06 Oct 2020, 18:15

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#70 Post by Cdzn » 29 Oct 2022, 18:42

TD-er wrote: 29 Oct 2022, 16:35 Olimex does have some very nice (and relative cheap) ethernet boards.
Could you give us a link from Aliexpress? Is it compatible with ESPEasy?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#71 Post by TD-er » 29 Oct 2022, 20:14

I bought them from Olimex themselves and yes the ESP32 boards (at least the ones with LAN8720 chips) are working fine with ESPEasy.
Not sure if they do have new revisions, so better check the used LAN chips just to be sure.

Cdzn
Normal user
Posts: 58
Joined: 06 Oct 2020, 18:15

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#72 Post by Cdzn » 29 Oct 2022, 23:19

TD-er wrote: 29 Oct 2022, 20:14 I bought them from Olimex themselves and yes the ESP32 boards (at least the ones with LAN8720 chips) are working fine with ESPEasy.
Not sure if they do have new revisions, so better check the used LAN chips just to be sure.
Thanks!

Smotek7
Normal user
Posts: 142
Joined: 01 Aug 2020, 16:18
Location: SK

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#73 Post by Smotek7 » 08 Sep 2023, 08:29

It started on boards with ESP32, lan chip JL1101.
I don't know what the difference is between LAN8720 vs. JL1101.
No plans to support JL1101?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#74 Post by TD-er » 08 Sep 2023, 08:38

I have never seen this lan chip being mentioned before, so upto now there were no plans to support something we didn't know even existed :)

I will check if the chip is supported by the ESP32 SDK.

N.B. there are 2 types of Ethernet chips for us hobbyists...
- With RMII interface
- With SPI interface (typically has its own stack running, like the W5500)

The only supported interfaces for now have RMII interface, so the complete Ethernet layer-1 (Phy/Interface) handling (and up) is done in software on the ESP.
Those with SPI interface do at least handle upto layer-2 (MAC) on the Ethernet module. Some even do layer-3 (IP)


Edit:
Apparently you need at least ESP-IDF 5.x, as mentioned here: https://esp32.com/viewtopic.php?t=32331
So it won't be supported until I have included support for IDF 5.x, which will not be done for at least a few months.
I will eventually support IDF5.x, so we can support ESP32-C2, ESP32-C6 and ESP32-H2 (not sure about the usefulness of the last one since it doesn't have WiFi)
But RMII devices will only be supported on ESP32 (classic) as the others don't have pins dedicated to the RMII interface.
So for other ESP32 versions we may need to add support for SPI Ethernet.
Meaning I have to decide where I can put in my time with the most effectiveness.

TL;DR
Don't expect support for this Ethernet chip in the next few months.

Smotek7
Normal user
Posts: 142
Joined: 01 Aug 2020, 16:18
Location: SK

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#75 Post by Smotek7 » 08 Sep 2023, 08:51

I asked because it should be the IEEE 802.3 RMII/MII standard.

While I had boards, they were LAN8720.
Now I received this one, it looks very good.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000091 ... 1802lLu7wI
Has LAN JL1101

Smotek7
Normal user
Posts: 142
Joined: 01 Aug 2020, 16:18
Location: SK

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#76 Post by Smotek7 » 08 Sep 2023, 08:54

@TD-er
Thank you for the quick reply.
I understand, I'll put the board in the drawer..... :D
At least you have information that such a thing exists.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#77 Post by TD-er » 08 Sep 2023, 08:56

Apparently the Tasmota fork for the ESP32 platform seems to support this chip.
Not sure which version added support for it, but I will keep it in mind when we switch to the latest version of this platform.

Smotek7
Normal user
Posts: 142
Joined: 01 Aug 2020, 16:18
Location: SK

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#78 Post by Smotek7 » 08 Sep 2023, 09:02

It is already supported by ESPHOME.
But I like Espeasy.
For me, the configuration of Espeasy is simpler.
I don't feel like experimenting with Tasmota.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#79 Post by TD-er » 08 Sep 2023, 09:11

I don't mean you need to switch to Tasmota...
Jason2866 has made a forked platform package of the ESP32 Arduino platform code.
I use this for ESPEasy as it contains some patches which are not yet merged in the main platform and I talk to Jason frequently :)

By the way, I looked at the Ali Express link you gave.
It looks like it is random whether they will send you an ESP32 board or some STM board.

Smotek7
Normal user
Posts: 142
Joined: 01 Aug 2020, 16:18
Location: SK

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#80 Post by Smotek7 » 08 Sep 2023, 09:18

Yes, it is written there that they send randomly, but I risked it and ESP arrived.
I assume that ESP is a newer version and the STM stock has run out.
I'll look at the package Jason2866, I suppose I'll have to do my own compilation and it's beyond my powers.
I only succeeded once.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#81 Post by TD-er » 08 Sep 2023, 17:01

You need to do a lot more. It's not just a recompile, but I have to look into the interface class for that device and see what else must be added.

Smotek7
Normal user
Posts: 142
Joined: 01 Aug 2020, 16:18
Location: SK

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#82 Post by Smotek7 » 08 Sep 2023, 18:58

I'll make do with wifi for now. You don't have to spend time on it. It should be used for more important things.

Smotek7
Normal user
Posts: 142
Joined: 01 Aug 2020, 16:18
Location: SK

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#83 Post by Smotek7 » 21 Feb 2024, 19:19

Hello,
I'm looking at the documentation, is RTL8201 and JL1101 a reality?
I see that some documentation updates took place in 2/2024.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#84 Post by TD-er » 21 Feb 2024, 19:43

Those are indeed included in the latest build on the webflasher: https://td-er.nl/ESPEasy/latest/

However I have not tested those as I simply do not have boards with them.

Please let me know the results.

N.B. I also added support for 3 SPI Ethernet devices, so now other ESP32-variants can be equipped with Ethernet.
I currently have boards with W5500 and an ESP32-C3 board with DM9051
And W5500 also can be used without INT, like on the M5Stack AtomPOE (you will not yet find any other firmware based on Arduino out there with that supported :) )

Smotek7
Normal user
Posts: 142
Joined: 01 Aug 2020, 16:18
Location: SK

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#85 Post by Smotek7 » 21 Feb 2024, 20:02

Originally, I wanted to write here that the Lilygo t-ETH lite board is interesting and supports POE.
I didn't want to order when there is W5500 or RTL8201.
I found out in the documentation that there is already support.
But I'm going to order.
I have one board with JL1101, I can try it.
I will let you know.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8722
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Espeasy compatible unit with wired ethernet?

#86 Post by TD-er » 21 Feb 2024, 20:27

You can order the T-ETH-Lite-ESP32S3 as the SPI Ethernet chip uses less GPIO pins and the S3 does have more GPIO pins to begin with.
See here for a list of those boards: https://github.com/Xinyuan-LilyGO/LilyGO-T-ETH-Series

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests